We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for some good food and a good soak for the weary traveler!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Charm Bed & Breakfast
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for some good food and a good soak for the weary traveler!”
Reviewed July 29, 2008

My husband and I and his brother and wife stayed at Country Charm for 2 nights last week. It was a great experience - we all loved the place and would definitely go back. The breakfasts were delicious and Joan and Glenn do everything they can to fill you up to the bursting point! My favorite part was the hot tub in the gazebo. We stayed up late playing games out there and really enjoyed the hot tub soaking. Both of our rooms were spacious and clean, and the pillows were so nice and fluffy! The whole room smelled like clean linen - what a great smell. Murray River and Murray Harbour are small towns, but have ice cream at River Delights in Murray River and eat at Brehaut's in Murray Harbour. Both are good - and seafood chowder at Brehaut's is delicious! Overall we had a wonderful time. Even though Country Charm B&B is a little out of the touristy beaten-path, is is very nice and worth staying in that location. Great price too. Oh, and I forgot to mention they have a nice lake, with canoe, rowboat and paddle boat and it was fun to go out on those. Thanks Joan and Glenn!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ideah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
67
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2008

The Country Charm B & B definitely lives up to its name! Both the grounds and house are immaculately kept, and the location is lovely (and definitely not as out of the way as a map might imply). Our hosts made us feel welcome from the moment we first entered their beautiful home and provided us with great advice concerning spots to visit on the Island. The breakfasts were delicious and rivalled any other meals that we had while visiting PEI (including several at a few of the Island's most recognized restaurants). We have been recommending this B&B to everyone, and would definitely love to return there again some day!

  • Liked — The breakfasts!!!
  • Disliked — Would have liked to stay longer!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

My wife & I stayed for 3 nights in early July 2008. Over the years we have found that our best B&B experiences aren't determined by the location or the structure but primarily by the hosts...and we can tell you that Joan & Glenn are two of the best -- ever. They will overwhelm you with their graciousness & grand conversation. We felt like part of their family immediately. And the breakfasts...oh my! Glenn is the master of fabulous breakfast creations including killer caramel rolls and strawberry french toast.

Country Charm is located on a beautiful piece of property with its own lake (see picture). You can find solitude and be close enough to take in the Points East Coastal Drive (which Glenn helped to create). Both Glenn & Joan offered up helpful advice as to what to see & where to go for off the path adventures.

We highly recommend Country Charm. You won't be disappointed!

  • Liked — Joan & Glenn
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MN_Tbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

You may think that despite the good reviews, Country Charm is too far off the beaten track for you to consider it. Turn it round - there's plenty of interest in this part of the island.
We have stayed in many B&Bs and similar in Europe and North America. Country Charm is exceptional for the care with which Glenn and Joan look after you. We stayed here in early May 2008 in unseasonably chilly conditions but the warmth of the welcome and the knowledgeable advice on what to do made the stay not just worthwhile but highly memorable. Even a couple of months on we still recall with delight the gourmet breakfasts. Not only was the food outstanding but we also had a choice.
Even by the high standards of the other B&B's we stayed in during our time in The Maritimes, comfort and cleanliness were way above the norm.
The setting in the forest is very peaceful with plenty of opportunity to watch birds and other wildlife without leaving the house. We didn't have time to explore the grounds but we had the impression it would be worthwhile to do so.
As people who walk a good deal, we enjoyed the half hour stroll through the forest along the Confederation Trail (former railway) into Murray Harbour for an evening meal at Brehaut's restaurant.

  • Liked — The feeling of staying with friends
  • Disliked — Not being able to spend any longer there
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CheshireCat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2008

Incredible breakfasts with basics and unique choices. The facility has very peaceful surroundings, and is a good home base for experiencing the Island's many points of interest. The Saunders are very accomadating and make you feel right at home. The rooms are spectacular and impecably maintained. Ask them about the "Mermaid tear drops" ! Great hot tub and when on the grounds you can hear the water tumbling down to sea level from their lake. Hated to leave to go back to reality.

  • Liked — The quality breakfasts, tasteful decorating, hot tub with panoramic views and good company.
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BWil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2007

They owners were friendly and honest! The place was clean and well presented. They woke us up at 6am in the morning, with all their loud kitchen skills.The microwave went off over 6 times and they used a glass cutting board , along with the cupboard doors slamming shut, it was a nightmare. We had to pull over to the side of the road to sleep after we left!
Was not impressed at all! We paid good money to be tired the next day.

Helpful?
8 Thank kelly-edgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murray Harbour
19.2 mi away
The Inn at Spry Point
The Inn at Spry Point
#1 of 1 in Annandale-Little Pond-Howe Bay
55 reviews
13.9 mi away
Rodd Brudenell River Resort
23.4 mi away
Evening Sail B&B
Evening Sail B&B
#1 of 12 in Pictou
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
0.1 mi away
Forest and Stream Cottages
Forest and Stream Cottages
#1 of 4 in Murray Harbour
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Charm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Charm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Country Charm Bed & Breakfast
Address: 446 Fox River Rd, Murray Harbour, Prince Edward Island C0A 1V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Murray Harbour
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Murray Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Country Charm Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We extend to you an invitation to share our tranquility and secluded setting that surrounds Country Charm Bed & Breakfast. Country Charm B&B is surrounded by the perfection of nature. You can enjoy a stroll on our trails, bird watching, canoeing down the lake, try your hand at catching a trout, have a swim, enjoy bike riding along confederation trail, or just sit and relax with a book, enjoy the scenery, serenity and Island sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Country Charm Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Charm Bed & Breakfast Murray Harbour, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing