We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Charm Bed & Breakfast
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Glenn & Joan truly live up to their motto "A place where there are no strangers just friends we haven’t met"!! Their hospitality is beyond measure, we felt like family.... and Glenn's helpful tips on touring the island were a tremendous bonus. We wish we could have stayed longer just to enjoy the peaceful surroundings. Diane & Paul

Room Tip: We stayed in the Romance Room...spacious and spotlessly clean. i had issues with sleep quality becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
67
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

we had a great welcome, hosts friendly and helpful.Breakfasts were super with good choice.The house was really clean.We had a small twin room which would have been better for one not two. nice jacuzzi as well. I found the bed very firm but the owners worked really hard to sort that out.This B/B is in a very rural location, many local eateries shut as it was low season, which resulted in 30-40 min drive in the evening.Glen gave us lots of advice on where to stay and what to see

You can arrange bird watching half or full days from here, but in our view these were expensive

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallsally2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenn_joan, Owner at Country Charm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
I know that you were interested in the Birding tour and I am sorry that you felt the cost was too high. We feel that we do provide good value with the tours. A half day tour with two people is $85 per person and the tour usually lasts for 41/2 to 5 hours. It includes the transportation, a professional guide, a snack, a completed sighting list, use of birding scope and binoculars. With small group size of 1 to 4 people you get very personal attention by the guide and learn a lot about the identification of the birds and any other questions that you might have for him. On the average, our half day tours will observe 40 plus species. We think it is great value at approximately $20 per hour per person but we do appreciate your feedback and we will look at ways that we might be able to add further value to the tours, and hope the cost of transportation will not further impact the cost of our tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Breakfast was great and definitely a highlight. Glenn makes super light and delicious Belgian Waffles. He is great at pointing you all the small local spots you may miss while on the island. Great host and very friendly, he had evening tea and chatted with us which was great.

Room Tip: "Romance" room is named after the artist whose art is displayed. The room has a small TV w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chughes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2012

An excellent place to stay. Best value. You are made feel welcome from the time you enter the front door. Very comfortable accommodations - spotlessly clean, quiet, excellent, and relaxing. Breakfast is unbelievable. Our host Glen and Joan are so warm and cheerful. Our first evening mussels and wine was a hit - that was a complimentary dinner with french bread and delicious homemade brownie, what a treat! Gen is a real chef - breakfast to your individual taste (to die for) difference menu each morning, with great coffee and most of all, wonderful conversation with Glen and Joan - its like meeting up with old friends. Truly enjoyed our stayed and yes we will come back agian. Two thumbs up

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The name of this bed and breakfast hits the nail on the head. My wife and I were impressed with Glenn's knowledge and culinary skills (we had creme brulee French toast and fresh fruit crepes the two mornings we were there...perfection). He helped us plan our one full day on the island with the best sights and eats there are in the southern half of PEI. The romance room was clean and brightly lit. The bathroom was spotless. The bed was large and comfortable and the free wi-fi was great. This B&B was a bit farther than we were expecting from the bridge, and would have been a little more accessible from the ferry, but we got to see a good chunk of the island on the drive down. We highly recommend staying here and couldn't have been happier with our time on PEI thanks to Country Charm and Glenn's guidance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miniota, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed for four nights at the Country Charm B&B in Murray Harbour this summer while touring around PEI. We were so glad we picked this place! Glenn & Joan were wonderful hosts and gave us some great advice on where to eat and what to see. If it hadn't been for them we would have missed out on eating at "Brehaut" (where Glenn told us to reserve a piece of pecan pie right off the start as they usually run out, and sure enough, we got the last piece), "Route 3 Eatery" (best pizza we've ever had, cooked in a clay oven), and "Windows on the Water" (great view & food, especially the bread pudding). We always do a fair bit of research before going on a holiday but many of the best spots are the ones recommended by the locals. Glenn also told us to check out the Cape Bear Lighthouse which was fairly close by and so worth seeing. The B&B itself is wonderful. We used their canoe one night and were the only ones out on the water. It was so quiet and peaceful. Enjoyed our evenings visiting in the sunroom. I would take this location any day compared to staying in the busier centers in PEI. PEI is small enough that you really can do day trips to most of the island from any location. They have coin operated laundry facilities and they were more than happy to round me up some clothes pins so I could use the clothes line instead of the dryer. The breakfasts were amazing! Fresh fruit, muffins/croissants/or cinnamon buns, and then the actual breakfast!! Each morning it was something different and so tasty. We never ate lunch for four days straight because we were always still full from our huge breakfasts! We had some pre-booked tee off times and Glenn & Joan were so accommodating when it came to making sure we would be done eating and out the door in time to make it to the golf course. They went out of their way to make things work for us. I really can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay here. Check out their website, it alone contains some great information for anyone planning a holiday to PEI. Just a quick comment regarding a review I read about the apartment over the garage. Although we stayed in a room upstairs in the main house (where the bed was very comfortable by the way), Joan did give us a tour of the suite above the garage and I would love to go back and stay there some day. It was small and cozy but extremely well set-up with everying you would need, including a kitchen to cook your own meals, two bathrooms (so really what's the big deal if one is doorless). The bedroom is separate from the main room where there is a hide-a-bed, so this suite would be ideal for anyone travelling with children. Thanks again Glenn & Joan for everything!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janajoseph62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a separate apt over the garage. It was very clean and airy with plenty of space but our bedroom was not very comfortable. There was no door on the bathroom which I found awkward and the DVD player made a buzzing sound all night long, We weren't able to reach the plug behind the heavy dresser to unplug it. The mattress on our bed was either very old or very cheap because the springs creaked loudly every time one of us turned over and it was as hard as a board. We were served large breakfasts with fresh baking. The owner, Glenn, was very helpful in recommending things to see and do though his wife didn't speak to us at all

Room Tip: I think we would have had a better stay if we had been in the main house but we were travelling with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islingtongardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenn_joan, Owner at Country Charm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We are sorry that you did not find the Loft bedroom comfortable as many other have. So others understand, the entrance to the ensuite bathroom was designed with no door, in a manner that no one can see into the bathroom without going to the entrance and looking around the corner. There is also a private 1/2 bath just outside the bedroom entrance. In regard to the DVD player buzzing, we could not hear anything but we replaced the DVD to make sure it was not our ears. I assure you that the mattress is neither old nor cheap, you do not get a 4 star rating with cheap or old mattresses. We have not had any other complaints on the bed before or after your stay. Most better quality mattresses used in accommodations are usually firm. Mattress firmness is a very personal choice and it is not feasible for a small B&B to offer a choice of mattress firmness. I finally, am sorry if you thought Joan was ignoring you or not being sociable. She was undergoing some medical concerns and I guess her mind was elsewhere. Our guest satisfaction is extremely important to us and we are very sorry that felt you had a less than satisfactory stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murray Harbour
12.5 mi away
Georgetown Historic Inn
Georgetown Historic Inn
#1 of 1 in Georgetown
150 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Inn at Spry Point
The Inn at Spry Point
#1 of 1 in Annandale-Little Pond-Howe Bay
50 reviews
13.9 mi away
Rodd Brudenell River Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Forest and Stream Cottages
Forest and Stream Cottages
#2 of 4 in Murray Harbour
42 reviews
12.4 mi away
Lanes Riverhouse Inn & Cottages
23.4 mi away
Evening Sail B&B
Evening Sail B&B
#1 of 12 in Pictou
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Charm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Charm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Country Charm Bed & Breakfast
Address: 446 Fox River Rd, Murray Harbour, Prince Edward Island C0A 1V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Murray Harbour
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Murray Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Country Charm Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We extend to you an invitation to share our tranquility and secluded setting that surrounds Country Charm Bed & Breakfast. Country Charm B&B is surrounded by the perfection of nature. You can enjoy a stroll on our trails, bird watching, canoeing down the lake, try your hand at catching a trout, have a swim, enjoy bike riding along confederation trail, or just sit and relax with a book, enjoy the scenery, serenity and Island sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Country Charm Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Charm Bed & Breakfast Murray Harbour, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing