We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected more for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeside
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
780 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
“Expected more for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

PEI was on my 90-year-old mother-in-law’s bucket list so we planned a visit. Couldn’t find many lodging options online, so we went with this resort. With taxes, we paid $425 for a two-bedroom cottage. The cottage was dated and well used. Rather than modern duvet, it had the old bedspreads. We were in the king room and there were two perfect divots in the bed where people lay. The bathroom was dark which was good because the mold around the tub wasn’t as evident. The golf course is beautiful – I would love to golf there, but I would find either a less expensive or more modern lodging alternative. The fire alarm went off at 12:34 and scared us to death. Called the office and they had no idea why. We had a hard time going back to sleep because we were scared there could really be a fire. The desk clerk offered no compensation or apology.

Room Tip: If you get cottage, get it on the beach side so you have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surfinginflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimgertridge, General Manager at Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for you response.
Although these are the comments we do not like to hear, I would appreciate if you would contact me to see what we can do to convince you to be a returning guest to our resort
Feel free to call or email me at the following
jgertridge@roddhotelsandresorts.com
902-961-5600
thank you and look forward to speaking with you
Jim Gertridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    74
    25
    12
    6
See reviews for
79
89
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

When we checked in (Aug 13) after a long drive from Halifax, the room was not ready even though check in time was 3 pm and we arrived at 330 pm. There were no apologies by the reception - except to say that our family can sit in the lobby while the room is being prepared. I asked if there's a map for us to look around including restaurants or groceries - she reluctantly gave to me one piece of paper and said "yes I can give you this". She didn't volunteered any more info on what the resort has to offer, then moved on to another guests. This is the worst customer service that I've received from a hotel/resort - never mind that it is supposedly a higher end establishment costing over 300 dollars a night. We were treated like this was a cheap motel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanJose023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimgertridge, General Manager at Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
thank you for your comments.
We certainly did not perform to standard and I sincerely apologize for this.
please give me a call as I would like to discuss how to make you a returning guest to our resort

I look forward to hearing from you.
902-961-5600
best regards
Jim Gertridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I couldn't have dreamt of a better location for a PEI wedding.
The location, hotel, rooms and staff made sure everything came together for us and all our travelers from the moment they checked in. GM Roch B. was so helpful in the planning and made sure the banquet, food and bev, golf and spa teams aligned with what we requested for our special day/weekend.
The property and all it's amendments caters to couples, families, beach combers and golf lovers.
This is THE best hotel in PEI with a great team behind it.
Thank you so much for making our wedding and our guests stay so wonderful. We'll be back next year!

Room Tip: Loved the cottages! Planning a PEI wedding - this is your place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nic_nmkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in three locations in PEI while on a biking vacation and this was our third stop. The location is good close to the Greenwich boardwalk and the best part of the Confederation Trail = Morrel to St. Peter's. The room was pricey for PEI but large, clean, and modern and reasonable for the facilities. We used the hot tub and tennis courts and my husband golfed which were all good. The beach was nice and would be a great place for kids and family to relax. I would avoid the restaurants - both. The meals were mediocre and you can find much better food close by on the island so take the time to drive elsewhere to eat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I got married at Rodd Crowbush almost 2 weeks ago...I live in SK but am from PEI so I was familiar with Crowbush and it was an easy choice for our wedding destination. After spending almost a week there, it felt like home or better yet, like a Caribbean resort. The grounds are beautiful and very clean, the rooms are nice, although it's worth the extra money to pay for a cottage to get the full living experience. We spent 2 nights in a 2 bedroom cottage and the rest in a king suite and I would say we preferred the cottages...more privacy, more room, more amenities etc etc. The beach is beautiful and there are shuttles that will take you back and forth to the hotel but honestly it's only a 13 min relaxing walk, there's also a portapotty down there. The staff really made a huge difference in our experience - they may have been doing their jobs, but you can tell when someone is genuinely happy and they were sooo great. I was always met with a smile by everyone - at first they knew me as "the bride" and helped me with anything I needed, and within a day or so they knew me by name and felt like part of the group. I can't say enough good about the people working there - and it continued. I had forgotten my shampoo and other toiletries when I was switching rooms on the day of my wedding and sure enough, they all arrived in the mail for me today.

Crowbush is well known for golf, and I know a bunch of people from our group did go, but we did not. From the people who did go, I heard the bugs (mostly black flies and mosquitos) were quite bad. This is expected given the time of year, and area.

All in all, we were lucky to have perfect weather for our entire stay but it would not have been the same if we didn't feel so comfortable and welcome on the resort. I highly recommend going to crowbush for vacation or your wedding!

Room Tip: 2 bedroom cottages at the end of the line will have less traffic going back and forth to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

My friend and I have golfed twice a week at Crowbush for the last five years. We join 8-10 other ladies for nine holes once a week and usually golf with our husbands for our second round of the week. Crowbush Cove is a beautiful, challenging, well kept course with views of the ocean that have to be seen to be truly appreciated...breathtaking. Staff on the course are very friendly and efficient.

We usually go up to the Clubhouse for a meal after our round. The food this year seems to be especially good, tasty with fresh ingredients and a nice selection...the servers are very accommodating of our requests and always prompt and friendly!

I can't end this review without mentioning the "million dollar" view from the balcony of the Clubhouse restaurant, looking over the course and the ocean....truly spectacular!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islanders4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our first trip to PEI. The resort is lovely - unaffected, wide open space, fabulous beach, a golf course that is well maintained and fun to play with stellar views - friendly staff - and David's, the restaurant, is top class cuisine - wonderfully presented, tasty, and priced very reasonably. Our poodle loved the wide open spaces, and we loved everything. The cottage room was OK - not fantastic - but adequate, and it helped that there was a fridge and bbq should we have been able to tear ourselves away from eating at the restaurant.

Room Tip: With our pet, we were not allowed into the Inn rooms, so perhaps they are a little more "deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeside
20.9 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
21.2 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Inn at St. Peters
The Inn at St. Peters
#1 of 1 in Saint Peters Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
19.4 mi away
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
#2 of 2 in Brackley Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
13.6 mi away
Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort

Property: Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort
Address: 632 Route 350 | PO Box 164, Morell, Lakeside, Prince Edward Island C0A 1S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Lakeside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Hotel Lakeside
Rodd Crowbush Golf And Beach Resort
Rodd Crowbush Hotel Beach
Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort Lakeside, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing