We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeside
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great location and they do it right. We stayed in one of their cottages and it was nice, lots of room and would stay there again anytime we are in that area of the island. Great place for golfers and the food was good as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capecodnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    80
    26
    12
    7
See reviews for
82
97
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The resort has a great feel to it the moment you arrive. Reception was efficient and friendly. The rooms are the most modern you are going to find on the island, most of the island embraces the Victorian theme, some of it here, but also enough of life's modern comforts to make you comfortable. We stayed in a ground floor King Suite, I personally don't like being in the 'basement' but my other half loved that you had direct access outdoors so we made the most of it. I like the Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. Food & Drink were good. Probably the best mussels I've ever eaten, and I grew up on the island and have eaten my share of mussels! And of course the beach is amazing. I love that they provide loungers and wood for evening bomb-fires.

The area for improvement is the front of house with food service. Both the club house and the main restaurant suffered from having dirty tables not being cleared to the point that they no longer had any tables for fresh guests. We wanted to enjoy a sundowner on our first night at the clubhouse but had to leave because all of the outside tables were stacked with dirty dishes and no staff anywhere to clean them, seat us or take our order. When we went indoors the two bartenders were unable to give us any service so we left and went back to the hotel. In the morning we witnessed a family who finished breakfast, then their son came down, he sat at their table that had not been cleaned and the waitress proceeded to take his order without cleaning the table for him. The rest of the dining room was full of dirty tables and he had no other option. The hotel could easily rectify the problem by hiring a couple more waitresses and a couple of bus boys.

Room Tip: I don't think you can get a bad room at Crowbush fortunately. The website has photos that are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslanderGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here in July at the hotel, Quite an amazing place when you get to take a look around, Along the shores of PEI, This is nestled in the quiet community of Morell

Golf Course is the very very photogenic and an amazing round

The Cook at Crowbush makes a great meal, had a chance to meet him! He by far has made the best meal for me in the last 7 years, Would go back again this summer just to eat here

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Golf course have an amazing few of it and the ocean, while other side only the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

As two couples, We played the course a couple of days before we decided to book our last night on PEI at the resort. The golf course is truly an experience with world class views and challenging play. Unfortunately, the resort was holding a wedding when we arrived on Saturday afternoon and our rooms weren't ready until 4 pm, an hour after check-in. The resort appeared to be be understaffed and this began, what turned into, a long line of apologies. We asked if we could have a drink at the bar while we waited and we were informed it was closed until four, understandable, an apology given. We were offered the paper when asked if we could borrow it and we checked in periodically over the next hour until our room was ready. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage which was clean, dated by a decade or two but quite nice overall complete with dishwasher, coffee and coffee maker, microwave, and a large fridge/freezer.
The unfortunate part of the stay was with the service. Everyone was very nice but service was really poor overall, certainly not five or four star standard. We couldn't get a dinner reservation until nine because of a private function, again understandable, but when we called to order an appetizer to our cottage, we waited an hour and ten minutes before we cancelled the order as it didn't show. We called, another apology, the nachos showed up ten minutes later "on the house" which was appreciated. We decided to show up ten minutes late for our reservation as it still appeared to be a bit disorganized from the private functions and this seemed wise as we were seated fifteen minutes later. We had to go to the front desk and find out how to get seated and we were told to find a waitress as there was no hostess. We then received another apology from the waitress and she said "I hope this doesn't influence your decision to come back" It was clear everyone working knew how bad service was that night. Dinner was really satisfying though. The next morning we ordered room service for breakfast, same pattern, an hour later than expected, a phone call, an apology, and meal with varying degrees of satisfaction.
On the upside the beaches were great and a shuttle was provided to get to the beach. We didn't use the gym, pool, or tennis court so we can't comment. Overall a nice place, service was poor on this visit but hopefully that's not always the case. We may be back if there is a great deal on stay and play, but not at the cost we paid this visit.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EnRogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just spent 2 nights at this resort in mid-July. My husband loved the golf and he has golfed all over the world. The resort consists of a main building hotel where the rooms are more upscale and then there are cottages adjacent to the property with a more casual set up. The cottages were clean, self-catering and well maintained with large bathrooms and decent size bedrooms and livingrooms. Some cottages had screened in porches, which I would recommend to future guests if you intend on sitting out at night, as some of them back onto a small marsh and the mosquitoes are plentiful and aggressive. The separate club house faces the sea and offers casual dining either inside or on a large deck. Nice in the daytime to lunch overlooking the sea, but the mosquitoes get aggressive at dusk, so we had to cut our dinner short as we were being swarmed. We would recommend this place for golfing trips, but not for families with young kids. The resort`s beach is only a 5 minute golf cart shuttle away and out front of the resort there is a kids`play set with swings, slide, etc. but beyond that, all of the main ``attractions`` for kids are closer to Cavendish, North Rustico and Charlottetown. Rodd Crowbush is a bit isolated, so if you plan on venturing out to go and find things to entertain your kids beyond the beach, expect a 30 minute drive to Charlottetown, and about 45 mins -1hr to Cavendish, etc. which has a multitude of beaches and attractions and more family friendly accommodation. Note: This particular coast of PEI has a lot of ruby jellyfish this time of year and there were lots at the resort`s beach, so we avoided it, but upon going to Cavendish Beach and Brackley Beach, we were told that these particular breed of jellyfish are too small to sting (no tentacles yet) and if they do, the sting is mild. It would have helped if the staff at the resort were more informative about this as we may have spent some time there and at the resort.

Room Tip: If you get a cottage, get a screened in porch if you can, then you can sit out at night. Try and get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acornart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Spent two nites at the Rodd Crowbush last week and wished it could have been more....especially for the golf! Course is a test around the greens, especially, beautiful and manicured. Hotel is very nice, probably 4 star per U.S. ratings. Beach is one of nicer on PEI. Good location to go to Charlottetown, Cavendish, East Coast and the PEI Nat'l Park at Greenwich has a great visitor center, beach and dune walk. All wonderful.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This was our last leg of our road trip and am I glad we stayed here. The resort is beautiful from the moment you drive up you know you made a great choice. We got a last minute deal and what a deal it was - our room was a king room and king it was - it had a sitting room that lead to a king size room with a sliding door between plus a bathroom with a great jacuzzi tub with great lotions and shampoos. We loved walking down to the beach (only disappointment were the jellyfish - tons of them) there are beach chairs to sit on and they'll even set a fire for you if you ask. We ate breakfast at both Davids and the clubhouse and both were great. The front desk staff was great esp. Jodhi - she was so helpful on the phone when I was asking her tons of questions and just as nice in person. Patrick was also pleasant and very helpful. The man (I think his name was Scott) who gave us a ride while we were walking back from the beach one morning was also a delight to talk to - the staff was so friendly - so refreshing. I would stay here again in a heartbeat - I hated to leave. Highly recommend plus its not that far - about half an hour from Charlottetown and 45 mins to Basin Head (amazing beach) and one hour from Avonlea (another great place). Thanks for making our visit amazing!

Room Tip: We faced the front so we didn't have a view of the course but for the price I paid I didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeside
20.9 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
412 reviews
13.6 mi away
Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
21.0 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#8 of 23 in Charlottetown
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
720 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
604 reviews
20.9 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort

Property: Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort
Address: 632 Route 350 | PO Box 164, Morell, Lakeside, Prince Edward Island C0A 1S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Lakeside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Hotel Lakeside
Rodd Crowbush Golf And Beach Resort
Rodd Crowbush Hotel Beach
Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort Lakeside, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing