We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dalvay Special Pampering & Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dalvay
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dalvay Special Pampering & Service”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had booked one special night at Dalvay By The Sea before we met our friends to share a vacation cottage for 2 weeks. We arrived to a friendly welcome from Lena who took our bag upstairs to the most beautiful King Suite, filled with gorgeous antique furniture, a large bay window overlooking both the lake & the ocean, a vintage black & white bathroom with a claw tub, and lots of sunlight. We mentioned how thrilled we were to be there to celebrate our anniversary & getting through a health challenge as well.

Within 20 minutes, a knock on our door brought us a lovely bottle of wine and a personal note from Ryan the general manager. Impressive.

We went downstairs for dinner, and found that because there was a large noisy group in the dining room, a private dining room had been setup for us in a sitting room, with a view of the lake.
Heather looked after us, and she had set the table with candles & flowers, and took photos of every course. We had the most delicious meal, with flowers from the chef decorating our desserts, and were served coffee in front of our own private fire in our sitting room. We felt like celebrities. Ryan came by to chat during dininer & to ensure that we had everything that we needed as well.

After a walk on the beach across the road in the morning, we enjoyed the same private dining room for breakfast with our friendly Heather serving us again.

We could not have had a more wonderful special night to celebrate, and we cannot say enough about how friendly and personal each member of the staff were in making our stay a very memorable one indeed. Amazing service and care. Thank you.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the front to get a lake or ocean view and breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovePEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan_Cochrane, Manager at Dalvay by the Sea Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hello LovePei,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay here at Dalvay by the Sea.

It was our pleasure to be a part of your celebrations and assist in starting your excellent Prince Edward Island vacation.

I look forward to seeing both of you again next year!

Thank you,

Ryan Cochrane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    69
    48
    12
    17
See reviews for
81
135
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our group, 2 couples, chose to stay here for one night for the experience and thoroughly enjoyed it however in July it did get a bit warm and if you are not into sleeping with your windows open this might not be for you. Both rooms were very different, one on second floor, one on third. Our friends room was very noisy, ours was beyond quiet. So if possible get specifics on the room you are reserving so you will know what to expect, but know the rooms are not soundproof.
It would have been nice if coffee were provided in the lobby for guests however, we bought our morning coffee and went our and sat by the lake. It was a beautiful, peaceful time for the most part.
We all left there having enjoying our time at the historic hotel, the beach, the lake, and the delicious restaurant, however we all agree that there are some places it would be nice to be just for couples, and this was one of them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hope_star78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan_Cochrane, General Manager at Dalvay by the Sea Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hello, Hope_Star78,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your most recent stay at Dalvay by the Sea.

We did have 3 record breaking temperature days in a row this July, it sure did create some discomfort for our guests. I am happy to say we have started the process with Parks Canada (property owner) and the National Heritage Review Board regarding the installation of a climate control system that will still maintain the historic character of our property.

I hope to see you again in the near future!

Thank you,

Ryan Cochrane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in cottage 4, which was perfect for us. I loved the evening breeze at night. One of the best night's sleep I can remember. The main house is beautiful. Food was very good. Grounds were excellent. Access to the beach was perfect. Biking was fun. Had a wonderful cup of coffee on the porch. All around, a great facility. I can't speak to the rooms in the main house, which folks seem to complain about. But, everything else was great. The staff is on the young side. But, they try hard and were sincere. Only drawback (aside from the mosquitoes) was that it is pricey. Food was very expensive, as was the room. But, I felt like I got a lot in terms of money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, General Manager at Dalvay by the Sea Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello Mattva1,

Thank you for the review of our property. As a new managment team it is great to see the that some of the changes are being noticed by our guests.

I hope to see you at Dalvay by the Sea again!

Thank you,

Ryan Cochrane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

What an amazing opportunity to enjoy Dalvay as a guest instead of just a gawker like I have been for so many years. We stayed at one of the newer cottages because of the size of our party I was traveling with and ended up deciding to enjoy a fine dining experience like the people of yesteryear would've done if they came out to visit Alexander McDonald for the summer getaway cool ocean breeze.

The staff treated us like royalties. The GM and her husband gave us a guided tour with history of the home and let us look over some of the rooms of the hotel since we were in a cabin. It felt like we had our own theatre performance with Alana's colorful explanations and obvious love of the building she was taking under her wing.

We dressed up for dinner that evening and enjoyed an amazing culinary dream meal complete with amuse bouche between plates. Syd was sweet enough to let us sample a taste of the smoked salmon that Dalvay does on location. Amazingly well done. Our waitress who was supposed to be working at Stanhope (before it burned down) was adjusting to the switch nicely with the instructions of the GM and her husband. She even picked up my friends napkin and placed it on the back of her seat so when she returned from the washroom it would be easy to grab to place back on her lap!!

After dinner we walked out to water the meteorshower on the lawn with the lake before us and listening to the ocean crashing just beyond the dunes. Truly a magical evening spent at a beautiful resort. I see many people complaining about no tv or phones in the rooms...really...do you need to watch tv when the world is set before your feet?! Enjoy the moments you're in! Make your own reality show. :)

Loved every minute and made great new memories for years to come. Not to mention the inspiration I got for new paintings!

Room Tip: If you aren't into a more dated and antique/victorian stay, but sill wish to enjoy the dining/lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I went here for a wedding that was very beautiful! The reception was right in front of the lake and was gorgeous. The feel of the hotel is very rustic & vintage. The staff set up the dining room very nicely. It got a bit hot in there, but in PEI it is usually very windy, so the problem was solved by just opening a window. The dining staff were also very helpful and friendly, they were very accommodating!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkvalentine22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Dalvay was built by an American originally as a summer house (hard to believe it is so large but the Victorians were big on that). It is owned by the province but managed by a private company and they do a good job with a summer only property. The rooms in the main house are rustic but charming and there are newer built cottages around the lake as well for families. The house is amazing and an addition was built on to enlarge the dining room but the food is nothing over the top. The high tea is nice in the summer but expensive. The best thing about the Hotel is staying in the main building and wandering around the public areas if you love old buildings like I do. It's not about the room here - it's about the building and the location. Small beach across the street but everything else is a drive away. I love to go and wander around the hotel and eat there sometimes (or do high tea) but the cost is a bit much sometimes for what the rooms are like.

Room Tip: Look at their website and see the pictures of the rooms to help you decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spazzygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We wanted to have a different experience then what we were familiar with for our anniversary, so we booked two nights at Dalvay by the Sea. As we rounded the corner of the national park and seen the inn we were in ahh; such an amazing property with a view like no other. The entrance way was breathtaking with an elegant staircase in the middle of the front foyer. Lynne at the front desk was a pleasure. She offered to show us to our 3rd floor room. Our room was very clean and the big king bed very comfortable, we even had a window seat that we enjoyed sitting on and admiring the view.
Our experience at dinner was over the top and there was not a bad seat in the whole dining room. Our server; Lindsay who seated us and gave us menus was pleasant and had a charming personality. Ashley took our order and delivered our meal. She had a smile that would light up the room. Everything was melt in your mouth delicious and the presentation and portion size of our meals was also exceptional.
We had a delightful server for breakfast; Elizabeth, and we recommend The Dalvay Breakfast dish, their home smoked bacon was the best we have ever tasted, and smoked to perfection.
During every meal all guests in the dining room were greeted by the food and beverage manager; Sid. He was very knowledgeable about the property. He introduced us to his wife Alana; the general manager who was just a delight, we were shocked to learn that these two were new to the island and to Dalvay.
Having no access to TVs or phones in the rooms made for a great experience to slow down and enjoy each other as well as the sounds and sights that Dalvay has to offer.
I would recommend this charming property to any couple young or old that needs time away or just a romantic getaway.
Hats off to all of the staff at Dalvay, a job well done!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youngtraveller390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalvay
12.9 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
723 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
609 reviews
12.5 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort
12.7 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
414 reviews
15.7 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalvay by the Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalvay by the Sea Hotel

Property: Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
Address: 16 Cottage Cres. | Rte. 6, Dalvay Beach, Dalvay, Prince Edward Island C0A 1P0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Dalvay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dalvay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dalvay by the Sea Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalvay-By-The-Sea, a National Historic Site of Canada, is an elegant Queen Anne Revival home built in 1895 by a Scottish-American oil tycoon. A summer resort hotel since the 1930's, Dalvay By-The-Sea is located at the east end of Prince Edward Island's National Park on scenic Dalvay Beach. There are 25 guest rooms; all are largely furnished in period antiques and all rooms offer a four-piece private bath. Each of our rooms is singular and unique. In addition, there are eight three-bedroom cottages located adjacent to the inn, offering vistas of the ocean, Dalvay Lake and acres of manicured grounds. The inn currently operates from June 1st - mid October, offering both accommodations and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dalvay by the Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dalvay By The Sea
Dalvay By The Sea Hotel Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing