We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to return next year”
Review of Sunny King Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cornwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunny King Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cornwall
Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to return next year”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our experience at Sunny King Motel was excellent.Everything you could want in a motel was there. Staff very friendly and helpful Rooms clean beds comfortable pool clean. Can't wait to go back there again next year Karen

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, NS, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed here on a beautiful weekend in May. There is a good amount of space in the unit and having a kitchenette was great - full size fridge and freezer, stove, sink, microwave, and cupboards. So along with the cheap rate, you can definitely save some money by staying here. The room and beds were clean, though everything is extremely dated. The owners are kind and helpful people.

There was a good size swimming pool but it was not open this time of year.

The walls are not really sound proof, the rooms can get very warm (keep the curtains closed on a sunny day), and you may find the owner and his friends smoking and drinking outside one of the ground floor rooms... if your window is open, the smell of smoke will waft into your room for a bit. There is wireless internet available, though the signal wasn't very strong in our room so it only worked sometimes.

It is a cheap, old motel... but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wsekem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2009

well first off we had to buy air freshiner, because the rooms were very musty. We then had to put sheets over the chairs so we could sit down very stained, ohh! the pool was nice, and the staff friendly, but they say a picture speak a thousand words, well the owner has to get rid of the 1959 picture and put up the 2009, not near as nice as picture.
we wouldn't dare use the utensils they were in the cupboards, gross, we stay out away as ;long as possible each day. wouldn't recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenfees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cornwall hotels

edmonton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We relly liked the pool and the suite.Everybody had their own room and that was great.There was a laundry room for guests and wireless inernet was available.Ok.wallpaper was peeling in places and there were bugs in a hallways(summer time??),but the suite was clean and spacious.95CAN $ +TAX per night.For a suite,no bad.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroft, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2008

We picked this place because it was had a pool and it was near my fathers dialysis unit. The place could really do with a make over, but the units were large enough for 4 adults and a child.
The rooms were keeped clean but there is no AC unit.

We would have drove right on if it had not been for the pool which help to keep my son busy when my dad was at dialysis.


This place also has laundy unit which you can use which is nice.

  • Liked — The pool and it was close to the dialysis unit.
  • Disliked — Needs a make over
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa_N_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 28, 2006

This is an old hotel with small, but reasonably clean, rooms. The main problem with the Sunny King was that the walls provided very little sound proofing. When I got there in the afternoon, I could hear the gentleman in the next room whistling along to the music on the radio. That night I heard him snoring quite loudly, and as a result I got very little sleep. I have never heard sound from another hotel room so plainly as the night I stayed at the Sunny King. Given that there are better hotels within five minutes of the Sunny King, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2000
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornwall
0.7 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Prince Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
#19 of 23 in Charlottetown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny King Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny King Motel

Property: Sunny King Motel
Address: Sunny King Motel, Cornwall, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown > Cornwall
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cornwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Sunny King Motel Cornwall, Canada - Charlottetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing