We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay Ever”
Review of Dutch Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dutch Inn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cornwall
Charlottetown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Stay Ever”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Felt welcome as soon as I entered the building. Rooms are upgraded and clean and the beds are wonderful. The breakfast and meals are excellent, great location, The swimming pool is the warmest and biggest that I have seen in most hotels. All the staff made me and my family feel right at home. Will stay there every time I am in Charlottetown.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette G, Manager at Dutch Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. You'll be glad to know that starting June 9th we will be offering a complimentary hot breakfast buffet for our hotel guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    27
    35
    28
    21
See reviews for
53
33
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Bay, New Brunswick
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Just stayed here two nights. It was okay. The beds were clean and comfortable. Staff were pleasant and efficient. Breakfast was fine. It wasn't pristine (a little clump of hair on the bathroom floor that did not belong to us) but not bad either. The property is old but the bathroom looked like it had been updated at some point. I thought it was somewhat overpriced but if you can get a good rate and are just looking for a place to sleep, it's okay. You do need a car.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lindanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed for two nights here - Sept.21,22/11. The woman at the desk at check in was very friendly and accommodating. We were able to change our room from two dbl beds to one queen easily. The HJ is dated but our room was very clean. There was no AC in our room but being September the air coming in the window was fresh and our room was a comfortable temperature. The breakfast was included - the small buffet style had sausages, scrambled eggs, pancakes, a variety of juices and cereal, coffee and tea. We had gone to the island to do some cycling and take in the Buddy Holly Story. We were aware that it would be about a 10-15 minute drive to downtown, but this was no problem. The rate was excellent - $79 per night for a two night stay. The bed was comfortable but not fabulous. After a day of cycling, it was no problem to go to sleep! The room was very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayak56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette G, Manager at Dutch Inn Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and wanted to update you on some exciting news! The hotel just underwent major renovations so now all rooms have new beds, flat screen TV, fridge, new bedding and much more! We would love to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This definitely isn't worth the rare of $120 per night. The room was not fully cleaned when we arrived. The shower flipped between scalding hot and freezing cold. My hair dryer blew out the power in the bathroom. Only one bed was made up on our second night. And the front desk staff was a complete buzz kill. The bonus of being here was that they did allow our dog at no extra charge and the free breakfast was pretty good. We stayed for a wedding so the location worked out but we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scsissons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cornwall hotels

Burnaby, BC, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Although this hotel was a little out of the way from the downtown area of Charlottetown it was a nice place to stay. Great customer service from the day we checked in to when we checked out. They were very accomodating and had upgraded us to a bigger room which we didn't feel comforable with (too big for just the two of us) so we asked to be moved which they were able to do the next day. Comfortable beds and pillows. Great breakfast, food was hot and fresh and coffee was good. Only one small complaint, would have liked to have had some fruit and/or yogurt. Good little lounge in the lower floor.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunworshiper54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portage indiana
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2011

we found the motel on a friday nite and the attendant charged us a 50 dollar fee in case we damage anything and hit the wrong button and had to re do it....hopefully i wont be billed for this...we got in our room and found there was tooth paste dried on the bathroom sink, a shampoo bottle part left in the bath tub, and an unbelievable amount of dirt and dust and grime behind my wife's head board...we called and complained and were offered another room but we were tired and decided to stay...wife had the creeps that there would be bugs etc but that was not the case..just very dirty....i really dont think the room was cleaned at all since the previous customer....when we checked out the same guy hit the wrong button again but did catch his mistake saying i made him do it because i was talking about the couple who woke us up fighting at three in the morning...of course they have no control on that problem....but he still hit the wrong button again so i hope i dont get hit with two additional bills for 50 dollars each because he was not careful...overall...terrible....the breakfast was good tho

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vetspet.ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette G, Manager at Dutch Inn Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for your comments. Please be assured that your $50 deposit was returned to you. We take a $50 deposit only when customers pay with cash. This deposit is for any incidental charges (IE: phone or restaurant) that you may incur during your stay. In regards to your overnight room, I do apologize that the bathroom was not up to par and your issues were addressed to the housekeeper. The head of this department is keeping a close eye on the employee so that something like this does not happen again. It is unfortunate that you did not accept the offer of another room as we do strive to be a clean property. Again thank you for your comments it keeps us on our toes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I agree with the previous reviews - the hotel needs some TLC - it looks and feels old. Having said that it served its purpose. We had a good night's sleep, shower and hot breakfast that is included in price. Weird that the tap would spit as if the hot water was just turned on. Overall, there are other hotels close by and since the prices are very close, I'd go to one of those instead next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sashaz122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornwall
3.6 mi away
Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
2.4 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 23 in Charlottetown
244 reviews
3.3 mi away
Suites of Euston
Suites of Euston
#18 of 23 in Charlottetown
133 reviews
3.7 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Inn Hotel

Property: Dutch Inn Hotel
Address: 100 Trans Canada Hwy, Cornwall, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C0A 1H0, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Charlottetown)
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown > Cornwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cornwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dutch Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the quiet town of Cornwall, just 10 minutes from downtown Charlottetown and centrally located to the island's beautiful attractions. You are just 40 minutes drive to Anne's Land and 25 minutes to Victoria by the Sea, a beautiful fishing village. A lovely 2 hour drive to east and west end of island. We are family friendly with a large indoor pool/sauna, continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dutch Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Charlottetown
Charlottetown Howard Johnson
Dutch Inn Hotel Cornwall, Canada - Charlottetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing