We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst motel in many many yrs”
Review of Dutch Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dutch Inn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cornwall
portage indiana
1 review
“worst motel in many many yrs”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

we found the motel on a friday nite and the attendant charged us a 50 dollar fee in case we damage anything and hit the wrong button and had to re do it....hopefully i wont be billed for this...we got in our room and found there was tooth paste dried on the bathroom sink, a shampoo bottle part left in the bath tub, and an unbelievable amount of dirt and dust and grime behind my wife's head board...we called and complained and were offered another room but we were tired and decided to stay...wife had the creeps that there would be bugs etc but that was not the case..just very dirty....i really dont think the room was cleaned at all since the previous customer....when we checked out the same guy hit the wrong button again but did catch his mistake saying i made him do it because i was talking about the couple who woke us up fighting at three in the morning...of course they have no control on that problem....but he still hit the wrong button again so i hope i dont get hit with two additional bills for 50 dollars each because he was not careful...overall...terrible....the breakfast was good tho

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vetspet.ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette G, Manager at Dutch Inn Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for your comments. Please be assured that your $50 deposit was returned to you. We take a $50 deposit only when customers pay with cash. This deposit is for any incidental charges (IE: phone or restaurant) that you may incur during your stay. In regards to your overnight room, I do apologize that the bathroom was not up to par and your issues were addressed to the housekeeper. The head of this department is keeping a close eye on the employee so that something like this does not happen again. It is unfortunate that you did not accept the offer of another room as we do strive to be a clean property. Again thank you for your comments it keeps us on our toes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    26
    34
    25
    21
See reviews for
52
28
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I agree with the previous reviews - the hotel needs some TLC - it looks and feels old. Having said that it served its purpose. We had a good night's sleep, shower and hot breakfast that is included in price. Weird that the tap would spit as if the hot water was just turned on. Overall, there are other hotels close by and since the prices are very close, I'd go to one of those instead next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sashaz122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FenwicK Island, DE
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We stayed 3 nights as the location was convenient. The best thing about this hotel is the breakfast. Since there is an on site restaurant, they actually cook fresh scrambled eggs, sausage, and pancakes each morning we were there. The next best thing was the downstairs lounge which had good food and drinks at very reasonable prices. The room itself needs a lot of updating. Musty smell, old carpeting, and the beds were not very comfortable. All the staff we encountered were very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oclola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cornwall hotels

Halifax
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

we booked the hotel for 3 nights, the hotel was very friendly, the pool was great, breakfast was more then what i expected, we expected a muffin and some cereal, we got way more, it was beautiful, cut back on lots of extra money spent. it was not hard to find, we had a great time. They had picnic tables out form, we brought a bbq and the hotel did not have a problem with us using it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teddygram12004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Arrived late at night so we were desperate. A couple of big events in town had limited our choices. This hotel that's actually more like a motel had a room available. The room was tiny. The hallways smelled funny and the carpet has definitely seen better days. The bed was comfy, but the pipes, fridge, and toilet made noise all night. Would not stay here again...especially at 167 bucks after tax.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cilver79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

This was awful, I have stayed in motels before but this was the worst. The room was too humid, the hall was ice cold. The nonsmoking rooms were right by "the lounge" where every one smoked. The pool was filthy and the hot tub smelled. The dinning room smelled unpleasent and totally lost my appetite for the breakfast. We had ants in our room through gap in the in room air conditioner. There was about three inches of room left when my son pull out the couch. My husband's back was so sore from the bed, that I drove to three other hotels before breakfast to find another room. The toilet ran on and was loud. Then the desk clerk was argumentive when I was trying to discuss PEI PST calculations, claiming I must be from Ontario. (I'm sure that's good for business). We booked 7 nights after 4, and finally finding a hotel room open at the Delta, we checked out. Of course they didn't ask why we leaving early.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Earthbound5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

The hotel is advertised as Charlottetown, but it is actually in Cornwall, which is a few km away. We have never stayed at a HoJo before, and we probably won't choose to again. Our observations were quite similar to the previous posters. The room and hallways smelled musty, the carpeting in our room looked dirty, the bed was flimsy, and the pool was also being used for swimming lessons, which I found odd. The breakfast was a standard continental breakfast, and the hotel had free Internet, which was nice.

Overall, our stay was fine. We booked the room through priceline, but it did not live up to what I have previously received for a two-star hotel when I have bid in the past. I usually stick to Priceline's three star hotels and higher, but they did not offer any for Charlottetown. I will probably stay away from future two star bids in the future. For not much more money than we paid on Priceline, we could have stayed at the brand new super eight just up the road, and that is what I recommend.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornwall
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
#19 of 23 in Charlottetown
580 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#10 of 23 in Charlottetown
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 23 in Charlottetown
210 reviews
3.3 mi away
Suites of Euston
Suites of Euston
#17 of 23 in Charlottetown
126 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Inn Hotel

Property: Dutch Inn Hotel
Address: 100 Trans Canada Hwy, Cornwall, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C0A 1H0, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Charlottetown)
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown > Cornwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cornwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dutch Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the quiet town of Cornwall, just 10 minutes from downtown Charlottetown and centrally located to the island's beautiful attractions. You are just 40 minutes drive to Anne's Land and 25 minutes to Victoria by the Sea, a beautiful fishing village. A lovely 2 hour drive to east and west end of island. We are family friendly with a large indoor pool/sauna, continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dutch Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Charlottetown
Charlottetown Howard Johnson
Dutch Inn Hotel Cornwall, Canada - Charlottetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing