We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick bar food”
Review of Sand Box Pub and Eatery - CLOSED

Sand Box Pub and Eatery
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Canada
Level Contributor
448 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Quick bar food”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stopped here while in the area for the long weekend. I read other reviews from Trip Advisor and wasn't expecting too much. It is more or less some bar food (Burgers and fries) and a few other things. Good portions of food for the price. Not much of a restaurant

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDTravelCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    21
    13
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Careful not to slip!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The sandbox play area meant that the floor was slippery, so please be careful!! Food was ok. I had fish and chips...the fish was overbatted and very sickly I couldn't finish it. My children enjoyed their pasta and salad and my husband enjoyed his burger.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CatUK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Have been twice”
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

The first time did not seem all that bad. Very simple. The next time, however, the bugs inside the restaurant could not go unnoticed. We will not be returning this year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MiloMiaReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Should serve sand...”
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

You'd think in PEI, where potatoes and mussels rule the day, they'd have a clue. Nope. Ordered poutine and it came with shredded cheese out of a bag. When i asked how the mussels were done (expecting Provençal, white wine, or cream maybe) she said...steamed or boiled, maybe, with some sort of spices? Hmmmmm. Suspect. To top it off, my wife got a Ceaser salad that had bacon bits and pressed chicken and my mother-in-law could tell the salad in her wrap was pre-washed from a bag. The cheap beer should have been a tipoff, but I had to drive so I couldn't get trashed and make the food tastier. So, go there with kids and don't expect anything tasty, or go to drink. Other than that, if this is #4 in Cavendish, I'd hate to try #5.

Helpful?
2 Thank NomadJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and tiny portions”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We went in for some fresh simple seafood knowing that PEI was relatively expensive. And the place is dreary and unpleasant. I expected to pay but I also expected a decent sized portion. My family members are not heavy hitters when it comes to portions, but this was really a ripoff.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jodiegwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Box Pub and Eatery also viewed

Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing