We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”
Review of Sand Box Pub and Eatery - CLOSED

Sand Box Pub and Eatery
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner
New Brunswick, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I was very disappointed in this restaurant. The food was absolutely disgusting. The fries looked and tasted as if the grease hadn`t been changed in weeks, their chowder tasted as if the milk was spoiled and they wanted an outrageous amount for their meals for the tiny portions we received.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank mjpalmer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    21
    13
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Advocate Harbour
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Some friends and I were staying in Cavendish for the weekend and one day we wanted to go out for lunch and seen the Sand Box, it looks very nice from the outside so we decided to go in. It was very spacious and bright inside and a great atmosphere to have lunch in. They were opened for about a half an hour but there were hardly any staff, we actually stood around for a couple minutes before someone noticed us. Once we were seated and got our menus there was ALOT to choose from but nothing really stood out to me, so I ordered something I consider to be very "safe" ... chicken fingers and fries. We waited quite a while to get our orders and we noticed that people who had come in after us had actually got there meals before us which I didn't really like. And once I did get my meal I wasn't overly impressed, it's the same as any other run of the mill pub, overcooked chicken fingers with frozen (compared to handcut) french fries. I would probably go back but more for the atmosphere than anything else.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The poutine is great.”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We read reviews about this restaurant before arriving and were a little hesitant about eating here. So, when we saw the establishment we decided to try a "no brainer" menu item...poutine. It was great. We wanted to find a PEI potato poutine, and here is where we found it! I think the trick is to order food more typical of a place like this (burger, fries, etc.) instead of food that's not exactly their specialty (steak, pasta, etc.). The servers have a vibe of 'I'm too sexy to serve you' which seemed odd considering the tourist business in PEI suffered this year which means so did the local establishments. Perhaps they need to be reminded that good customer service = the ability to stay open.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OscarDavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onaping, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great with young kids”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The food was good, nothing to brag about but good, the service was good and the prices were average. However we really enjoyed the sandbox for the kids to play in. The kids played until there food came so my Husband and myself were able to relax and have a full conversation without any distributions, so worth it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brouse_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK meal if your in a rush, and there are no other options.”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stopped here on our way back to our campsite, and it was late (9:30 pm). We all had burgers and fries. The burgers were ok - the fries were awful. The service was average. I would not go again, unless it was late and we were in a rush.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Box Pub and Eatery also viewed

Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing