We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great with young kids”
Review of Sand Box Pub and Eatery - CLOSED

Sand Box Pub and Eatery
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Onaping, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great with young kids”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The food was good, nothing to brag about but good, the service was good and the prices were average. However we really enjoyed the sandbox for the kids to play in. The kids played until there food came so my Husband and myself were able to relax and have a full conversation without any distributions, so worth it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brouse_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    21
    13
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK meal if your in a rush, and there are no other options.”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stopped here on our way back to our campsite, and it was late (9:30 pm). We all had burgers and fries. The burgers were ok - the fries were awful. The service was average. I would not go again, unless it was late and we were in a rush.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
111 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Given what else in in town - this is a definite pass.”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Um, yuck. Bad concept. Meant to be kid friendly with a sandbox, but just kind of dirty.

It smells bad. The smell of bathroom pervaded our table.

We can't really comment on food, since after a few minutes, we left.

Really, with Sam's and Carr's withion a short drive, take a short drive.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank voegelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Fish & Chips this side of Shropshire”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

My fiancé and I stopped here for lunch and to tally up the score after our 1st annual mini put tournament (I won). We stopped here because it was close. We ordered two plates that ended up being MASSIVE. Although there was an over-abundance of deep fried items in the seafood platter, the breaded fish has to be the best I have had this side of Shropshire, England. If you want to take a break from healthy food, stop here and get the fish & chips or the seafood platter. I think they could improve by not breading and deep frying everything - especially the scallops and shrimp. It would have been nice to have home made tartar sauce instead of the prepackaged kind. The meal was more expensive than it should have been

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank FriendlyBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Really low quality pub food. I felt sick after my meal. And there's actually sand on the floor from a sandbox in the corner of the restaurant. Cute idea, but we had sand on our feet all day.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Box Pub and Eatery also viewed

Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing