We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anne's Windy Poplars
Certificate of Excellence
Moncton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

When I called back in February 2011 for information and to book my dates, I asked what 2 golf courses the couples golf package included, I was told that we could pick out of 6 courses when we got there. Needless to say that when we did get there, our courses and tee times were already booked and the lady working said that she sent us an email to let us know the courses and times. Would have been fine, had she even asked for our email address. When we got there, we had 15 minutes to get to our first course (Stanhope), which was over 30 minutes away. So obviously we had to reschedule our tee time to allow us to change, and of course, get to the course. Since it was men's night that evening, we could only get in a 9 hole round, which the golf course was gracious enough to give us a rain check for the other 9 holes since we already paid for it. Not something the lady at Anne's Windy Poplars offered. Also, our next golf game, which was a Fox Meadows, was about an hour away, and we had to be there for a 9:30am tee time, which meant no sleeping in on our vacation. This trip would have been perfect had it not been for the hectic golf schedule and the too busy golf courses that they booked us at. The cottage was great, the game room was incredible.

Room Tip: Very clean, very accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awp2888, Owner at Anne's Windy Poplars, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Here are the procedures our front office staff follow when booking a golf package. In order to receive the discounts from the golf courses we must make the booking directly with them. Therefore we always obtain the preferred tee off times from the client plus an e-mail address so we can confirm both the reservation for the cottage and the actual tee times with the golf courses. Prince Edward Island is a major golf destination, so it is always wise to arrive with confirmed tee times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    36
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
103
58
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The suite we rented was spotless and very appealing. The heated pool and private hot tub were just what we needed to relax. Even the little private deck with a BBQ off the suite was great! Everyone running the Cottages were polite, friendly and very helpful. We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCCCNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2011

This marvelous treed property is well kept and very, very clean. The charming white and blue cottages are well spread out throughout immaculate grounds. Amenities include pool, whirlpool, laundry room, playgrounds for young children and games room (to my 10 and 7 year olds' delight on a rainy day).

After touring the Cavendish area we quickly realized that the property stood out from others. It is conveniently located close to amusement parks and the Brackley beach.
Hosts are very nice and welcoming. We highly recommend it and will return on our next trip to PEI.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We stayed here for two nights in June and it was perfect for our family of four (two boys, aged 7 and 10). The boys enjoyed the pool and the games room. My husband and I enjoyed the jacuzzi and a clean, comfortable cottage. We bought fresh seafood in North Rustico and brought it back to the cottage to prepare. The owners are friendly and helpful. Thank you for a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2010

We drove down from New Jersey for a last minute getaway before the kids had to return to school from summer break. It was the end of the busy season, so things were pretty quiet, with many shops selling their merchandise at half price. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage which worked out fine for 3 kids and two adults. It had a living room as well as a kitchen stocked with dinnerware and kitchen utensils. We mostly cooked our own meals on the stove or used the grill on the deck, which made it feel like home away from home. We enjoyed the game and exercise rooms and the pool. We also checked out the nearby amusement park and Ripley's Believe it or not, which were a bit pricey. Didn't go to the Green Gable's Theme Park, which is basically around the corner. The seaside farms were just beautiful. The kids have been begging to go again...Hopefully this summer.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nesali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, NB
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2010

We stayed 5 nights at Anne's Windy Poplars in Sept. 2009. This is a quiet and comfortable cottage resort. Very clean and well-maintained. The pool area also has a hot tub and sauna. A very popular spot with cottagers is the fitness room / games room. It has 2 pool tables, shuffleboard, air hockey and fooz ball. A great place to spend time on a rainy day. With the fitness room and games room there is always something to do. My favourite thing was the walking trail. It is a mowed trail bordering fields and woodland. I used this trail every day of our stay and it was a great spot to take my 3-year old grandson to run off some energy. Once we got away from the cottage area, we did not have to worry about traffic and he loved the chance to run and play. This resort is located on route 13 but very close to all attractions in Cavendish. About 1 km from the intersection of route 6 and route 13.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHOTOFIEND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

We were able to get a reservation on relatively short notice because we were travelling in the shoulder season. Cabins were clean and well organized. Beds were comfortable and staff accomodated my young child with a playpen no charge. Whirl-pool tub was a nice surprise in addition to the free of charge upgrade we received that included a hot tub on the deck. John was great to call us back on that. Carriage rides at Green Gables were outrageously priced, so we took a tour without and had a nice day. Went out for lobster dinner, no large mess hall dinners were open quite yet, but we still partook in the 'tradition'. Cavendish Beach was the most beautiful place we visited. Our first nice there, the windless night made for a glass-like ocean that was breathtaking. So clean and well kept. Residents must be so proud to live in such a beautiful part of Canada.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kibbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cavendish hotels
1.2 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
1.0 mi away
Cavendish Bosom Buddies Cottages and Suites
1.2 mi away
Resort at Cavendish Corner
Resort at Cavendish Corner
#6 of 8 in Cavendish
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sundance Cottages
Sundance Cottages
#5 of 21 in Cavendish
236 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cavendish Lodge & Cottages
Cavendish Lodge & Cottages
#6 of 21 in Cavendish
79 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairways Cottages
Fairways Cottages
#3 of 21 in Cavendish
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anne's Windy Poplars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne's Windy Poplars

Property: Anne's Windy Poplars
Address: 7195 Rte 13, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Cavendish
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Cavendish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anne's Windy Poplars 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Anne's Windy Poplars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne`s Windy Poplars Cottages Hotel Cavendish
Anne's Windy Poplars Cavendish, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing