We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay. We'll definitely be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cavendish Maples Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Dundas, ON, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Stay. We'll definitely be back!”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We weren't sure where to stay in Cavendish, but we definitely made the right choice by staying at Cavendish Maples! We were welcomed by the owners who were extremely friendly and helped us with everything we needed. The cottage was immaculate and better than we could have hoped for. We happened to stay during the Stanley Cup finals and the large flat screen TV came in handy! The kitchen had everything we needed and more. If we could have stayed longer we would have loved to make use of the BBQ and all of the other outdoor activites that are available. We can't wait to return to stay again and will be recommending this location to all of our friends and family who travel to PEI!

Room Tip: All of the cottages look great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyla-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    41
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
214
76
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Our stay at Cavendish Maples was very pleasant. The owners & staff are very friendly & helpful. The cottages are wood paneled & comfortably furnished. The kitchen was well equipped. Beds could be more comfortable but are ok. The cottages are very clean & the grounds are pretty.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaLee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed at the Cavendish Maples for the second time now and absolutely loved it. Our cabin #8 was tastefully decorated and spacious. All furnishings are in good shape. Lots of privacy as the cabins are all well laid out. We loved the fact that we had our own bbq on our deck. Used the hottub almost daily. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Centrally located and close to all Cavendish activities.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDW53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schruns, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We had the "Deluxe" cottage (No. 20) for 2 weeks, very nice and clean, super efficient and cosy at the same time. The whirlpool bath was our private, relaxing swimming pool after 18 holes of walking on the various great golf courses, some of them very close by. Due to great weather we were able to enjoy the cottage deck for quiet, long breakfasts and a good glass of wine and barbecue in the evening.
Tyson did a tremendous job on how he organized the golf package for us, tee-times, locations, variations of courses - just perfect.
Restaurants we liked: The Blue Mussel Cafe, The Pearl (both North Rustico) and Carr's Oyster Bar (Stanley Bridge).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfaddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

The cabin we stayed in was spacious, immaculate and well-equipped for our stay plus it had daily maid service. The bed was comfortable and their was a murphy bed in the living room if more people were staying. The gas fireplace quickly took the chill off even the coldest morning or evening and the pine interior was very homey. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more accomodating with every request we made. Their pass to Green Gables let us see this site for free and they then gave us directions to the seashore and Lucy Maud Montgomery's grave. We followed these visits by watching the next movie in the Anne series. They are only about 20 minutes from Charlottetown and in the middle of Anne land but miles away from any hustle. The location was convenient to New Glasgow lobster supper and other restaurants but the cabins also allowed us to cook some excellent fresh fish from North Rustico. A truly outstanding stay. Thanks, MacInnes!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iuvenis2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

The first thing you notice pulling in is that the cottages are located in a beautiful area. It's full of matures trees, nicely landscaped and quiet. The Gordon's obviously put a lot of care into their property unlike most owners who throw as many cottages as they can on a field.

Our cottage was one of the newer executive 1 bedroom cottages. They are located in the back and cost more the they are nothing short of exquisite. From the couple of La-z-boys to the flat screen Tv's in the living room and bedroom, to the comfortable king size bed or whirlpool for 2, it is roomy, beautifully made and was by far the best accommodations I'd ever stayed in on the island.

In terms of location, you could not hope for better (although Cavendish is so small, it's hard to find poorly situated accommodations) . It is right next to the Shining Waters park, a few minutes from the Cavendish beaches, Sandspit, the boardwalk, Avonlea Village, etc etc.

We went off season so the rates were very good. It was probably the priciest place I looked at by 20% so you can easily get cheaper but it would not even come close to the quality of the cottage we received. If you can afford to spend a bit more on the lodgings, you won't find better than the Cavendish Maples.

**This review is written based on the cottage #30 & 31 which were opened in 2008. The others appear very nice from the pictures but I would not know how they are in person.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Feneant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Spent three days at Cavendish Maples (Aug 17-30, 2007). It was cold and raining the entire time, but we had fun anyway. The cottages are so close to everything...the beach, water parks, golf and stores. Couldn't ask for a better location. The setting is wonderful, huge trees everywhere, lots of shade. Compared to other cottages, which all seem to be in the middle of big fields, this place is definitely the best lay-out we saw. The kids had a blast in the pool and on the playgrounds. Loved the fire pits and the various outdoor games. The cottages are very clean and well-equipped. We didn't have to ask for a thing. Staff is friendly. Our ONLY complaint was the beds, they were like sleeping on a hard floor. Other than that, it was perfect. We will return next summer!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable beds
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SillyMom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavendish
1.1 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
1.8 mi away
Cavendish Bosom Buddies Cottages and Suites
1.1 mi away
Resort at Cavendish Corner
Resort at Cavendish Corner
#5 of 8 in Cavendish
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sundance Cottages
Sundance Cottages
#5 of 22 in Cavendish
225 reviews
4.4 mi away
North Rustico Motel Cottages & Inn
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Lodge & Cottages
Cavendish Lodge & Cottages
#6 of 22 in Cavendish
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Maples Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Maples Cottages

Property: Cavendish Maples Cottages
Address: 73 Avonlea Boulevard, Route 6, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Cavendish
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Cavendish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavendish Maples Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award winning cottage rentals in PEI have developed a reputation as one of the most popular cottage resorts on our Island.The Maples property is located in a grove of mature maple trees and combines a rejuvenating setting, four-star cottages, many amenities, and the ideal location in the heart of Cavendish.Whether it’s your first visit to our Island or you are one of our many loyal guests, we look forward to helping you plan your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cavendish Maples Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Maples Cottages Hotel Cavendish
Cavendish Maples Cottages Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing