We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vacation”
Review of Sunset Campground

Sunset Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cavendish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Campground
Sydney, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice vacation”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the rental trailers which was nicely priced for a week. It was a fifth wheel but the couch and table turned into beds making it comfortable for our family of four. It has a nice deck and propane BBQ to use. The trailer is an older model but clean (with exception of the living room chair but threw a blanket over it problem solved). The trailer was in the B loop which was quiet (one night loud music but done around midnight). We did see security walking the grounds on the weekend nights. The washrooms were clean, showered there a couple of times(I found the shower in the trailer small). Kids enjoyed the tractor hay rides (weekend nights only). We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momof-q2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you are looking for a private wooden tent site, then this site is for you. If you are looking for old gross out dated washrooms, then this site is for you as well. If you are tenting, I would recommend NOT staying in D loop. Road was completely overrun with brush. Driving through with a half ton truck, you are surely to scratch your vehicle. I would suggest a semi open wooden lot for tents. Washrooms were a lot nicer. We only stayed for 3 nights. Was suppose to be for 5. The noise was out of control. Quiet time was 11 pm. Parties did not stop until well past 3 am. Had people sneaking around our camp site at 3 am, looking to steal stuff. No "security" on site. Place is way over priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hoogiebun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Spent 5 nights at this campground. Treed site we had was all dirt. They do an all summer gem hunt where you look for hidden gems and cash them in for freezies. My 4 boys spent 2 days scouring the campground for gems enough to give them each 2 freezies. To their disappointment they never had any...even after complaining at the main office (ran by 2 teenagers) and being promsed the next day they would have some they did not.

Another activity was 50 cent ice cream..... The teenager running this event showed up with two 1.5l containers of melted maple and neopolitan ice cream....what kid eats maple ice cream!?!?

Last night was free marshmallows and hot dog bonfire... Again the teenager running this one shows up with 3 bags of stale marshmallows, 2 packs of wieners and 8 hotdog buns!

Overall for 48 bucks a night not very impressive!

Kids had fun in the pool and at the tennis courts etc and the weather was fantastic. Just wouldn't choose this campground again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a decent campground but it is a little behind the times. After staying at Twin Shores in Lower Darnley I'm sure that any campground would pale in comparison, and Sunset did. They pool is nice and they have activities for kids but the washrooms didn't seem to be kept up and were extremely busy (maybe a hint that another should be built?). It's in a very convenient location as it's right behind the boardwalk but location isn't absolutely everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristynJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this campground before and her family stayed there several times when she was younger. This time we were very disappointed with our experience.

My wife had called and made a reservation and had asked for site C41 (large site) but was told that site was unavailable for the period we would be there, but site C42 (large site) was available and the lady told her she would put it in our reservation that we wanted that site. We arrived and after paying were told that we were on site C36 (medium site). When we told the girl we had specified site 42 in our reservation she explained to us that there had been no note placed on the reservation and so they had moved us to another site to accommodate someone else. When asked if we could be moved to another large site we were told that there were no large sites left because they had groups who were coming in that wanted sites together. We were not happy, but at least we had a site. We went to our site and setup and after that began speaking with our neighbours who told us that they had asked for sites together because they were traveling with family, but they had been told that they didn't like putting groups together in order to keep the party atmosphere to a minimum. This made us even more upset because we had been lied to, and so had this other family.

To make things worse the bathrooms were not clean and had not been kept up (paint peeling).

This campground is in a major need of renovations and updates.

Room Tip: Stay in another campground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CokeCacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavendish
1.6 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
1.6 mi away
Resort at Cavendish Corner
Resort at Cavendish Corner
#6 of 8 in Cavendish
75 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marco Polo Land Campground
Marco Polo Land Campground
#13 of 21 in Cavendish
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cavendish Bosom Buddies Cottages and Suites
4.9 mi away
North Rustico Motel Cottages & Inn
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Lodge & Cottages
Cavendish Lodge & Cottages
#6 of 21 in Cavendish
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Campground

Property: Sunset Campground
Address: 9095 Route 6 Cavendish Road, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island C0A 1X0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Cavendish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Cavendish
Number of rooms: 500
Also Known As:
Sunset Campground Cavendish, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing