We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try the scallop burger”

The Lost Anchor Pub & Galley
Ranked #2 of 29 Restaurants in Cavendish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ottawa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Try the scallop burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

We arrived mid evening in Cavendish and checked Tripadvisor for a suggestion, this looked good and we were not disappointed. Like most restaurants in Cavendish, this is a small place with a small menu, but what they do, they do well. We had fish and chips and the scallop burger, both were excellent. I'm not a big seafood eater but try to experience it when I'm in the maritimes, the scallop burger was great and I would recommend other try it. Prices were reasonable and service was good. Clean restaurant with a few shops all in the same building, including the famous Dirt Short Factory.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigdaddy316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    66
    17
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

The scallop burger was delicious and the kids loved their cheese quesadilla. Nice atmosphere and decor. Loved the mason jar water glasses and fresh made mayonnaise.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenny_Diii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

We discovered this restaurant by accident and stopped in for lunch - and were very happy we did!
We had the scallop burger and the lobster roll and both were absolutely delicious and are definitely highly recommended. A great stop for lunch.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TreckingLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Decent food, not many vegetarian options”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We tried this restaurant as trip advisor gives it such a high rating and lists that they sell vegetarian food.

Well, there was a mushroom burger which was gooey and unmanageable, and was the only vegetarian dish on the menu.

My friends who had the lobster rolls said they are quite good.

This place was hard to find and we drove by a few times as it is tucked off the Main Street.

Helpful?
Thank JamesPharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great scallop burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

The scallop burger was very unique. My 11 year old daughter had a bite and was jealous of me. The kids all enjoyed the fish and chips, with fresh cut fries. My wife said that the portobello mushroom burger was great and she could tell that they took the time to marinate it. I didn't realize that they actually had an anchor from the Marco Polo, so that was a nice surprise. Only thing to note is that the potato salad is actually salad, with a few fried potatoes on it rather than traditional potato salad, but it was quite good.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lost Anchor Pub & Galley also viewed

Rustico, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to The Lost Anchor Pub & Galley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing