We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Lebanese Food”
Review of Sam's Restaurant - CLOSED

Sam's Restaurant
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I eat here often. Although they serve mostly steak, seafood, burgers, etc., they also make very good Lebanese food (especially the chicken shish taouk). Service can be a bit slow, but take the time to enjoy the warm summer weather on their outdoor patio. They are a seasonal restaurant, but are open a bit later into September than most Cavendish area restaurants.

Thank FoodAddictPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Sam's Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 52 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were at the Cavendish Boardwalk and didn't want to eat there so we asked an employee for a suggestion on a local spot. She suggested Sam's. It was okay. I had fish & chips, they were okay. A friend had a lobster roll, it was okay. Another friend, a BLT, it was okay. Get the point? Still glad we went and didn't eat in the circus that was the boardwalk but when requesting suggestions from locals sometimes you win, sometimes you lose.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LisaAtlantaGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This place was not bad, it was typical pub style food. The service was good. Found the prices to be a bit high for the setting.

Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Worse overall dining experience we've ever had. Our terrible breakfast started with us waiting in front a woman (next to the 'wait to be seated' sign) who ignored us for 5 minutes before telling us to seat ourselves. It took 10 minutes for menus to show up. Another 15-20 before our order was taken. Although there seemed to only be two waitresses, there were by far more empty tables than full ones. While we were waiting for our food, the wait staff were constantly going back and forth from the kitchen with orders sent back. We finally got our eggs and bacon 35 minutes after ordering. Both our plates were cold (not room temperature but unedible cold). We had to go to the front to find a waitress and let them know. They replaced the meals. When the replacements arrived they were not what we ordered. It was close but not quite. Also distracting was that the waitresses were arguing with the cook about whether or not a meal was cooked enough, loud enough for the restaurant to hear. Other tables were getting up to serve themselves coffee and get cutlery. By the time the food we ordered arrived, warm this time, we had been there an hour. The only reason we waited at all was that they ended up not charging us. This tourist trap must rely on luring one-time visitors because surely no one would go back a second time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RoadTrippers79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Numsen, Owner at Sam's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

We’ve recently purchased this restaurant and are sorry to hear that your dining experience wasn’t a pleasant one. I can assure that we’ve read all of the reviews of the restaurant and will use this as a starting point to improving the restaurant. With our background in the restaurant industry we feel confident that the service and quality of product that we serve will improve.

Although we can’t change the experience that you had, we want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of the restaurant and we would welcome the opportunity to meet and surpass your expectations when it comes to dining in the Cavendish area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We visited this restaurant about 5 years ago and had a great meal. Went back on the 17th of August and it was not even close to what it used to be... It started when the waitress dropped the tray of 4 lg. Water on the table which completely soaked my son and husband. Finally moved tables and then ordered.. The flies in the place bordered on harassment. I ordered the "famous" fish and chips and think they may have been frozen fish sticks. Coleslaw was a soggy dripping mess.. Waitress was not that apologetic saying, "people get upset when it's pop"... So this happens frequently?? Washrooms could have used a good cleaning.. We will not eat here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NSNeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Numsen, Owner at Sam's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

We’ve recently purchased this restaurant and are sorry to hear that your dining experience wasn’t a pleasant one. I can assure that we’ve read all of the reviews of the restaurant and will use this as a starting point to improving the restaurant. With our background in the restaurant industry we feel confident that the service and quality of product that we serve will improve.

We are hoping to bring energy and consistency to all that we do in the restaurant. I hope that if you are in the area you would be willing to give us another try.

Although we can’t change the experience that you had, we want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of the restaurant and we would welcome the opportunity to meet and surpass your expectations when it comes to dining in the Cavendish area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Restaurant also viewed

Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing