We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt Like Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cavendish
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Felt Like Home”
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We really enjoyed our late-season stay at the Kindred Spirits. Our two-bedroom cottage was beautiful -- modern, nicely furnished, very clean. The breakfast was outstanding. The main course changes daily, and was unique and delicious. The staff couldn't have been friendlier. We sought sightseeing advice on several occasions. Location was also perfect, walking distance to the Green Gables National Historic Site. We highly recommend the Kindred Spirits.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Oscardavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    83
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
145
173
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

My husband and I recently returned from our 3 day stay in Cavendish. Kindred Spirits helped arrange the "Anne" package for us...we loved it! The musical, the visits to each of the homes and museums...being able to stroll over to Green Gables...this was the perfect spot for us. They even upgraded our room for us when we arrived...wish we'd had more family with us to enjoy it. The splendid country breakfasts and the cozy 9:00 p.m. gathering for tea and cookies were a delight! We'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank faithfulandtrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We found Kindred Spirits in a PEI tourism guide. It looked just right in the guide. And we are so happy we stayed there. It is such a beautiful setting with lovely comfortable accommodations. Lots to do on the grounds for the whole family. The breakfasts in the Inn were truly gourmet. And we loved the nightly tea and fresh baked cookies in the parlor at 9pm each evening. Guests meet and exchange touring and golfing info in a delightful setting. The on-site owners and all of the staff were so welcoming and helpful; we could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kamcog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We came for the Anne of Green Gables Package. Just Awesome! Let's just say that Anne fans will love it! Tickets to the musicals in both Charlottetown and Summerside, Anne hat and wig, books, entrance to Anne museums and parks, free Cows ice cream. The Matthew's Carriage ride from the Anne of Green Gables Museum along the Lake of Shining Waters down to the shore was absolutely delightful. My wife and I came here during our 35th year of marriage...the accommodations and package were absolute balm to the soul. Lovely hosts, spacious cottages, gourmet breakfast, large tree-shaded grounds, swimming, playground, volleyball, rec centre, tea and cookies at nine. North shore beach and dunes nearby. We just couldn't do it all in three days. We will have to come back again. Probably the finest place in PEI to kick back and relax.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlechicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2009

My wife Kathy and I spent two nights in Cavendish PEI at Kindred Spirts and it was amazing. Located in the heart of Cavendish, on Memory Lane (how great is that), it greatly exceeded our expectations. Owned and operated by Al and Sharon James, I came across the property while reviewing PEI tourism and phoned to inquire about the particulars. After speaking with their daughter-in-law Becky (who's enthusiasm made the decision easy) we booked the two night romance package. The accomodations were superb, the staff extremely friendly and the attention to detail was incredible. Our executive room included a chilled beverage, chocolates and two fluffy white robes. Our package included a homemade country breakfast daily, a chowder lunch, admission to local attractions and a picnic lunch. Bonuses included written detailed suggested day trips, complete with a map highlighting specific routes to get to these attractions. The day we left following checkout we picked up our picnic lunch which consisted of fresh baguette, meats, pastries, beverages, veggies, fruit and more and was delightful. we would highly recommend Kindred Spirits to anyone visiting the Cavendish area. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

We stayed here for two nights on their Memory Lane Romance Pkg. What a treat!! The large cottage was clean, bright and very well equipped. We got EVERYTHING that was advertised (and more)!! The welcome was a PEI welcome with the chilled drink still in the ice, the owners were actually visible and talking to the guests over the superb country bkfts., the chowder dinner (included) at Rachel's was excellent so we went back for dinner the next night, our picnic basket was a pleasant surprise with all sorts of goodies and we were loaned the park pass so we could enjoy Cavendish Beach! We chose to upgrade but it IS still an excellent deal!!! PS We even had coupons for COWS and that was great to eat while roaming the waterfront in Charlottetown!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabinescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

After having difficulty finding any place of interest to stay on PEI, we settled on Kindred Spirits as a result of a recommendation from friends. We were not disappointed. The grounds are pleasing, the inn and its cottages are well set off from the main highway (Rte 6) so it's quiet and not part of the disneyland-like atmosphere nearby, and the place is kept clean and attractive. They offered free passes to the national parks (for the beaches), which was great. The grounds did not feel crowded like many others we saw. As typical in "Anne of Green Gables" territory, there are antiques, quilts and teacups in the main inn and dining room for decor but it's not stuffy or overdone. We found the staff pleasant and helpful. Our room (an "executive" one) was spacious and clean, and it had a jacuzzi. A few nits: the TV was small, especially for the size of the room, and our remote was malfunctioning; and to use the jacuzzi for a shower was inconvenient, as there was no soap dish nor anything useful for showering at standing height. (It would also pose a safety hazard for anyone with balance issues or if anyone showering happened to slip.) The daily breakfasts were buffet style, with one hot item, fresh fruit, breads and cereal offered. Overall, it was a pleasant experience and we concluded it was better than many alternatives in the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavendish
0.5 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
21.4 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
702 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
396 reviews
21.2 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Resort at Cavendish Corner
Resort at Cavendish Corner
#5 of 8 in Cavendish
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages

Property: Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
Address: 46 Memory Lane, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Cavendish
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Cavendish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kindred Spirits is a four-star, family owned and operated country resort. Located beside Anne of Green Gables House, and only 800-m from the beach, we are in the heart of Cavendish. We offer such amenities as a heated-salt water pool, hot tub, games room, and fitness centre. With our quaint inn, beautiful gatehouse and well-appointed cottages, we have something to suit all needs. We would love to have you come and visit us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kindred Spirits Country Inn And Cottages
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages Hotel Cavendish
Country Inn Cavendish
Cavendish Country Inn
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages Cavendish, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing