We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay in PEI”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cavendish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cavendish Beach Cottages
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must stay in PEI”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. After driving around the Cavendish area for days I can tell you this, you will not find nicer cottages so close to the beach. They are either extremely old and beat up, or they're nowhere near the beach and probably cost twice as much. These cottages are immaculate, well maintained, and the kitchen area and grill on the deck are very clutch if you don't want to eat out every day. The owners are extremely helpful and friendly. On our first day the woman directed us to a grocery store, gas station and breakfast joint all within about 10 feet of each other. The only thing I will advise, and its not a flaw more like an FYI- if you can, get a cottage that has a full bath. We stayed in one with just a shower and it was TINY TINY. If you are staying in Cavendish, you really will love it here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hkni61111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We stayed at Cavendish Beach Cottages on our tour of the Maritimes. We stayed in the type A cottages and had plenty of room for the three of us.
We went deep sea fishing in North Rustico and caught a ton of fish, so we enjoyed having the kitchen and barbeque to use.
The best part was having the beach right across the road. One morning we had the beach all to ourselves (heavenly).
There are laundry facilities and each cottage has their own clothes line. There nothing like the smell of fresh towels off the line.
We loved it here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eskape96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at Cavendish Beach Cottages 3 times in the last 20+ years. On various trips,we rented a nicely furnished, 2 bedroom cottage. It accomodates 4 adults in comfort. In 2009 we got a one bedroom. Both cottage styles have a comfortable design. The lay-out inside both styles ensure that the occupant has the best possible view of the sea. The front decks on all cottages have propane BBQ and deck chairs/lounges plus a view. The cottages are well equipped. There was a good supply of plates,glasses,pots and pans, but to our surprise, we even discovered a small supply of salt, pepper and sugar. Thoughtful since even the prepared cottage-stayer can overlook packing such things. The appliances are new and well maintained. The cottage was spotlessly clean.
All the cottage styles have a view.The 1 bedroom cottage was well furnished. It was obvious that the cottages are well maintained. Remarkably there are no signs of wear and tear. So they must keep up with new paint and repair etc.
The property is beautifully maintained. The location of this property is special. The property lawns abut the national park, literally. The unobscured view of the sea and the view of the rolling farmland makes a beautiful pastoral setting. The mooing of cows can be heard from time-to-time. It is quiet and out of the 'noise ' of the touristy part of Cavendish. One can walk to the beach within moments of your cottage.
Cavendish Cottages is a lovely piece of PEI from the past with all the conveniences of the present.
It is in an ideal location on the Island as it is an easy and always enjoyable drive to everywhere else you may want to visit.
I expect to have many more visits to this wonderful property in coming years.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Halifaxduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pei_dennis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Where to I begin . . . . our stay in this lovely home was from July 11 - 25. The house is situated in treed seclusion overlooking the Hope River. Our first impression of the exterior of the house was that of a quaint charmer that would be adequate for sleeping. After we walked into a fully renovated interior our expectations of an elegant & comfortable home were met. Dave P. (property manager), was there to greet us upon arrival and gave a fully detailed tour of the house and its amenities. Before I go further I would like to applaud Dave for his professionalism and attention he gave us as guest. When we arrived there were some items that he had provided to us so that we would not have to rush around to the markets. There was fruit, eggs and water in the fridge and some light snacks in the pantry. During the course of our stay we had a couple of visits from Dave to make sure we were okay and if there was anything that we needed. Along with his visits he brought gifts such as a pie from a local restaurant and on another occasion he brought a bottle of wine from an island winery. Other property managers should take a lesson from Dave! Making sure our needs were met and bringing gifts is something that most are not accustomed too. Okay, back to the house.
The main floor consist of the kitchen, dining room, living room and master bedroom. Wood floors throughout, except for the stairs. A deck at the backyard overlooks the Hope River and is an excellent plact to enjoy a glass of wine with friends. For a full description of the house please refer to their website, just google "Cavendish House Prince Edward Island". A friend traveling with us had some challenges going up & down stairs so the Master on the main floor was ideal!! Downstairs were 3 more bedrooms and 2 full bathrooms. One of the rooms was a junior suite that consisted of one of the bathrooms. Also downstairs was another living room. IT is a great place to relax & unwind or a place for the kids to play while the adults are upstairs. All rooms consist of VERY comfortable queen beds, dressers and nightstands. The junior suite has a sliding door to access the backyard and hot tub . . . that's right, I said hot tub!!!
Overall the Cavendish House (& Dave) added to our vacation on the island. We were able to have several wonderful dinners there! It is a welcome stop after a long day of touring the island or after a wonderful round of golf. We HIGHLY recommend the this centrally located home to all vacationers to the island. We look forward to next year!!
Thanks again Dave!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pei_dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavendish
1.4 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
1.1 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
0.4 mi away
Cavendish Bosom Buddies Cottages and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Resort at Cavendish Corner
Resort at Cavendish Corner
#5 of 8 in Cavendish
69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sundance Cottages
Sundance Cottages
#5 of 22 in Cavendish
224 reviews
3.4 mi away
North Rustico Motel Cottages & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Beach Cottages

Property: Cavendish Beach Cottages
Address: 1445 Gulf Shore Pky W, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Cavendish
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Cavendish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cavendish Beach Cottages is a small 3.5 star property consisting of 10 two bedroom, 1 three bedroom and 2 one bedroom cottages located on the north shore of Prince Edward Island. It is unique in that it is one of only a handful of businesses that are inside the National Park only 100 mteters (300 feet) from the ocean front and a sandy beach. All cottages have a panoramic view from their windows and deck. These cottages are reserved early due to their location and quality, plus a strong base of return customers. However June and September are easier to book (also early July or late August) and can be beautiful months to see Prince Edward Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cavendish Beach Cottages Hotel Cavendish
Cavendish Beach Cottages Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing