We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, centrally located”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cavendish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkview Farm Tourist Home and Cottages
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I rented a 2 bedroom cottage for a 4 night stay in July. We found the cottage to be beautifully clean and well appointed with a full kitchen, sitting room, full bath, and room to comfortably sleep 4-6. Beautiful water views and a working farm that my children enjoyed visiting. Walking distance to the beach in PEI National Park. Excellent all around experience...highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tela1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 62 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

We finally arrived after a long drive from Boston. The cottage is simply gorgeous, the views are divine, the space is wonderful and all the amenities are at our fingertips. The walk to the beach was great as was the time spent in the barn milking the cows and playing with the calves and kittens. The MacNeills are a lovely family who are very patient and caring and were just fantastic to be a part of our wonderment at the entire dairy process. It is so peaceful here and scenic, I too can imagine writing the great novel and taking inspiration as did Lucy M Montgomery. I now want to buy real estate here!!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank perth4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in the tourist home for one night in Aug, 2013 .
The room is comfortable, cozy and clean.
Dont worry about the shared bathroom, it's clean and spacious.
We had so much fun with the cats and milking cows.
only 5 mins away from beach, great location

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ciecieciecie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

From my first phone call to check availability to the moment we checked out, the experience I got while dealing with Eleanor and Alvin was nothing but the best. We happened upon this B&B in 2004 and despite the fact we were only passing through and spending the night, both owners made sure we had a great time. Even when I realized that I had to leave before sunrise to make my tee time, Alvin offered to drive my wife to nearby Avonlea to spend the day when she said she'd walk as I had to take the car.

Fast forward to 2013 - remembering how they went above and beyond for a young couple who would spend barely 16 hours on their property, I wanted to reward the effort with an eight night stay. We were lucky, a room in the house was available!

For those looking for an institution-like facility, Parkview Farms isn't for you. If you want to become part of the family for a few days (or more, or less!) then you will LOVE this place. We had a 14 hour drive to get there and Eleanor told us not to worry about ensuring an exact arrival time. Sure, you have to share the bathroomS with other guests, but I never once had to wait to "use the facilities" and only had to delay a shower by 5-10 minutes once. Staying there at the same time as we were was a couple ladies who have been visiting every year for well over a decade (if not two) - along with a few other people... we all got to know each other and had a great time in the common areas every now and then.

Our room? We faced the back which meant we could see and hear the nearby water. It had one double bed and one twin sized one. There was plenty of closet and drawer space for two people who might have overpacked! The cool breeze from the ocean kept us comfortable the whole week (with the exception of the last night - it was well into the mid-30's with humidity earlier in the day) but as someone who won't live without A/C back home, I didn't give it a second thought throughout 95% of the stay. It doesn't get that hot in PEI almost ever!

Each morning, cereal, toast, coffee, milk or juice waited for us. There was no lacking there. While some expecting a trucker's breakfast might be disappointed, not once did our breakfast see us wanting for something else until well after it was time for lunch. A BBQ was available if we wanted to use it each day, though the close proximity to Rustico, "downtown Cavendish" and other nearby towns as well as Summerside and Charlottetown being a short distance away, we sampled food from the many places in a 15-50 minute radius of "home" each and every day.

As for the grounds themselves, the guest house is smack in the middle of an active dairy farm. We got to witness the birth of a new calf and got to play with it along with two others born during our stay. Those managing the cattle were always eager and willing to talk about how running a farm works, and though I graduated from grade eight some 25 years ago, my wife claims I spent way more time than I remember in the barns with the calves, cows and barn cats.

A (basically) private beach is a 3-5 minute walk through the back yard. The sunsets are spectacular and the stars on clear nights are phenomenal (especially for this city slicker!)

To sum up, if you want to feel like a member of an extended family, see nature take its course and be at one of the best B&B's on the island (and I've been to many in Canada as well as in Europe) - with an ocean within a few minutes' walk away - this is your place to go. Oh, and the rates can't be beat!

We've been twice - nine years apart. I told Eleanor and Alvin it won't be another nine before we're back. We miss it already!

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms facing the back of the property - you get a great teaser of a look of what awai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike-nine-one-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I travelled through the Maritimes and stayed at at least 10 B & B's throughout the trip, this one was one of the more disappointing. The rooms and decorated outdatedly, with teddy bears all over the room. There was no air conditioning, which made for a hot night if there was no breeze. There is one shared bathroom for I believe 2-4 rooms, so you have to wait a bit to use it. Also, when we came down for breakfast, the owner was pleasant enough, but seemed as if this was the first breakfast she had served, she didn't seem to know what to serve or do. Was very basic, cereal and a yogurt container; not much compared to most other B & B's.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandywey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My daughter was absolutely thrilled to visit the barn everyday. The farmers were very friendly and welcoming. This is one of the few cottage resorts in Cavendish that actually has an ocean view... right from the front deck of your unit. We stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage, with one double bedroom and a second bedroom with a double and a single bed. The cottage is clean, a little rustic, but well equipped (reminds me of a typical Ontario family cottage). The best part for me was the 5 minute walk to Cavendish Beach. This section of the beach is not near any parking lots, so you basically have the whole beach to yourself, lots of fun and very beautiful red sand. "Downtown" Cavendish is only a couple of minutes drive down the road. Visit North Rusitco for a lobster dinner or buy fresh seafood at the North Rustico wharf and bring it back to your cottage to cook (much, much cheaper, Lobster $7.50/pound!). Alvin and Eleanor are very nice hosts!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarieH3549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is great. You must understand nothing is on the beach. That id all Federal park land. This is about as close as you can get. Cross a road and you are at the farm. They invite you to tour and watch the dairy cows being milked and the calves being fed. My daughters love the kittens. Walk past the barn, cross the park road, and you are at a quiet little section of beach. Because there is no parking close in the park it is fairly quiet and quite nice. Every rock and shell my kids found was a special treasure to them. This is a great place to stay.
There is a great bakery and pier side fish monger nearby in North Rustico. Lobster at 7.50 a pound tasted great on the bbq. My only complaint was no nut crackers in the drawers, but we made do. This made our vacation better.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nbrennan0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cavendish hotels
1.1 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
1.1 mi away
Resort at Cavendish Corner
Resort at Cavendish Corner
#5 of 8 in Cavendish
84 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marco Polo Inn
Marco Polo Inn
#2 of 2 in Cavendish
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Bosom Buddies Cottages and Suites
4 mi away
Bay Vista Motel
Bay Vista Motel
#3 of 8 in Cavendish
207 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cavendish Maples Cottages
Cavendish Maples Cottages
#1 of 21 in Cavendish
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Farm Tourist Home and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Farm Tourist Home and Cottages

Address: R.r.#2 | 8214 Cavendish Road, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Cavendish
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Cavendish
Price Range: $52 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy a fun filled holiday on our active 520 acre dairy and beef farm or stay in one of our cozy cottages nestled in the picturesque rural setting of Cavendish. Our tourist home and cottages offer you a panoramic view of the Gulf of St. Lawrence. You're just a five minute stroll to the beach and two kilometers from the famous "Anne of Green Gables" house and golf course, restaurants and stores. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkview Farm Tourist Home And Cottages Cavendish, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing