We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a well done facility.”
Review of Avonlea Village

Avonlea Village
Ranked #5 of 26 things to do in Cavendish
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A collection of eclectic shops and eateries in a beautiful heritage setting. There is no entrance fee.
Doylestown, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“It was a well done facility.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

THe problem with this is you REALLY have to be into the Anne of Green Gables stories. THe whole area dwells on the author and the books and I wonder in our modern society how many youngsters are into this. For a busload of mostly senior citizens it was a stretch especailly for the men

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dtowntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    127
    115
    53
    38
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Odessa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good time had by all!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great entertainment for the whole family! All three kids had a chuckle at the adults square dancing. The band played in the morning was lively and fun. Gotta say that this was a trip highlight!! See it if you can!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TML17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Fun- even for retirees!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Every time we travel to PEI, this is a must-do. We get there at 10 a.m. and do the full day, following the Anne story, catching the Avonlea Showband, seeing the various artisans.
We love the music experience and watching the young people as they portray different episodes from Anne of Green Gables. It is a comprehensive taste of the Island. Even though the musicians and actors do this many times during the summer, they act as though this is their first time and enjoy their character portrayals fully. These kids do a great job!!! There is a nice variety of things to see and we usually have to go back the second day to catch things we may have missed! Can't imagine going to PEI without going to Avonlea village! Watching the DVD and/or reading the book will greatly enhance your visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Coopster07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukaya, Japan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Highlight of our PEI trip!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a full-day outing if you like Anne of Green Gables and if you don't like the character or the books... why are you even here?

And so with my bias as a fan of Montgomery's works clear, I shall proceed.

The theme park is brilliantly paced with set pieces from the book starting right off when you get your tickets at the open. These sets go on throughout the day and are broken up with less Anne-centric events all through the day. This is THE PLACE to be!

What impressed me most was the multitude of talents the staff had. Characters doubled as musicians and artists of all sorts. One fellow even gave a lesson on oyster shucking. Diana was a wonderfully patient and talented square dance caller.

The kids loved the pro sand-sculptor the best and stayed there most of the day. He was skilled at his craft, a good teacher and he was super-kind with all the kids. My two sons spent the rest of our vacation practicing their new skills on the many beaches of the Maritimes! Definitely made for memories of a lifetime for them.

We all loved dressing up in period costume.

I enjoyed the musicians and storyteller best but the latter may not be the greatest idea for people whose second-language is English as his Irish brogue was tough on my parents and impossible for my wife.

Bring a picnic as there are plenty of tables in the shade! I'd also suggest some raspberry cordial and a bit of Avonlea cloth cheddar to go with it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fenrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Free from 5-6PM!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We took a tip from a friend and headed to Avonlea Village after 5PM when admission is free. Just enough time to walk around, get an excellent grilled cheese sandwich from Moo Moo Grilled Cheese and check out the shops and gardens.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avonlea Village also viewed

Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Avonlea Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing