We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free from 5-6PM!”
Review of Avonlea Village

Avonlea Village
Ranked #6 of 25 things to do in Cavendish
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A collection of eclectic shops and eateries in a beautiful heritage setting. There is no entrance fee.
Halifax
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Free from 5-6PM!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We took a tip from a friend and headed to Avonlea Village after 5PM when admission is free. Just enough time to walk around, get an excellent grilled cheese sandwich from Moo Moo Grilled Cheese and check out the shops and gardens.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    154
    128
    64
    44
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“If You're Going to Do Anne - Do This!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Okay, yes, it was $80 for the family as others have said, but if you put a full day in at any other attraction, you'd spend that and then some....and you wouldn't be welcome back the next day free of charge if you chose to return. Arrive for 10 and do the day with the characters. Take in all this place has to offer and pack a picnic...it'll be worth the time for you and your kids. The village is quaint, the shows are cute, the music is lots of fun. Best of all, it is interactive! Gilbert sat with our kids outside the village store to play crokinole and we all participated in sack races and relays. This is where you get to 'do' Anne instead of look at replica buildings or an old home foundation. Our kids are 6 and 10 and loved this...at $20 a head we put in a 7 hour day...this and the Anne musical we'd do again in a heartbeat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Fanookin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brockville
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Avonlea Village is a great spot to take the kids to learn the history of Anne of Green Gables. They have activities through out the day, dress up in clothing of the era for pictures, horse and wagon ride around the Village every 15minutes. Moo Grilled Cheese on site with excellent food. I recommend the lobster grilled cheese with bacon. It was amazing!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The day column not have been better! We truly enjoyed every moment of our visit to Avonlea Village. We started with a concert in the main building, attended several reproductions of the novel which were fabulous, and visited streets and buildings of this lovely village. The actors stayed in character throughout the day which was fun when you met them in the street or in one if the buildings.
We dressed up in period costumes which was great fun! My daughter had not read Anne of Green Gables but wanted to buy the book after this visit. We had people from 13 to 79 years old in our party and everyone loved it. Wish we had more time. Would have loved to follow along from the beginning of the day to the end.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NLcollette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun for the family”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was great to finally get out of the car (drove to PEI from Ontario) and our two year old daughter absolutely loved Avonlea Village! From the farm animals to the children's sing-along, we all had fun and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We definitely recommend this to all whether you know the story of Anne of Green Gables or not. We will be back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jklwally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avonlea Village also viewed

Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Avonlea Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing