We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stop and see”
Review of Green Gables

Green Gables
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.71*
and up
Green Gables Shore Tour from Charlottetown
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Cavendish
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Home made famous in "Anne of Green Gables" which has been restored to match the descriptions in the books.
Ontario
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place to stop and see”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We didn't get to see this attraction during peak season but it was still pretty good. Well taken care of and very friendly staff. I am not sure if there is more going on in the warmer months but I do think more interactive things for kids would be ideal. Glad I was able to see this while I was in PEI. Great staff- very friendly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank nizi02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    362
    137
    21
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canadian Rockies, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Do take the time to visit!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

If you are a fan of Anne and want to see Green Gables as she did, then you must find the time to visit this great historical site. It was magical and left us all just so much more in love with Lucy's stories!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank traveldays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
““Kindred spirits are not so scarce as I used to think. It's splendid to find out there are so many of them in the world.”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

L.M Montgomery infused so much adventuresome spirit in the little red-headed orphan girl that as a young reader felt I had met my own "kindred spirit".

Fans will find the trip worth it...from seeing the Green Gables farm house that L.M. Montgomery visited as a young girl and served as an inspiration for the Anne series to the Haunted Woods in the back. The visit is best geared for the literary fan who probably will be delighted by "seeing" what was described in the books. Interestingly, a descendant of the author was on hand and so bought a book to have it signed. The horse and short buggy tour was somewhat touristy but since came to learn about the house/see the place overlooked that.oh, and since bought lunch, had some of the cordial (sweet) offered with the lunch

any years later this character remains one of my to ten fictional favorites.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Libralaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willimantic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A real treat for readers of Anne of Green Gables”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

As a sixth grader, I read Anne of Green Gables. What a treat as a 34 year old woman to finally see the place that inspired the book's locale! You can take a walk along Lover's Lane and through the Haunted Wood. Also an easy trail walk to get to the resting place of L.M. Montgomery. Top off your visit with some Raspberry Cordial from the café on site. If you want to walk the trails, visit the house, and grab a light lunch 2 hours is plenty of time. We went in the off-season and the place was not crowded at all. The fee was incredibly modest in the off-season - about $12 for two adults. Overall, a really lovely visit!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank uconn_cappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“All the Anne of Green Gables Fans must go”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We really enjoyed walking around and taking pictures of this fabulous place. It was very relatable to the movie, which we enjoy. We went in June, not too crowded. A wonderful place to visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Createwithmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Gables also viewed

Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Green Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing