We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're an Anne fan, don't miss it”
Review of Green Gables

Green Gables
Book In Advance
More Info
$290.19*
and up
Private Tour: Prince Edward Island and Anne of Green Gables
More Info
$59.82*
and up
Green Gables Shore Tour from Charlottetown
More Info
$22.44*
and up
City Highlights Bus Tour of Charlottetown
Ranked #2 of 25 things to do in Cavendish
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Home made famous in "Anne of Green Gables" which has been restored to match the descriptions in the books.
Omak
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you're an Anne fan, don't miss it”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I got here in mid-September, and there weren't so many tourists that I felt overwhelmed. A small crowd and a delightful place. I loved the way the place has been kept true to the "Anne" books and spent hours reliving the days of sitting in a window seat reading Anne of Green Gables and all the rest of Ms. Montgomery's books. Great job by the restoration people and a lovely way to revisit old memories.

I don't think I'd like it as well in July!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karyl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    427
    158
    23
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fun for the whole family”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Really cool to see life inspiring art in such a tremendous way and the preservation of artifacts. Very cool, especially from a writer's perspective.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Never Read the Books, still enjoyed my trip!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Whether you're a Anne fan or not this trip is absolutely worth it. I was not planning on going because I heard that the fee was like $30 to visit the gables but a friend convinced me to go and when we got there it was only like $8 or something to go in. Much more managable. It is really cool to walk around and see the inspiration behind Anne of Green Gables and how real life truly does inspire art. Worth the trip, fun for the whole family.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to spend a morning”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Had been waiting to visit Green Gables for many years and it was worth the wait. It was great to see the inspiring countryside for the Anne stories and interesting to see more of Lucy Maud Montgomery's live and history.

The gift shop was a little pricey, but then I guess gift shops usually are. The staff were friendly all round the site.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RachJ75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Step back in time!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

For a peaceful and less commercialized event this is a lovely place to visit. We walked the Haunted Woods and Lovers Lane trails (approx. 1 km each and very easy to walk). The Heritage House was well maintained with beautiful gardens. Highly recommend a visit here whether you love Anne of Green Gables or just want to walk a Heritage property in PEI. There is a gift shop and small snack store, but not the main attraction and do not gouge you on prices like the stores in Cavandish or Charlottetown.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Gables also viewed

Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Green Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing