We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time ...Beautiful Grounds”
Review of Green Gables

Green Gables
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.80*
and up
Green Gables Shore Tour from Charlottetown
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Cavendish
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Home made famous in "Anne of Green Gables" which has been restored to match the descriptions in the books.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Step back in time ...Beautiful Grounds”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Traveled to PEI to see Green Gables - just what we expected - lovely grounds, some LM Montgomery history, interactive short film with exhibits, small cafe, house tour, trails and of course, a gift shop! The trails were gorgeous - winding gently around on soft, easy, tree-canopied trails, a babbling brook, and information posts scattered along the way. Lovers Lane was particularly charming and serene. The golf course encroached on the area -you could see carts and golfers at certain points along the trail. Aside from that, it was just what we expected to see and do at the Anne of Green Gables Heritage Site. It is no wonder LMM wrote about the beauty of PEI - we saw it firsthand at Green Gables.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSqueakyMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    375
    138
    21
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
106 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely Drive”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The drive out from Charlottetown is just beautiful! While the outer house is fun for Anne of Green Gables fans, the inner rooms are charming for anyone loving 'how it was back then'! Take time to walk through the woods and perhaps drive the longer way back along the coastline of the National Park.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank njschultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
237 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Nothing much to write about...”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We set out to visit the most popular attraction of the Island, the Cavendish region – home to the Ann of Green Gable, based on the fictional character from the famous novel and TV serial Road to Avonlea. The Heritage site was nothing much to write about and the only saving grace was that the entrance fee was covered by our discovery pass!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dinesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Simple but pretty. Glad its cheap”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Green Gables house is kept in lovely shape (and cleverly hidden behind a big barn facade so you cannot take pictures unless you pay). You can walk around the garden, or stroll through the haunted forest and walk through the house. But, that is the extent of this place. If you want to visit LM Montgomery's house (Green Gables belonged to her cousins), it is on the other side of town as is the cemetery where she is buried.

Nice on a sunny day, but not much of a grand Mecca.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank boilinginTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A must do if you are a LMM fan”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I felt compelled to visit here just because it is a shrine to Anne Shirley, and all my friends and family would be disappointed in me if I didn't, but it is a bit of a contrived tourist trap.

It was fun strolling along the paths that inspired the Anne stories, but the house, barn, garden, etc. are just built to represent the places in the books, not real historical items. I'm not sorry we went, but I wouldn't return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank prairiewheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Gables also viewed

Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Green Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing