We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Green Gables

Green Gables
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.13*
and up
Green Gables Shore Tour from Charlottetown
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Cavendish
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Home made famous in "Anne of Green Gables" which has been restored to match the descriptions in the books.
brockville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quick Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Doesn't take long to go through the Green Gables Village. Some excellent history provided. I recommend taking the hike through the Haunted Forest making your way through to the village.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    361
    137
    21
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Good Way to Spend a Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife had read the book, Anne of Green Gables, so this was on her list. It's a beautiful farm, frozen in time, with all the markings and settings of the book. There are a couple of well-kept walking trails with lots of educational displays to tell you about the native plants. The barn has several antique implements, and they put on interesting programs for the whole family. We met "Anne" and "Gilbert". They were charmingly in character. And, there's a pretty good looking golf course right next door.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank OrangeBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
163 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just like visiting with Anne”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Nicely done period home and farm building. Very knowledgable guide and enthusiastic too! Yummy raspberry cordial available in Butter Churn Cafe. Nice trails to walk...Lover's Lane for one. Easy to find and park pass gets you in.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Biblib3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“fiction comes alive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

It has been said that Lucy Montgomery's best-known novel was party auto-biographical, and it's easy to understand. The house itself is charming, small, and well furnished with things that I recall from my youth on a farm. It's too bad that there are no signs indicating the function of some of the items. Nevertheless, it was a step back in time for me. The grounds are beautiful, and there are several buildings to explore. If you fancy something in the gift shop, you will find the same thing in Charlottetown in the Ann of Green Gable store on Victoria square for quite a bit less.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SpryWidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“If your on PEI - why not?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We liked the trails that are relatively short yet still give you a sense of author Lucy Montgomery's experience. The Green Gable house was very small so no one was explaining anything and there wasn't much to see. The store didn't have anything unique or interesting. Then we got to the place that Lucy Montgomery lived as a child and it said we need to have a special ticket that we were never offered to buy nor saw where to buy. The walks do not have guides so you are on your own. All said though the whole experience and the great outdoors makes it worth visiting. There is an adjoining golf course to the area so likely much of the area was transformed for it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KC_travel_enthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Gables also viewed

Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Green Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing