We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Weekend”
Review of Fairways Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairways Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another Great Weekend”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Another great weekend in a brand new cottage. Thank to Sandi ,Scott and the staff for another excellent weekend. Quite ,close to everything . Cottage was very clean and well laid out. Plan on making this our Spring and fall goto place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brassie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairways11, Front Office Manager at Fairways Cottages, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you, Brassie, for your lovely review. We're very happy you enjoyed your weekend with us. We look forward to hosting you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
88
31
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed two nights at Fairway Cottages and would highly recommend this property to anyone visiting the Cavendish area, Sandi Lowther, the owner, was such a nice lady and went out of her way to accomodate any request. We were greeted with a bottle of wine, delicious chocolates and a fully packed picnic basket for a snack on the patio or the beach. Cabin 23 was a delightful home away from home and included wverything we needed, Housekeeping was meticulous!! We found the bed very comfortable and had a wonderful restful sleep while breathing in the salty tang of the nearby beach. Unfortunmately we did not have time to enjoy the carriage ride on the beach but will make it a priority next time. We did enjoy a delicious meal at the Olde Glasgow Mill Restaurant. the chef would stand toe to toe with any "big city" restaurant chef. WE also enjoyed a fabulous lobster supper at Fishermans Wharf ( great value with a 60 ft salad bar!!) and a quick lunch at Chex Yolande which was good home style cooking. On our last evening there Mother Nature supplied a spectacular island sunset to say goodbye. Thank you Sandi. We will definitely return!!.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairways11, Front Office Manager at Fairways Cottages, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you, Cheryl, for that lovely review. And isn't that salad bar just amazing?? Lol. So glad you enjoyed your romance package!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MamaCMamaC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have stayed at Fairways 3 prior times and are excited to be returning this summer!
Units are well maintained and immaculate! Staff are extremely friendly! Scott and Sandi could not be better hosts! Great information on a variety of local activities, restaurants etc! They even have outdoor lobster and mussel pots with all the needed accessories and the mess is taken away for you!!!
We had a very embarrassing issue our first stay with our two very young girls, the staff will probably never forget as well! Everyone went out of their way to help us with this issue and made a very stressful experience something that even this crazy OCD'er could breathe through! Still can't thank you all enough!
To top it all off they are very pet and child friendly! It's a toss up between Fairways or Disney for our girls and that says a lot!! As long as they keep taking our reservation we will continue to return year after year!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaCMamaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairways11, Front Office Manager at Fairways Cottages, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi MamaC. Oh wow! Disney or us, huh? Now *that's* a compliment! :) Thank you for the lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed for 1 night back in August. We were delighted to see a picnic basket in the room with a bottle of wine on arrival + a list of all the things to do in Cavendish, inc. National Parks access. We rented tandem bikes and hit the ocean trails and went for a swim in the calm ocean waters. The rooms are spotless and well appointed, and I was able to watch some soccer on the numerous sports channels! Staff were very friendly and helpful and this place is the prefect jumping off spot for the many things to do in Cavendish inc. Anne of Green Gables, COWS, beaches, and not far from the North Rustico restaurant - the Blue Mussel with fantastic food and sunset!

Room Tip: All have a deck and bbq - great idea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mm2matthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairways11, Front Office Manager at Fairways Cottages, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you, mm2matthews, for taking the time to tell us your story! We're so thrilled that you enjoyed our beautiful island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
582 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This place is highly recommended. From the location to the service to the accommodations.
You're welcomed by the owner who is very helpful and willing to assist you in any way. The cottages are very clean and comfortable. Each place has mostly anything you need. There is a nice heated pool for the middle of the yard and it's location to everything in Cavendish is perfect. Lot's of golf course within 10 minutes and a 5 minute drive to most beaches.
It's perfect.

Room Tip: Book well in advance as these cabins are very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairways11, Front Office Manager at Fairways Cottages, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi Rick, and thank you for the review! We very much appreciate the time our guests take to tell us of their experiences, not only with us, but with the destination as well :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Fairways for four nights. Great location, friendly and helpful management, all the basic amenities for a good price. To the crabapple who complained about a hair on the bathroom floor, it is a rustic cottage, not the Ritz Carlton, for good sakes! Our floor was hair free and the place was nice and tidy. The wifi worked perfectly in number 6. We recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairways11, Front Office Manager at Fairways Cottages, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you, Marcia, for the lovely review! We're very happy you enjoyed your experience both with us and on PEI :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

if you don't mind someone elses hair on your bathroom floor, and in your bed (along with the stained bedding), or.. fighting flies for an hour or two, this place will be ok. I would NOT stay here again if they gave the room for free, it was so dirty. Price or a credit doesn't matter, travellers need clean accomodations, and this cottage we were in was very poorly cared for. We might have stayed an extra night in PEI, but this place put us off, so on to NB we went.

Room Tip: Pass this one by, and stay in Charlottown
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairways11, General Manager at Fairways Cottages, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We remember both of you well. We pride ourselves on exceeding our customer expectations and not only did we not exceed yours we did not, obviously, meet yours.

Despite our very clearly communicated reception/registration office hours, we contacted you by cell phone after 9:00 p.m. on your planned arrival date to find out if you were indeed planning on staying with us. You indicated you were and you were waiting for the Island Ferry and would be arriving very late. We suggested you dine in town prior to checking in and that we would be pleased to leave your chalet open with the keys on the table, outside & inside lights on, and we would be also willing to leave the reception office open with a property site map detailing your chalet location & would register you on the following morning.

You buzzed the office at about midnight, rather frustrated as you had indicated you had been driving around the property for a lengthy amount of time & could not find your chalet, but you hadn't stopped into the office to first check the property site map we had discussed to direct you to your chalet. You arrived tired and frustrated. Upon that first face-to-face meeting you indicated you finally found your chalet on your own and had found a hair on a sheet. We immediately went to Laundry and indicated we would be pleased to change the bedding. You said no thank you, you would do this yourselves. We then presented you with 6 sets of clean sheets for you to inspect to take to your chalet.

Upon check out two days later, we also provided you an attractive price discount for not meeting or exceeding your expectations.

We would welcome the opportunity to host you again and provide you an opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavendish
0.4 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
0.6 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
0.8 mi away
Cavendish Bosom Buddies Cottages and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Resort at Cavendish Corner
Resort at Cavendish Corner
#5 of 8 in Cavendish
69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sundance Cottages
Sundance Cottages
#5 of 22 in Cavendish
225 reviews
3.5 mi away
North Rustico Motel Cottages & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairways Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways Cottages

Property: Fairways Cottages
Address: 7420 Route 13 (Mayfield Road), Cavendish, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Cavendish
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Cavendish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairways Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairways Cottages is a family owned and operated business loacted in the heart of the Cavendish Beach Resort destination. We specialize in customized vacation packages to suit your individual needs. We offer 22 well appointed chalets. Whether visiting with us for a romantic get-away, a family reunion, cycling & hiking, a golf vacation, a corporate meeting or retreat, theatre and dining or for some much needed rest and relaxation at our world famous beaches, we guarantee you a superior experience. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fairways Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways Cottages Cavendish, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing