We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Quiet Room Set in Beautiful Grounds”
Review of Bay Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Vista Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cavendish
Certificate of Excellence
Port Williams, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean, Quiet Room Set in Beautiful Grounds”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Years ago we stayed here. Since that time a lot of renovations and updates have been done to the grounds and motel. The room was spotlessly clean. Large windows open wide. Lots of srotage space. There is a complimentary breakfast which we didn't have, only because we had made other plans. There was no coffee maker in the room, though. A hot drink in the evening or before the diningroom opened in the morning would have been nice.
A downside of our experience was that there were smokers outside our room and the wind was such that the smoke drifted right in. That was hard on my old lungs. Maybe a covered area where smokers could go would be a better idea.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 814Eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    62
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
77
74
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was our first trip to PEI and we loved everything about it!! Bay Vista is a wonderful place to stay! The rooms were spotless, and the maid service impeccable! The staff are all very friendly, helpful and accommodating!! The breakfast is basic, but really all you need for a quick breakfast!!! One morning we wanted a bigger breakfast so went out to a restaurant, but for a free breakfast all you need is toast, cereal, juice and coffee! No complaints here!! We loved it so much we stayed an extra night and are already planning on going back next year! We were travelling with 2 kids (3 & 4) years old, so the park and huge play area were great for getting out all their energy. The pool was always clean and nice and warm on a couple cool days we had!!! Overall 5 star place to stay!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valjs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here many years ago. This summer I went back and it's just as lovely. It's in a great place. It has a beautiful view. The owner is very accommodating. They loan you free National Park passes.
One complaint is the breakfast. It's nice to offer but the bread was in bags and everyone just reached in and got theirs. Not very sanitary. Another problem, our last night, a very large family came in and were next to us. They stayed outside smoking on the porch until late in the night. We couldn't leave our windows open, and their extreme noise made it difficult to sleep. Unfortunately Prince Edward Island is not as pristine as it once was...I don't know if building that bridge was such a good idea.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hchilek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bay Vista for two nights in July. It was my first trip to PEI and I am totally in love with the island. The stay was even more wonderful because we stayed at Bay Vista. The place is spotless, the grounds are gorgeous, and the staff and owner are the warmest hosts you will find anywhere. We were treated every morning to a wonderful breakfast by the owner himself who was more than willing to help us plan our day. He is just a wealth of information about PEI and sincerely loves to share his knowledge. Also the rates are very affordable and we were there during the high season. There is a great play area for the children also and a view of local oyster beds. Let me just say that on my next trip, and there will be a next trip, we will be staying here again and hopefully for a longer time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsf718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Room 32 is above the breakfast room. It is enormous and well worth the up-charge. There is plenty of room to spread out. You could put a young family in this room easily. There is a sink and microwave and mini fridge. It could use a burner or oven to make meals but there is a bbq close by.
Breakfast is adequate. It's a bit dull after the first time. The coffee is good though.
The location is excellent..

Room Tip: Room 32. See my review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was our second stay at the Bay Vista Motel, and I have no doubt that we will stay here again and again! The service at this place is above and beyond. The rooms are incredibly clean, the property is well maintained, and breakfast is the best (probably my favourite part lol). We love that it's the kind of place where we don't feel like we can't just hang out for the day. We arrived on Friday afternoon, had a swim and the kids played in the yard until dinner. On Saturday, after a lovely breakfast, we all played in the yard until we set off for the day! With a fridge in the room, we were able to stock up on groceries so that we could come back for our lunch (we were spending the day in Cavendish). When we did arrive back for lunch, the room had been cleaned, and our children's stuffed animals were arranged neatly on the pillows, which the kids loved! I really can't say enough good stuff about the Bay Vista and it's very caring staff. They are obviously very proud of their establishment, and it really shows. BEST PLACE EVER.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hvkdswilltrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at Bay Vistas motel. Initially, we booked for one night, but extended our stay for a second night.

The motel is very clean and it is clear the owners care about keeping the space well maintained. My biggest issue was the use of bed spreads. Personally, I prefer bedding that is laundered after every guest to decorative coverings that are difficult to clean.

The bed and pillows were comfy and seemed quite new.

Breakfast was pleasant and offered breads, fruit salad, oatmeal, cereals, etc. We brought our own gluten-free bread (from the store down the road) as this worked best for my children.

There is a good-sized heated swimming pool and a very large yard that is great for children. There are several play houses and lots of toys for kids and adults.

This motel was a great find and we will return again on our next trip. It is very calm and relaxing which is a nice break from the chaos of travelling.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gogojanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavendish
2.5 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
2.9 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
12.3 mi away
Brackley Beach North Winds
Brackley Beach North Winds
#1 of 2 in Brackley Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.8 mi away
Silverwood Motel
Silverwood Motel
#3 of 8 in Cavendish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Vista Motel

Property: Bay Vista Motel
Address: 9517 Cavendish Rd | Bayview, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island C0A 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Cavendish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Cavendish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Vista Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than 30 years our motel has been serving the Cavendish area. Our large property, convenient location and breath taking views have been attracting families and friends from all over the world. To ensure you have the most enjoyable stay we have recently renovated and installed new furnishing to keep our motel at top quality standards. Please be advised that there are Pet Restrictions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bay Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Vista Hotel Cavendish
Bay Vista Motel Cavendish, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing