We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”
Review of Avonlea Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avonlea Cottages
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We Stayed here for the first time for 4 Nights, Check in and Out went smoothly,We stayed in Cottage #8 which is closest to main road, didn't hear any excessive road noise. The cottage was clean and had everything you needed .You just dropped garbage and any dirty towels out on the step and they picked up and dropped off replacements before noon. The playground and pool were good also.There are a few shared fire pits for bon fires. The 2 staff we spoke to while there were pleasant and helpful .We really enjoyed the location to all of Cavendishes attractions ect.. We will stay here again,It came recommended to us and it deserved it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caperontheloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 45 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

the cottage is clean and friendly staff. my friends and I arrived late that night, we called and let them know, they left the key for us. We stayed 2 nights there, but we have to move to between 2 cottages due to availability, the staff offer to move our stuff while we can go sightseeing. every cottages offered has bbq so you can buy local stuff and cook your own to minimize cost.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fdjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at Avonlea cottages in the past and loved it. The location is perfect and the grounds are pretty. The cottages are also nice. However, this time the cottages were not clean. I'm not sure if they have new staff or what the issue is, but they were dirty including dried urine on the back of the toilet seat, spots of something sticky on one of the bedroom floors and a spider web with a spider in it above the glasses in the cupboard. The bathroom also smelled because of the cloth shower curtain which wasn't very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tgw375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

we stayed 5 nights cabins were very clean owners & staff very friendly and helpfull
they never stopped working on the property from morn to night ,we really enjoyed our stay
its close to everything , the scenery is beautifull as well would def. stay again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hammti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have been a loyal patron of Avonlea Cottages for 10 years. We stay every year and I'm sure we leave the cottage cleaner than when we checked it! We love the location as I can walk to the store if I need something. The kids can walk to Shining Waters or Sandspit which is a bit more relaxing for me.

In February I decided to make my reservation on line and noticed they were already quite full. The cabin I wanted was available for the 3 nights I had planned on staying but there was a new policy. MINIMUM 5 NIGHT STAY! What? Everything was booked before and after the dates I planned so it was impossible to book for 5 nights. It left 3 nights in between that were free it i was not allowed to have them.

So let me get this straight....you want to leave those 3 night vacant instead of making money because they don't follow your rules? Then there was the cancellation policy. You had to pay up front with a 3 week cancellation policy. That's a bit extreme. I realize they address their staffing needs based on reservations but there is no need for that length of time. I know from experience there is enough walk in traffic to fill any empty spaces.

So we have moved on to Green Gables Bungalow Court. Sorry Avonlea.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trudy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This property does not honour its legally binding reservations and sends rude patronizing emails to you claiming they entered the wrong price and they refuse to honour a legally valid booking. Do not trust this operator, you will get a nasty surprise when you show up.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank Feyenoorder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed in two of the Avonlea cottages and we are so impressed by the hospitality and kindness of the owners, the great facilities, the beauty of the property, the convenience of the location (it's right in the heart of "Anne" land!) and the quality and comfort of the cottages. We feel so relaxed and had the best sleep in a long time. The cottages are equipped with everything we needed... And more. There is wifi, cable, electric fireplace, full kitchen with all dishes and utensils...even a BBQ. The cottages are well adorned with real wood for that cottage feel. Also the cottages are spacious and our whole family nestled in very comfortably. Lots of green space and fun for the whole family to enjoy their time here at Avonlea Cottages. Thanks so much Jay & Ting! You are wonderful hosts and made us feel right at home :)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ajorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cavendish hotels
0.8 mi away
Green Gables Bungalow Court Cottages
0.2 mi away
Cavendish Maples Cottages
Cavendish Maples Cottages
#1 of 21 in Cavendish
375 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Resort at Cavendish Corner
Resort at Cavendish Corner
#5 of 8 in Cavendish
84 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marco Polo Inn
Marco Polo Inn
#2 of 2 in Cavendish
28 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cavendish Bosom Buddies Cottages and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonlea Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonlea Cottages

Address: 8925 Cavendish Rd - Rte 6, Cavendish, Prince Edward Island C1E 1B8, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Cavendish
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Cavendish
Price Range: $89 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avonlea Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avonlea Cottages These quaint, cozy cottages contain all the charm of yesteryears, while boasting of the comfort and ease of every modern day convenience. We are nestled in the center of the Cavendish Beach Resort area, next to a large, popular, family fun park and within a few steps of many other entertainment attractions and amenities that include restaurants, shops, golf courses and Cavendish Beach less than five minutes away. The new owners/operators of Avonlea Cottages are passionate about maintaining Avonlea's original charm and character, while continuing to update amenities to meet, or even surpass, the expectations of today's travelers. A plan is in place to create and promote an in depth, children's games project that will provide health, fitness and fun activities for children, while adding other activities for couples and friends, in order to ensure that all types of travelers have an enjoyable, relaxing and memorable vacation experience. Many travelers arriving as guests, have found themselves leaving as friends and have returned, year after year to spend their vacation at Avonlea Cottages. Drawn back by the delightful charms of Avonlea, one such family has faithfully returned every Summer for 18 years. Many clients, new and old, find Avonlea Cottages to be an ideal vacation destination for the following reasons: Beautiful location! Very central and convenient to all Cavendish attractions and amenities Ideal location for family or friends to relax and enjoy vacation together A very safe, fun-filled, family environment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Avonlea Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avonlea Cottages Cavendish, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing