We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to spend a vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brackley Beach North Winds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brackley Beach North Winds
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brackley Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salisbury, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

The first time I stayed at North Winds was in the middle of a snowstorm and I happened on their front step looking for a comfortable warm bed. I walked into the Inn to find the owners having a game of cards with neighbors, right away they made me feel welcome and provided me with numerous sets of keys to view their rooms and take my pick. I chose a Jacuzzi suite, the room was modern, clean and cozy, the sleep was great with a comfy bed and breakfast was ample being that I was the only one staying in the Inn they didn't skimp on the fresh homemade baked goods yummy.

Room Tip: The suites are perfect for families staying on vacation, they have all necessities to make meals and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    71
    19
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
81
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Having just come from this hotel albeit at the end of "the season", I was pleased and appreciative of the service and setting, near the beach on Prince Edward Island, Canada. This appears like the old fashioned motels of days past, not high rise, with complete kitchen, and in my case, with a separate bedroom [no 2nd TV] that made for quiet restful night. Breakfast too was " old fashioned", with cooked oatmeal and red river hot cereal, with homemade cinnamon rolls!! Clean, comfortable, with Wi- fi, walking path w/ exercise equipment, indoor pool, "out in the sticks", but a peaceful, well-kept countryside of PEI. Highly recommend this unassuming lodging.

Room Tip: Only two stories maximum, but no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryeeMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray M, Manager at Brackley Beach North Winds, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Sorry for the delay in responding. Thank you for your complements. Very glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
408 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

As a part of an organized tour of the area, we stayed at the North Winds. It's off the beaten path so you may need to search a bit to find it. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the grounds are well-maintained and attractive. They do have a walking / running trail around the property complete with exercise equipment, so if you are into that kind of thing, this may be the place. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The food they served was a bit bland, but acceptable. The real downer is it's so far from anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray M, Owner at Brackley Beach North Winds, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do take pride in keeping our place in good standing, and we have a great staff.
Sorry to hear you found our breakfast bland. We would love to hear your recommendation for what we could do to improve it.
We are in a rural setting, but just 25 minute drive from downtown Charlottetown (15 minute drive north of the airport), and 4 minute drive from the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We too stayed here with a Caravan motorcoach tour. The room was very clean and well appointed. The breakfast buffet room got a bit crowded with all 46 of us in there at once. The pastries were excellent. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the area. You will need a car to fully appreciate the area and be able to go to different parts to see all the gorgeous sights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerFromPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray M, Owner at Brackley Beach North Winds, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
We have made changes to our dining room that makes it more spacious, however, as would be normal when 40 plus people arrive at the same time for breakfast it is busy.
I am glad you enjoyed our beautiful island. I hope you can come again sometime and do some more exploring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

At first it looked like a motel-like establishment - not an Inn. Well it's not an inn but not a motel either. The room was large, with two double beds and space to circulate. Great shower - very clean restored bathroom. Breakfasts were included and served in a pleasant cafeteria-style room. Management also lends you a pass to enter the National Park for free - big saving if you go to the beach or wander in the wonderful National Parks of PEI.

My biggest dislike was the bed linen - cheap and ill-fitting. That was very annoying because you couldn't even sit on the side of the bed without the whole thing getting undone. You can imaging what it was like in the morning....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozincan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our family enjoyed our recent 3 night stay at this charming property. It has a country feel with many amenities more typical of larger hotels. The property is well cared for and our room was spacious and clean. It was evident that the owners and staff take pride in their business. The location is great as well. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agenda2785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray M, Owner at Brackley Beach North Winds, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you. Very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do take pride in our property, and are very lucky to have a great staff working with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
413 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

As we were part of a tour group, we did not expect too much being so far from Charlottetown. We were encouraged to find the room and bathroom was large with a pleasant view, 2 queen size comfortable beds and as we were next door to the reception office, lots of ice for our evening drink. Breakfast was a little chaotic as the group was over large so staggering our meal was the better option. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as close as possible to the central area (reception). It helps if it is raining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jin6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brackley Beach
12.4 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
#2 of 2 in Brackley Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brackley Beach North Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brackley Beach North Winds

Property: Brackley Beach North Winds
Address: 3828 Portage Road | Rte 6, Brackley Beach, Prince Edward Island C1E 1Z3, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Brackley Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brackley Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Brackley Beach North Winds 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rural property just 2 miles to National Park Beach. Open year round 13 miles to Charlottetown or Cavendish .We are very central with a delux continental breakfast included. Our property has a complete gym,hot tub outside,Sauna,and an indoor pool.We feature 13 kitchenettes with three beds ea,21 two person whirpool tubs units and all our rooms are extra large. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Brackley Beach North Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brackley Beach North Winds Hotel Brackley Beach
Brackley Beach North Winds Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing