We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out in the countryside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brackley Beach North Winds
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brackley Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We too stayed here with a Caravan motorcoach tour. The room was very clean and well appointed. The breakfast buffet room got a bit crowded with all 46 of us in there at once. The pastries were excellent. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the area. You will need a car to fully appreciate the area and be able to go to different parts to see all the gorgeous sights.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerFromPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray M, Owner at Brackley Beach North Winds, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
We have made changes to our dining room that makes it more spacious, however, as would be normal when 40 plus people arrive at the same time for breakfast it is busy.
I am glad you enjoyed our beautiful island. I hope you can come again sometime and do some more exploring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 187 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

At first it looked like a motel-like establishment - not an Inn. Well it's not an inn but not a motel either. The room was large, with two double beds and space to circulate. Great shower - very clean restored bathroom. Breakfasts were included and served in a pleasant cafeteria-style room. Management also lends you a pass to enter the National Park for free - big saving if you go to the beach or wander in the wonderful National Parks of PEI.

My biggest dislike was the bed linen - cheap and ill-fitting. That was very annoying because you couldn't even sit on the side of the bed without the whole thing getting undone. You can imaging what it was like in the morning....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozincan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our family enjoyed our recent 3 night stay at this charming property. It has a country feel with many amenities more typical of larger hotels. The property is well cared for and our room was spacious and clean. It was evident that the owners and staff take pride in their business. The location is great as well. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agenda2785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray M, Owner at Brackley Beach North Winds, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you. Very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do take pride in our property, and are very lucky to have a great staff working with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

As we were part of a tour group, we did not expect too much being so far from Charlottetown. We were encouraged to find the room and bathroom was large with a pleasant view, 2 queen size comfortable beds and as we were next door to the reception office, lots of ice for our evening drink. Breakfast was a little chaotic as the group was over large so staggering our meal was the better option. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as close as possible to the central area (reception). It helps if it is raining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jin6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here on Caravan Tour - rooms are large and updated. The included breakfast was better than expected - LOTS of freshly baked pastries and biscuits each morning, along with cereals, fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, bread, bagels, etc. The freshly baked biscuits and blueberry muffins went fast!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank purplemarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray M, Owner at Brackley Beach North Winds, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for your compliments. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here two nights with our Caravan tour and found the folks most pleasant. Yes, it's out in the country, but it's reasonable to assume that visitors will have a car to drive into town if they want. But this is the place for relaxing in the country, with bike rentals, gym equipment in a workout room, and a walking path that features fitness equipment at intervals! I can't imagine what time the kitchen ladies start work for the breakfast, but there is a wide selection of items such as hard boiled eggs, cheese, breads and bagels, pastries, fruit, and cereals. There is even a patio if you want your morning coffee outside. The office people were hepful in getting us on the Internet to check out e-mail. There is no lunch or dinner service, but there is a family type restaurant adjacent to the property.

Room Tip: We were in the unit that connected with the office...and the breakfast room. Very handy in the AM w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SpryWidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray M, Owner at Brackley Beach North Winds, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We recently stayed at North Winds for a couple of days and I was impressed with the cleanliness and layout of the rooms, especially with the digital tv and the air conditioning. The rooms were very reasonably priced and everything was so well kept. The rooms were so clean - something very important to me and I am hard to please on that score! We would definitely stay there again.

My only complaints are extremely minor ones: the breakfast, while very good, was a bit chaotic and I think the room could use a layout makeover so that people aren't getting in each other's way so much while they are trying to go to the different stations and around the tables. It might be worthwhile to extend the hours as well, so that everyone isn't trying to go at the same time. The other thing was the pool - we tried to go swimming but the water was freezing! My son didn't want to swim in it, and for him to refuse a pool it has to be pretty cold. :)

However, neither of these things would prevent me from enthusiastically recommending the Brackley Beach North Winds to anyone going to PEI. Friendly service, clean rooms, and great value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray M, Manager at Brackley Beach North Winds, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Glad to hear you were happy with your stay, and will consider coming to stay with us again. We have several guests who return to stay with us. We look forward to these guests, as it is like having friends stop by for a visit.

We are in the process of changing the dining room, which we realize we have outgrown. We currently have a local woodworker building us new tables, which will take up less floor space, and hopefully make traffic flow much better.

Our pool, we keep between 82 to 84 degrees, and for the health of the pool, this is as high as we can keep the temperature. Because the air temperature in the room is quite high, it does make the pool seem cooler than it is.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate the input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brackley Beach
1.3 mi away
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
#2 of 2 in Brackley Beach
108 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
10.6 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort
12.5 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brackley Beach North Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brackley Beach North Winds

Address: 3828 Portage Road | Rte 6, Brackley Beach, Prince Edward Island C1E 1Z3, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Brackley Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brackley Beach
Price Range: $89 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Brackley Beach North Winds 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rural property just 2 miles to National Park Beach. Open year round 13 miles to Charlottetown or Cavendish .We are very central with a delux continental breakfast included. Our property has a complete gym,hot tub outside,Sauna,and an indoor pool.We feature 13 kitchenettes with three beds ea,21 two person whirpool tubs units and all our rooms are extra large. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brackley Beach North Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brackley Beach North Winds Hotel Brackley Beach
Brackley Beach North Winds Prince Edward Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing