We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorites on PEI”

The Dunes Studio Gallery and Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of my favorites on PEI”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Dunes has become one of my favorite restaurants on PEI. The atmosphere is casual and relaxed, yet the servers are always very friendly and attentive. While some may find the menu is on the small side, the food is outstanding. I've been there many times before and I have never been disappointed. The food is always fresh, and is often garnished with edible flowers. The portion sizes are usually spot on (with the exception of lobster pad thai, which I have never seen anyone finish).
Overall, I love this restaurant. I decided to write this review today after I drove by the restaurant and wished it was open in December!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gxqpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    110
    13
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Facinating place to browse and visit, and marvelous food”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stopped in at the Dunes with a couple of girlfriends and could not have had a nicer outing. The food was interesting, innovative and fresh. The service was excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, New York
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unique and delicious dining experience.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

As it was a rainy day the Cafe was extremely busy during lunchtime so we had a lengthy wait of more than 3/4 hour; however the highly interesting gallery, store and gardens made the wait-time go by easily (we even re-visited the store and made some purchases after eating). The food was as excellent as other reviewers have said. My wife had the "liberation" burger (eggplant) and I had the lamb and feta burger. Both came with a fresh mesclun salad with excellent dressing. We both also had their special "rhubarb-a-rita" drink which was quite refreshing and delicious. We shared a very satisfying 3-berry pudding for dessert. Highly recommended as a unique dining experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A latte outside of Charlottetown!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Highly recommended by some friends from Nova Scotia, we had planned to stop in for a meal. Our timing didn't work out that way, but we did stop in to pick up a latte, and it was excellent. The outdoor gardens are quite nice, and the gallery is also very nice to visit. Worth a stop for sure.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andree59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A fabulous restaurant”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Menu, food quality, preparation, appearance, and service were all excellent. Arrive early to allow time to browse the art shop.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dunes Studio Gallery and Cafe also viewed

Stanhope, Prince Edward Island
Rustico, Prince Edward Island
 
New Glasgow, Prince Edward Island
Dalvay, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
North Rustico, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to The Dunes Studio Gallery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing