We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Waterview Patio with Great Beef Tenderloin!”

The Cove Country Inn Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Nestled on the shore of the historic and tranquil Upper Rideau Lake in the quaint Village of Westport, is our family-owned, four season inn. The Cove Country Inn is known as one of the grand old houses in Westport. It was constructed in 1876 by the Fredenburgh family who owned the local sash and door mill. In the late 1920's, the buildings were converted into the Lexena Hotel under the management of Alex and Lena Brown. In 1932, the Robert's family added the beverage room (now the Lounge) and the Tweedsmuir Hotel became the place to visit on the Rideau. As time passed, the hotel's ownership changed several times, but the late Dick Ready's name stood out as giving his heart and soul to the hotel. In 1988, renovations were undertaken by the Cowans and the Carvers to restore the Inn to it's original proud state. Today, the Inn is a special place for local residents & visitors alike to enjoy great food, comfortable accommodations and the best in live entertainment. The Cove stage is home to the long-standing Blues on the Rideau Series, popular Jazz Night, MUSICwestport and many incredible local and international artists. Perched on The Rideau's edge and Westport Pond, The Cove is comprised of 15 guest suites, a full service 200 seat restaurant and 100 seat patio dining in the warmer months. To compliment your stay at our inn, the full service Sundari Day Spa is located just next door overlooking Westport Pond. The Village of Westport boasts a variety of wonderful shops and warm hospitality you won't forget. The Rideau Lakes area offers great boating, fishing and snowmobiling on picturesque lakes as well as hiking, snow shoeing and cross-country skiing in beautiful Foley Mountain Park...all just outside our doorstep! Come visit and enjoy our unique rural Ontario town experience. We look forward to hosting you!
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were staying at a cottage in the area and decided to have dinner out and just happened to come across this quaint little spot! We did not have reservations but they had no problem accommodating us on the back patio. The server used her phone to process the order and send inside which was pretty cool. We had the special which was a peppercorn crusted beef tenderloin and the pickerel fillet. The juicy tenderloin was done to a perfect medium rare and was a good portion....almost as good as the Keg steak! The pickerel was lightly breaded and served with basmati rice, and there was only 2-3 tiny tiny bones. The service and food was very good and we would definitely return, as the menu has a wide variety of dishes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SALOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry C, Owner at The Cove Country Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2016

I missed your comments and apologise for that. Thanks for taking time to tell us your good feelings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 183 of 241 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2014

I have to be fair we went to this restaurant between lunch and dinner which I think limited the menu choices. Service was very good. The food choice was quite limited between proper meal times. My wife loved the soup and our waitress was very kind to offer her a "taste" of a soup she wanted to try but wasnt sure she would like. The food was just average. We wouldn't go back between meal times again. I would like to try the full menu. Great location if its a nice day to sit outside. All in all it was just OK.

Thank Spike1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry C, Owner at The Cove Country Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2016

Thankyou for understanding that we need time to recoup after a 300 person lunch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We arranged ahead for a reservation for thirteen on their deck/patio and they were ready for us when we arrived which was great. They have a limited menu but based on the comments I heard, they do a good job on what they offer. Our server, Rae, was efficient, knowledgeable and accommodating. being a long weekend, they were quite busy, but our food orders arrived in a timely fashion and as ordered.

There was live music while we were there (Sunday noon) which was a nice touch. If we have occasion to visit Westport again, we will be sure to return to The Cove.

Thank jesting2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry C, Owner at The Cove Country Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2016

Thankyou and sorry for not replying sooner Terry and mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Although the service was somewhat slow, the food was excellent. Always a reccommended stop when visiting Westport.

Thank garryho123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry C, Owner at The Cove Country Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2016

So sorry for my late response but thanks for your kind comments .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have been coming to stay at The Cove for a number of years now. A draw for us is that they have overnight packages that include meals and it really is such a treat to dine there.
The staff exhibit a genuine friendliness and warmth every time. It does get busy at times but they take reservations.
I enjoy a great steak and I am not disappointed. My husband often orders what is on special, most recently a Thai Curry Salmon that he raved about.
The homemade salad dressing is a citrus basil that is really good.
Dinners come with nice warm rolls.
Finger foods are always good. The loaded nachos are the best I have had anywhere, an enormous plateful, really loaded!
We have eaten at other restaurants in town but you can't go wrong with The Cove.

Thank Hamiltontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry C, Owner at The Cove Country Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2016

I'm ashamed to have missed this wonderful comment. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cove Country Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Newboro, Rideau Lakes
 

Been to The Cove Country Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing