We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most delightful staff and most delicious food!!”

The Cove Country Inn Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Nestled on the shore of the historic and tranquil Upper Rideau Lake in the quaint Village of Westport, is our family-owned, four season inn. The Cove Country Inn is known as one of the grand old houses in Westport. It was constructed in 1876 by the Fredenburgh family who owned the local sash and door mill. In the late 1920's, the buildings were converted into the Lexena Hotel under the management of Alex and Lena Brown. In 1932, the Robert's family added the beverage room (now the Lounge) and the Tweedsmuir Hotel became the place to visit on the Rideau. As time passed, the hotel's ownership changed several times, but the late Dick Ready's name stood out as giving his heart and soul to the hotel. In 1988, renovations were undertaken by the Cowans and the Carvers to restore the Inn to it's original proud state. Today, the Inn is a special place for local residents & visitors alike to enjoy great food, comfortable accommodations and the best in live entertainment. The Cove stage is home to the long-standing Blues on the Rideau Series, popular Jazz Night, MUSICwestport and many incredible local and international artists. Perched on The Rideau's edge and Westport Pond, The Cove is comprised of 15 guest suites, a full service 200 seat restaurant and 100 seat patio dining in the warmer months. To compliment your stay at our inn, the full service Sundari Day Spa is located just next door overlooking Westport Pond. The Village of Westport boasts a variety of wonderful shops and warm hospitality you won't forget. The Rideau Lakes area offers great boating, fishing and snowmobiling on picturesque lakes as well as hiking, snow shoeing and cross-country skiing in beautiful Foley Mountain Park...all just outside our doorstep! Come visit and enjoy our unique rural Ontario town experience. We look forward to hosting you!
Honeoye, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most delightful staff and most delicious food!!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I travelled from Upstate New York to experience the Rideau Lakes area for the first time. We ended up staying at the Cove Inn for 3 nights and we ate all of our meals there. We greatly enjoyed every single moment! We loved the food and the live music. We even went back a 4th day to have lunch and enjoy a band on the patio! Our hosts, Seamus, Mary and Terry, were very attentive and most accommodating. The wine and beer list is impressive and the staff is knowledgeable. We give thanks for finding this gem!! We will return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleLakesGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry C, Owner at The Cove Country Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, February 1, 2016
We enjoyed you just as much and are so sorry for our late reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    79
    35
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manotick, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Quaint little place for lunch with water view”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Have had lunch here many times and sat both inside and on patio. Food was good, nothing to rave about but nothing to complain about. Nice to sit on the patio on a warm day and watch the water.
Open year round which is nice to find in a small place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton Place, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We recently tried this place out for lunch after hearing positive things. The food selection was average, but was quite good and offered enough for most people's tastes. We had a nice seat on the patio overlooking the water, though the tables could have been cleaned a little faster and better. Nothing serious, just me being picky. The only real complaint is the lack of acknowledgement upon arrival. We were standing there for about a minute or so, having been passed by 2 waitresses who didn't even blink when I said Hi. That being said, the waitress we had was very nice and helpful. Overall, the food was good, the view was great and there was even live music during the lunch hour. If we're back in Westport soon, we'll visit the Inn again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brendan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dinner on our honeymoon”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Loved our dinner, excellent service, quality & reasonable prices. Great place to go for lunch or dinner. Beautiful place!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 28travel28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
2 reviews
“Great Inn”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Delicious, fresh food. Missed out on music night, so go on Wednesdays if you are there for the week on work and in the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank travellerrrr1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cove Country Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Newboro, Rideau Lakes
 

Been to The Cove Country Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing