We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Beautiful, but would not do again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Absolutely beautiful area, the place is nice. Spa is a great option. However, we ended our stay early because we mind as well have had a sheet for the door. We could hear everything and could not get any sleep. The room was very nice, but very tight. Will not be going back.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs and don't expect it to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry C, Owner at Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thankyou for your response to our family inn. We have improved many things recently and updated the rooms to make them more acceptable .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 129 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2011

So here's the scoop on the Cove. I was up in Westport on business, had to find a place to stay and lucked in with the Cove. I was truly surprised and delighted to see the place when I arrived. It truly is the place to be. Not only is the Cove party central for this great community, it's also an elegant and truly great trip back in time.

The rooms are NOT what you'd expect from a modern hotel. There are no phones, televisions are huge gracious bathrooms. In fact, when I checked into the room I fel like I was taking a step back into the 40's. The room was simple and gracious and meant for someone who wants a comfortable place to sleep and get cleaned up before getting back out into the incredible community that is Westport.

There was a sink in the room and a private bathroom that included toilet and tub. The bed, though, was THE most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The next morning I went for the breakfast and really delighted to have a warm and delicious treat.

The folks at the Inn cook up an egg casserole with onions, peppers and potatoes that reminds me of home. Sides of bacon, sausage, toast, fresh fruits and muffins were accompanied by coffee that beats Tim Horton's every which way to Sunday.

Yup, there's a sense of community and home that the Cove Inn exudes. Add to the mix their down-home fun parties in their lounge and you'll get the feeling that you've come home and are surrounded by friends and family. You won't want to leave.

I'll definitely be coming back next summer with my wife.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TBrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We've traveled quite a bit over the years and I'm constantly drawn back to The Cove. We were recently there over Thanksgiving weekend. As usual the staff was very friendly - if you need something or want to find out what to do or where to go in town - just ask.

The Cove has a hot tub and sauna (some rooms have hot tubs too). There are kayaks to use which are fun and of course a pool and nice area to sun overlooking the busy harbour. If you go in the winter - which is fun too - there is skating on the pond. As others have said there is plenty of shopping within an easy walk.

I really enjoy having a coffee or drink in the lounge and talking with the staff and locals. The morning breakfst buffet is nice not having to go out first thing in the morning. Another poster mentioned Thursday Jazz Nights - too much fun for all ages and other music - like the Blues series can break up a long winter.

Oh - thank God there is no TV or phone in the rooms.

Is it perfect? No, but close enough for me.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank l m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We are a hiking group from Ottawa and have been going to The Cove for years. We've stayed there 3 times this year alone. This is family run and it's wonderful to see the next generation joining in with the same welcoming and happy manner. The Cove Inn itself reminds me of a more simple but elegant era.
We usually stay for 2 or 3 nights to enjoy the town and Frontenac Park. A number of us also like to explore other small towns in the area. Westport however is the jewel sitting along the shores of Upper Rideau Lake. You can see the lake from a number of the quaint rooms.
I was somewhat reluctant to write this report as this inn feels like our own special place that we'd like to keep to ourselves. However we also want them to prosper so that they'll be there for many years to come. We're looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: If you want to pamper yourself ask if they have a jacuzzi suite available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rambler_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

The Cove Country Inn in Westport provides my wife and I and many of our friends with outstanding musical entertainment with excellent food, beautiful and intimate surroundings, and absolutely top notch service. The personal touch provided by the owners and staff far exceeds any we've encountered anywhere.

Westport is located in a very picturesque setting surrounded by lakes and parks.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Great Food and Entertainment ,But No TV, NO Teleophone, Room a reasonable size

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OttawaBoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry C, Owner at Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

We feel you will notice the difference when you return as we have done many renos to up date the Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is the second time we've visited Westport as part of a Rideau Waterway cruise. Four years ago the shops seemed cuter and the Cove Country Inn more plush. Despite a crucial need for updating and lots of cosmetic work, the inn is still in the middle of the action and close to the waterfront with its municipal marina (Fuel avaiable.).

Dinner at the inn was above average for the location; Breakfast was adequate. Try to eat on the outdoors patio overlooking Westport Pond.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayJayLoudonTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry C, Owner at Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thankyou for your good words and we feel you will notice a big difference when you return to the Inn as we have made many renovations to the rooms recently this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa

Address: 2 Bedford-on-the-Water, Westport, Ontario K0G 1X0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: $97 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa Westport, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing