We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”
Review of Tall Poppy Cafe - CLOSED

Tall Poppy Cafe
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stopped for Saturday breakfast. Table for 4, friendly service, excellent coffee and delicious breakfast. Lovely spot.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    97
    19
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food looks great, too bad we didn't get to eat!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I and our kids stopped by for breakfast yesterday. We found a table and sat for about twenty minutes. We tried to catch the eye of the servers but they continued to ignore us. We would have given up after five minutes but we have heard such good things about the cafe, and the food looked worth the wait. Finally we had to wonder if there was no table service at this cafe on account of the fact that no one was coming by.

Finally my wife went to the counter, thinking this was the way things were done here. She waited for a good five minutes while one of the servers chatted with a customer. Finally the server turned to my wife and said simply "Yeah?"

My wife kindly asked if we would be able to order some breakfast. The server said "Breakfast service ended twenty minutes ago." My wife asked if we could then order lunch. The server said "Lunch is in twenty minutes" and then walked away.

We left and found a great breakfast spot down the street. Suffice it to say we will never return to the Tall Poppy Cafe. Too bad - the food looked great.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic coffee, desserts and food.”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

cute little cafe, great coffee, amazing homemade desserts and great food for breakfast and lunch. Eclectic design and friendly staff.. definitely worth a visit when in Wellington.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must visit !!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

My family popped in around 2:30 on a Sunday afternoon. The overall appearance of The Poppy is comfortable, eclectic and warm. Our waiter served us promptly, the three of us each chose a different sandwich off of their blackboard menu, avocado bacon wrap(basically blt with avocado), chicken sandwich on ciabatta, and the pear rosemary grilled cheese. Each sandwich came accompanied with a large bowl of soup, tomato and roasted red pepper or the spinach and feta tomato soup. We all enjoyed our meals immensely and were satisfied with the portion sizes. The soup really filled us up!
It was a hot summer day, so we got 2 iced chai lattes and 1 iced latte to go. Our drink were a perfect close to a great meal. Next time we are in Wellington we will surely stop in to see what creations are blooming at The Tall Poppy.

Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Great vibe , wonderful staff. Rolled tin ceilings and walls in wonderful condition, photography exhibited on the walls. Eclectic collection of tables and chairs. All brought brightness to a gloomy , rainy day.

Food was great but not quick owing to the incredibly busy day!!! Really different offerings for lunch from a gourmet grilled cheese with salad; fabulous tabouleh and lemon chicken; great pulled pork on flatbread.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EPottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tall Poppy Cafe also viewed

Wellington, Prince Edward County
Wellington, Prince Edward County
 
Wellington, Prince Edward County
Wellington, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Wellington, Prince Edward County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing