We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great setting.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeside Village Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeside Village Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Wellington B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, great setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I've stayed here many times over the past decade, and am always amazed at the setting - right on the shores of Lake Ontario, and at the same time in the centre of the charming village of Wellington. Within easy reach of all the major wineries, great restaurants, and town of Picton, this is an excellent choice for anyone planning a visit to "The County" (as Prince Edward County in Ontario is known.)

The Village Comfort Inn's new owners have been very busy upgrading the property. Very friendly and accommodating, non-locals will appreciate the owners' advice and hospitality.

The motel is well-priced, clean, and well-run.

Room Tip: Plan on a picnic or cocktail down at the waterfront. Request room closest to lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davide32424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    21
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
35
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed at this motel last week with my boyfriend. Found the Village Comfort Inn online and read comments on Trip Advisor. Other than review by Selmy121350 (is this guy for real??) All the comments were positive and so they should be. We had a great time here. It was a surprisingly large well maintained waterfront property. The rooms were very nice and clean. The owners were very friendly and accomodating and allowed us to store our boat down on thier large lawn. We were also allowed use of one of the 3 barbecues on site and we even had a fire down by the waterfront on our last night. We stayed up late a few night chatting and drinking local wine in the large beautiful Gazeebo that the owner had just completed. We would have liked to stay longer, but we didn't book early enough. The owner graciously offered us the use of his trailer (I think he felt sorry for us as we were having such a good time) but we had already made other plans. We were very impressed by this gesture. We already plan on heading back with some friends later this summer. All in all we have nothing but positive things to say about this motel. We are already looking forward to coming back to the County and staying at the beautiful Village Comfort Inn. Thank you Kelly and Cheryl!!

Room Tip: All around great experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Village Inn a number of times over the years. On our most recent visit we were pleasantly surprised by the makeover the Inn has had. We have always enjoyed the large property and water front view but the fresh coat of paint on everything inside and out, new room decor and landscaping has made a difference to the properties overall charm. Our room was cheery and tidy with a comfortable bed. It was our one and half year old daughter's first visit and she enjoyed running around the large yard and throwing rocks in to the lake. You also can't beat the location. It was easy to walk our daughter in her stroller down to the grocery store and park. The new owners were very friendly and we enjoyed hearing about their vision for the future of the Inn. We will absolutely be back!

Room Tip: If you want to use the water front bring water shoes. The rocks can be slippery. BBQ on site that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I only have one night to spend in Prince Edward County on my next trip, so I tried to book into this motel. I was informed that they do not accept bookings for less than 2 nights on weekends, and in their words.. "We attempted the single night on weekends the first few years we owned here but soon found out that we were the only accommodations who were cleaning rooms all day Saturdays. Everyone we knew was doing it and "getting weekends off" as there was enough demand for it." I won't be trying to stay here again, even in the off-season. I wouldn't want them to have to work too hard, cleaning their rooms after having overnight guests.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere, I can recommend the Waring House in Picton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank selmy121350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

A small, family-run motel by the water, just down the road from "downtown" Wellington. Our room was clean and (mostly) renovated. The bathroom was still a bit dated, and the TV was old, but who goes on vacation to watch TV? Bed was just OK - foam pad on top of mattress, and pullout couch is OK for a small child but uncomfortable for an adult. There's a nice patio where guests can sit late into the night, a small swing-and-slide set for kids, and a firepit that we were told in less than gracious terms is off-limits unless the innkeeper is there. These are just quibbles, though. All in all, it was a very good stay for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gonin60seconds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

A group of us make an annual pilgrimage to Prince Edward County to indulge in good food & wine and to have some rest and relaxation. The location of the inn in picturesque Wellington, right on Lake Ontario is an ideal launch pad for anything that you want to do while visiting the county. Since taking ownership of the inn Kelly & Cheryl have made great improvements to the rooms which needed some TLC. The property has a huge grassed area which lends itself to outdoor activities, our group played croquet, bocce, frisbee, football and volleyball while we had a picnic lunch and sampled some of the wines that we picked up. The owners are very hospitable and always go out of their way to ensure that our stay exceeds expectations. This year they put a great bonfire on overlooking Lake Ontario and one of their friends played guitar fireside. The inn is a 5 minute WALK from popular Wellington eateries The Tall Poppy and East of Main as well as the Drake Devonshire which is due to be completed this summer.

We really like the Village Comfort Inn and the comfortable, well-appointed rooms it offers great price / quality to anybody who is visiting PEC and engaged managers / staff who go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schwally_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I recently passed through the area while on vacation, and I needed an affordable place to spend the night. I had a basic room, but I was very impressed with the cleanliness and the comfortable setting. The owners were friendly and helpful. I was told by some of the locals that the current owners bought the place a few years ago, and they have put lots of work into upgrades and renovations. This will be my new layover stop when I am in the area. A very relaxing place to stay. Money well spent!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Habs1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
16.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Belleville
16.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Belleville
BEST WESTERN Belleville
#2 of 7 in Belleville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#2 of 12 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drake Devonshire Inn
Drake Devonshire Inn
#1 of 12 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newsroom Suites
Newsroom Suites
#5 of 12 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Village Inn

Property: Lakeside Village Inn
Address: 349 Main Street, Wellington, Ontario, Canada (Formerly Village Comfort Inn)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Wellington
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, updated inn on the shores of Lake Ontario in the heart of wine country. Fireplaces, free Wi-Fi, cable TV, BBQs, gazebo, play area, fire pit, tree-lined waterfront lawn overlooking Sandbanks Provincial Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lakeside Village Inn Wellington, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing