We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, service, friendly and helpful owners”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeside Village Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Wellington B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value, service, friendly and helpful owners”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I spent three nights here last week (August 14 – 16) as a single business traveller, and I couldn’t be happier with the value-for-money accommodations. Owners Kelly and Cheryl (and house-dog Marlie) were great hosts.

As a photographer, I spend a lot of time staying in hotels/motels both here in Canada and overseas in Scotland, and I’m always impressed with the service in owner/operated lodgings. It’s not what you “expect” … it’s what is happily given, the “above and beyond” that distinguishes such small family-operated operations. My laptop doesn’t have a DVD player: Kelly quickly transferred the contents to a memory stick so that I could return the original to its owner.

The location is perfect for a stay in Wellington and the Sandbanks. Located both on the main street, walking minutes away from a number of small eateries, local grocery stores and the Wellington Museum. And their waterfront location is a great place to recharge and unwind after a busy day.

I have to say that I haven’t had such a quiet night’s sleep with breezes from Lake Ontario wafting through the windows on both sides of my unit for a long time!

Thanks Cheryl and Kelly!

I’ll be back in September!

John

Room Tip: No pool, not finess centre... but I don't want to pay for amenities that I don't need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    21
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
35
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This little gem of a motel was the perfect place for us to stay during our week in Prince Edward County. The rooms are basic but very clean and recently renovated. The outside of the motel is fresh and tidy with a new coat of paint and hanging flower baskets. We noticed that the caretakers line-dry the bed linens--nice touch, and a great energy saver. At the back of the motel is a green lawn, picnic tables, a play structure, barbecue, and comfortable chairs for guests to use. We enjoyed the gorgeous view of Lake Ontario. There is a little pergola-covered patio where we ate our breakfast in the morning. We brought a few dishes with us from home and kept milk in the fridge in our room, making it really convenient to get the kids fed in the morning. The owners are warm and friendly and take very good care of things. The only thing I missed was AC on the really hot nights, but the ceiling fan went a long way and we slept well. The Tall Poppy Cafe down the street from the motel is family friendly without dumbing down the food or atmosphere. All in all, this motel is a lovely place to stay, and offers great value and excellent proximity to Sandbanks and local wineries. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyOddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This quaint motel is located in the heart of Wellington, ON close to the Sandbanks and various wineries. There are some excellent restaurants within walking distance. You can sit in your chair and have an amazing view of Lake Ontario, but we took the stairs down to the water and sat on the rocks to watch the waves crashing into shore.
The room was tastefully decorated with new furniture, a fridge, a very comfortable bed and it was spotless - with a wood floor - no carpeting - an added bonus. WiFi is free and there is a firepit by the lake, which unfortunately, we were unable to use as there was a temporary Fire Ban in effect due to the drought.
The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cd89c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
159 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is a clean place with a terrific view. Wooden floors, and well kept.
stayed there 3 nights. Very quiet and friendly village. Some good restaurants nearby. Within driving distance of quite a few wineries. The owners are friendly and work hard to make your stay enjoyable. We are not talking Hilton here, but we were satisfied with our stay.

Room Tip: Get as close to the shore as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klodio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This small motel is located right on the shores of Lake Ontario, a few minutes walk from downtown Wellington. It's actually pretty good for a small town motel. The room was large with a queen sized bed, love seat and chair. The bed was really comfortable and there was free WIFI , lots of cable stations and a small fridge. If you want there was a barbeque to use. The only thing it could use would be a coffee maker.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This place was very dirty and had bugs. Owners and staff were confrontational when we reported the bugs. No AC and rooms were small outdated and cheaply thrown together. Overall a very poor experience and I will not be returning! I encourage others to look elsewhere for a decent visit to wellington.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuddy613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marley1998, Owner at Lakeside Village Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Dear Cuddy613,
It is unfortunate that you were unhappy during your stay but as explained at that time, we do not allow smoking, regular or illicit, in our rooms.

The bugs you mentioned were insects that fly in occasionally when the door to the room is opened - as your stay was in late summer. It is very difficult to control Mother Nature but we will be installing screen doors on the rooms this summer and we have changed the outdoor lighting to be less attractive to flying insects. So far this has worked tremendously.

I can assure you that our rooms are kept immaculate and are inspected every day. You had stayed in our last room to be renovated which will be taking place very soon. All other rooms have been updated with new flooring, couches, curtains, linens, etc. and more improvements are happening all the time!

We do not have AC but as there is always a cool breeze off of Lake Ontario at the end of our property, the rooms stay cool. There is also a ceiling fan in every room. Wellington's slogan is "The Coolest Spot When the Weather's Hot!". We also have a lovely flat rock beach front for adult swimming to cool off.

Best regards,

Cheryl Lilly
Owner, Village Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Assomption, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I'd like to start by saying that this place has just changed management. Reno's are on there way.
There is no air conditioning in any of the rooms,no curtains in the back window,front window has curtains but they are shears. I f you take a shower at the same time as the person in the next room you get scalded by hot water. the hide a bed was so old it was like sleeping on a piece of bread.
There is no beach,you can go down to the water but it's all rock,very dangerous for little ones.
Staff and owners are friendly but this is place is good when your desperate.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
11.6 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.9 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#2 of 12 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Drake Devonshire Inn
Drake Devonshire Inn
#1 of 12 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newsroom Suites
Newsroom Suites
#4 of 12 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
4.9 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Village Inn

Property: Lakeside Village Inn
Address: 349 Main Street, Wellington, Ontario, Canada (Formerly Village Comfort Inn)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Wellington
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, updated inn on the shores of Lake Ontario in the heart of wine country. Fireplaces, free Wi-Fi, cable TV, BBQs, gazebo, play area, fire pit, tree-lined waterfront lawn overlooking Sandbanks Provincial Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lakeside Village Inn Wellington, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing