We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Village UNcomfotable Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeside Village Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Wellington B&B and Inns
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Village UNcomfotable Inn”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

This place was very dirty and had bugs. Owners and staff were confrontational when we reported the bugs. No AC and rooms were small outdated and cheaply thrown together. Overall a very poor experience and I will not be returning! I encourage others to look elsewhere for a decent visit to wellington.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuddy613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marley1998, Owner at Lakeside Village Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Dear Cuddy613,
It is unfortunate that you were unhappy during your stay but as explained at that time, we do not allow smoking, regular or illicit, in our rooms.

The bugs you mentioned were insects that fly in occasionally when the door to the room is opened - as your stay was in late summer. It is very difficult to control Mother Nature but we will be installing screen doors on the rooms this summer and we have changed the outdoor lighting to be less attractive to flying insects. So far this has worked tremendously.

I can assure you that our rooms are kept immaculate and are inspected every day. You had stayed in our last room to be renovated which will be taking place very soon. All other rooms have been updated with new flooring, couches, curtains, linens, etc. and more improvements are happening all the time!

We do not have AC but as there is always a cool breeze off of Lake Ontario at the end of our property, the rooms stay cool. There is also a ceiling fan in every room. Wellington's slogan is "The Coolest Spot When the Weather's Hot!". We also have a lovely flat rock beach front for adult swimming to cool off.

Best regards,

Cheryl Lilly
Owner, Village Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    21
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
35
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
L'Assomption, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

I'd like to start by saying that this place has just changed management. Reno's are on there way.
There is no air conditioning in any of the rooms,no curtains in the back window,front window has curtains but they are shears. I f you take a shower at the same time as the person in the next room you get scalded by hot water. the hide a bed was so old it was like sleeping on a piece of bread.
There is no beach,you can go down to the water but it's all rock,very dangerous for little ones.
Staff and owners are friendly but this is place is good when your desperate.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Bravo!
Had an opportunity to spend 9 glorious and relaxing days at the Inn. During our stay we found the new owners to be gracious and accomodating for all our needs including other staff. The Property on the shores of Lake Ontario enabled us to swim, barbeque and relax on a large and spacious lot including all other guests.The location allowed guests to walk to the Village and enjoy restaurants, parks and beaches. The room was clean, comfortable and bright. As a frequent flyer to the County we would highly recommend The Village Comfort Inn in Wellington.
S + G

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank johnny155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Just spent a couple of nights at the Village Comfort Inn in Wellington in Prince Edward County. What a beautiful piece of property - right on Lake Ontario! Nice sweeping lawn right down to the lake where you can easily take a dip & cool off. As I understand there are new owners & they were very friendly & accomodating to us - we could bbq right there & enjoy the lake breeze. The location is very central to the beach & vineyards & also an easy walk to restaurants & a grocery store. With all of this plus great rates we will be sure to be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HammockHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

When we stayed, the new owners had been there only 2 weeks. It is true that the hotel is a little older, but everything worked and we were very comfortable. It is also in a beautiful location, with a large lawn and a couple of picnic tables that overlook Lake Ontario. We enjoyed take-out from the local Greek restaurant and a bottle of wine at one of the picnic tables. If you get to the village before the grocery store closes, the owners will kindly let you use their bbq. They have a friendly, old dog who enjoys being petted if you wish, but he doesn't bother anyone.
In the area, it seems to be the only hotel that is at $100 per night. Everything else, including B&Bs, are much more. Since we were only traveling through the area, we wanted someplace reasonably priced that was nice, clean and friendly.
We would stay there again and we recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mel024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Had to stop by after a long day´s driving. Surprisingly above average, nice, clean, friendly owner!!! Rooms looked much better than comparable hotel suites.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUT_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

We wanted to stay in Wellington to be walking distance from the amazing "East and Main" restaurant in town. My husband booked us in for our sans-child, anniversay weekend based on "All our rooms are newly renovated and have fireplaces, cable, fridge, and 4 piece bath". Don't let the website fool you.

The renovation consisted of thin laminate floor and a gas fireplace in a very tired motel room. We couldn't sleep because the curtains on the window facing the walkway were thin fabric, tab-style hanging from a cheap gold curtain rod that let in all the light from the very well-lit walkway. The second, high window had no curtain.

The walls were thin. There were cracked faceplates and a section of missing baseboard. The linens were the cheap "bed-in-a-bag" style that look great in photos. Nothing on the walls. No remote for the tv and no one at the desk to ask for one (our key was tacked to the door) ... and no phone to call the front desk re: same.

Tired bathroom. Ketchup-package-style shampoo. No tissues. One towel had a hole in it. At least the water pressure was good.

Definately a case of over-promised, under-delivered.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayakersue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
11.6 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.9 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#2 of 12 in Wellington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Drake Devonshire Inn
Drake Devonshire Inn
#1 of 12 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newsroom Suites
Newsroom Suites
#3 of 12 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
4.9 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Village Inn

Property: Lakeside Village Inn
Address: 349 Main Street, Wellington, Ontario, Canada (Formerly Village Comfort Inn)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Wellington
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, updated inn on the shores of Lake Ontario in the heart of wine country. Fireplaces, free Wi-Fi, cable TV, BBQs, gazebo, play area, fire pit, tree-lined waterfront lawn overlooking Sandbanks Provincial Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lakeside Village Inn Wellington, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing