We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good if like deep fried tasteless plop.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cynthia's Chinese Restaurant

Cynthia's Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #133 of 807 Restaurants in Vaughan
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good if like deep fried tasteless plop.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

This chinese restaurant epitomizes how you can take one of the world's great cuisines, cover everything in batter and deep dry it. You are 5 minutes from Richmond Hill where some of the best Chinese in the GTA sits waiting. Do yourself a favour and skip this greasy, no flavour excuse for a restaurant.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CSNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    21
    6
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The standard for Chinese food in Toronto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Toronto is very spoiled when it comes to asian food.
No other city in North America has this variety and quality.
Cynthia's is right up there with the best I've tasted. If you dine in, you'll be treated to quite the experience, from the special costumes to the excellent service.
In the end though, this place is about the food, period.
We often do take out and they never disappoint. Yes they are a little bit more than the competition but in this case, you get what you pay for.
I'm so lucky to live close to this Gem.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoscoToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible Customer Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

The food is good but the aggravation and service is not worth it! We ordered delivery and they sent us the wrong dish. After we called them and asked them to credit our card for their mistake and offered for them to come and pick it up they argued and lied to us that it was not possible to reverse a charge. They said they would give us a credit next time we ordered. When we asked to speak to the owner they lied once again and said that she was at the other location. When my husband called back 10 minutes later she WAS there and just didn't want to deal with the problem or an unhappy customer. Its unfortunate because we were good customers and ate there for years. We will NEVER go back - they were rude, lied to us and were very argumentative.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A Po P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wow -- good food AND beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

This restaurant is in a Toronto suburb. It's located outside a mall, but the inside of the restaurant is decorated like a Chinese palace! The staff is dressed in traditional Chinese clothing -- all very pretty. Some of the dishes are gold and service is attentive and quiet. While all this is good, the food is GREAT! There is a long and full menu, but our family ordered the dinner for four which included mini spring rolls, samosas, sesame seed prawns (the biggest I've ever had!), sizzling black pepper beef, garlic seafood combination, mixed vegetable chop suey, lemon chicken AND chicken fried rice. Total cost for four people was only $51.95. What's more, if you pay with cash, they will give coupons for your next visit.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank torontojudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An experience but overpriced for dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Eating at Cynthia's is an expierence, the atmosphere is great, the staff polite, but can hover more than necessary. The food is presented in artful ways but this experience seems to work its way into the bill. While dining at Cynthia's is overpriced experience, their take out is definitely worth the dollar-portions are plentiful and affordable.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KM321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cynthia's Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cynthia's Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing