We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow start to our stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Vaughan
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Vaughan
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

It seems to me there should be two people on the front desk at check-in time. Although once at the desk my check- in was super fast. On opening the door to the room there was a smell of cigarette smoke. I am very sensitive to nicotine, either a previous guest had decided to light up in the room or it was once upon a time a smoking room. The smell bothered me the whole time. Even my husband could smell it and he can't usually smell anything. Other than the worst Internet connection I have had in a long time, and I live in the country, the room was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIVaughan024, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Vaughan, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

We appreciate your feedback from your recent stay. Our goal is to welcome all our guests upon arrival speedily, and we apologize if you experienced a slower than expected wait to check in. We review all expected arrivals daily and endeavor to staff accordingly. Regarding the odor of cigarette smoke, we strictly enforce a no-smoking policy in rooms not designated as smoking ( smoking rooms reside on a small portion of second floor), and enforce a fine if guests decide to disregard. We do our best to ionize these rooms to ensure any odors are removed for future guests. Lastly, we are in the process of updating our internet speed and will be providing a much quicker service within the new year. Thank you for acknowledging the comfort and cleanliness of our guestrooms, something our housekeepers take particular pride in providing. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Vaughan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

595 - 601 of 692 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were recently at this Hilton for a weekend stay. It was beyond our expectations! Beautiful room with whirlpool tub, looking like it was recently renovated and kept very clean. Front desk staff was amazing. Restaurant dinner was absolutely delicious and the service was superb. This is actually our second time at Hilton Garden Inn in Vaughan and this time around was even better than before. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Great shopping centre (Vaughan Mill Shopping mall) across the street from hotel, and many other stor...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savvytraveller_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIVaughan024, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Vaughan, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are appreciate your kind words and we will definitely pass your comments to our Front Desk, Housekeeping, Restaurant and Kitchen personnel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn/Vaughan.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were there for a wedding. It was nice that we were at the same location as the wedding. We were not able to get adjoining rooms with our friends, apparently it is not available for 2 queen rooms. Called down a couple hours before arrival to see if we could get a cot, it was waiting for us in our room upon our arrival. Very quick check in. Slide was not open in pool area.
The only downfall, although it is not the problem from the hotel. We did not want to pay $15 pp for breakfast, so we looked for somewhere nearby to eat... nothing!!! either McD or Ikea!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdubeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIVaughan024, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Vaughan, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you so much for your review, and that you enjoyed your stay. Our pool is open 5am-11pm daily, with limited hours for the operation of the 2 story waterslide. We operate the slide at no charge to our guests every weekend from 4-10pm on Friday's, 8-noon and again 4-10pm on Saturdays and 8-noon on Sundays. We operate the slide under strict area bi-laws that require 2 lifeguards on duty at all times the slide is operational. Perhaps the next time you return, you will be able to take advantage of this wonderful addition to our pool! I am sorry that you were not able to locate a good breakfast place in the morning, There are several very good restaurants close by, including Cora's, Golden Griddle and Tim Horton's. Thank you again for staying with us and your positive feedback about our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This property is not up to the Hilton standard. My biggest problem was the Internet which was basically unusable. I did a speed test at about 200 Kbps - 70 times slower than at home. Most things simply did not work. The odd coincidence was that the door on one of the two elevators was about the Same speed - about 30 seconds for the door to open! It was out of service after a few rounds of this.
The room was smallish, compared to other Garden Inn's we visited, and even though we booked for two adults and two children, there were only three towels in the room. The room was a bit tired, with an old CRT TV and peeling wallpaper in the small bathroom, and a toilet seat that had to be held to stay up.
The staff in the restaurant where great, but the restaurant left much to be desired. I had to ask for a way to cut a bagel as there was nothing out to that with, and the waffle maker also needed three hands to operate as it did not really fit under the hanging plastic over the buffet table and also had to be held in the open position. Many things were poorly laid out so that they were hard to find, such as the fixings for the waffles, which my children certainly did not find.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Jon6254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIVaughan024, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Vaughan, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Jon 6254,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Hilton Garden Inn/Vaughan. We appreciate all the feedback we receive both positive and negative. My sincere apologies that your stay with us was less than satisfying. We have spoken to our IT Specialist to review and improve our Internet Connection. As well we discussed the the breakfast layout with our Executive Chef to improve the logistics of our breakfast meal period. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to look after you and your family.

Domenic Tucci
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Vaughan
11
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The hotel was fully satisfactory; about what we expected from Hilton. The roads in the area are intimidating for visitors from smaller towns, and the area is very far from scenic. Meals were good, and we liked the buffet breakfast where the main dish was cooked to order - a good compromise.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel about 4 times now, and its consistently a comfortable stay. The rooms are typical of a Hilton Garden Inn, but well maintained and clean. The staff and restaurant exceed expecations. Very friendly people, big smiles and very helpful. The food at the restaurant is VERY good - I've had close to 10 dinners here and have never been disappointed (breakfast is typical buffet but good). Would recommend.

Room Tip: Don't accidently click a smokers room when your a non smoker.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TodayIWoreRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIVaughan024, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Vaughan, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review of our staff. We are so very fortunate to have almost all the original, caring and attentive staff still with us since our opening in 2006! In regards to our restaurant, I am proud to note, that our Chef Fernando was a multiple Medalist at the recent IKA Culinary Olympics held in Erfurt Germany. We certainly appreciate the caliber of cuisine he brings to our hotel! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here during the Rogers Cup Tennis tournament as it was a very close hotel to the stadium. Check in went quickly and I had no issues at all with the check-in process. I was given my room up on the 6th floor and away from the elevators as per my Hilton Honors preference. Great!

Room was clean, and included a microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, and TV. Free wifi and wired internet is provided.

One issue that I had with the room is that the exhaust fan in the washroom is either very very quiet or doesn't work. Everytime I finish taking a medium hot shower, all the mirrors would be completely fogged up. I think I remember a note on the light switch that says that the exhaust fan turns on when the light is on, but there's no sound.

Anyways other then that, I had no issues at all with the hotel. Many things to do around the area including Wonderland a few blocks north Walmart directly across the street, two movie theatres close by and tons of big box stores including Costco to the West of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vaughan hotels
2.1 mi away
Novotel Toronto Vaughan Centre
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Toronto Vaughan
0.4 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Vaughan Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Aloft Vaughan Mills
Aloft Vaughan Mills
#4 of 14 in Vaughan
652 reviews
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Toronto Vaughan
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Toronto Vaughan
Courtyard Toronto Vaughan
#12 of 14 in Vaughan
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Vaughan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Vaughan

Address: 3201 Highway 7, Vaughan, Ontario L4K 5Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Vaughan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Vaughan
Price Range: $119 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Vaughan 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Vaughan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Vaughan Hotel Vaughan
Hilton Garden Inn Vaughan
Hilton Vaughan
Vaughan Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Vaughan Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing