We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rivals Disney World” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canada's Wonderland

Canada's Wonderland
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Vaughan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Canada's Wonderland is home to the most exhilarating collection of rides, roller coasters and water park fun in all of Canada. Located just North of Toronto, the park features 69 exciting rides including Leviathan - Canada's tallest and fastest rollercoaster. New for 2014, experience Wonder Mountain's Guardian - an interactive 4D dark ride. Kids can unearth fossils inside Dinosaurs Alive! - A seven acre animatronic dinosaur park featuring over 40 life-sized dinosaurs. Starlight Spectacular, a multidimensional light and sound experience will amaze guests nightly throughout the summer. On weekends in October, celebrate Halloween fun with Camp Spooky and Halloween Haunt. For more information or to purchase tickets for as low as $39.99, plus HST, please visit our website.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Rivals Disney World”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We allowed ourselves 10 hours in the park and it was still not enough time to get through in one day. There were several reasons for this: Lines were long for many rides (not all allowed for the fast pass), we went on a crowded holiday weekend, and they had a plethora of rides to make everyone in the family happy. What sets this park apart from others is the amount of roller coasters and unique rides not commonly found in other amusement parks. The size and quality of rides rivals Disney. They had shows and entertainment that were first class and spectacular. From cliff divers to their finale at the end of the night - everything was over-the-top. The water park had enough slides and features to spend an entire day at. There are a few things the park could improve on: keeping a bathroom monitor in the bathing facility bathrooms- it was chaotic and with two entrances, people often cut others who were waiting in line. Line jumping was rampant on the rides - something the park said was an issue for expulsion, but no one was enforcing it. The map that is given to visitors is inaccurate. We spent a good hour or more lost trying to follow it. So ask staff for directions - you'll more likely to get to your destination. For visitors, I suggest bringing your own drinks in a cooler - only plastic allowed. Otherwise you will be spending a bundle just to stay hydrated. The food prices were par with other amusement parks and there were many choices of cuisine. From turkey legs - fast foods to a buffet. The food shack near the Leviathan coaster had decent food and the Beaver Tails(dessert spot) was fabulous. By the end of the night, our family of amusement park connoisseurs felt quite satisfied and looked forward to the next time we could come back with a 2-day pass. For cheaper tickets, go online and pay ahead of time and save a significant amount of money and bypass the lines at the entrance. If you plan 3 days ahead, you could save even more online. Most of the park takes credit cards, but still have cash on-hand for those vendors that do not. For those with small children, I'd recommend a Single or double stroller(available for rental) since the park is so large. For those with mobility issues, I'd suggest renting a wheelchair at the park.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 411TravelingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,031
    867
    279
    138
    148
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great fun..but can be expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great day but the food and extras can get expensive. If you go, make sure to buy your tickets at least 3 days in advance online at the Canada's Wonderland Website (but figure in a $5.99 service charge on top of ticket prices) or better yet at Costco.ca (no service charge). You can also pay the parking in advance, but there is no discounts (just 'more convenient' according the CW website, a bit faster, but really!). Anyway, remember that if you go with a Season's passholder there are discounts for "bring a friend" that you can only buy from CW website or at the gate. Food can be very expensive and you cannot bring in outside food unless you want to 'dine' in the parking lot. There is a great waterpark but can get very busy. If you want to go on rides, go early and pick the one you want first and do them right away. You may find yourself waiting hours in lines if you go mid-day. Starts to die off after 6 pm.

In any case, if you plan on going more than once in a season..get the pass it is worth it, plus 15% off food and stuff in park.

Enjoy!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrylNiagara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love this park!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I are platinum season pass holders through Cedar Point, so when we found out his job was taking us to Canada we immediately hopped online to find out if there was a park we could visit, luckily we found Canada's Wonderland. We loved the park with it's two monster coasters and small size. Behemoth was our favorite, it's huge and has an amazingly smooth ride.
The only negative we experienced was dealing with the young employees, we ate at the buffet inside the park and were nearly turned away because our credit card didn't have a chip. The girl working at the register looked at the card confused and said "We can't take this." I understand a lot of Canadians have the chip in their cards these days but I didn't care for her telling us she couldn't swipe it instead of getting a manager first, lucky for her someone came up during the exchange and knew how to swipe the card. They need to do a better job of training because not everyone that visits the park is going to have a chip card and employees need to know how to handle that situation. During another visit we stopped for a couple of brews and while my husband was placing our order another couple stepped up behind him, the girl working took my husband's order but instead of getting our drinks she took the next couples order. This wouldn't have been a huge deal if she had made sure my husband got the first two beers she poured, she let the people who had been behind him take the beers. If I'd been up there I would have said something but I wasn't and my husband is too nice sometimes but honestly shame on that other couple, who does that? We decided then and there that during future visits we wouldn't waste money on beer in the park.

Canada's Wonderland is no Cedar Point but it is still a nice park for any thrill seeker.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikita Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Amazing roller coasters!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We visited the park on June 23rd for my company's Summer party! My girls were tall enough to ride all the big coasters so we had a blast! The Leviathan and the Behemoth are the best coasters there! The stunt coaster was a lot of fun too as it launches you out! Time warp was a cool concept although it is a little rough. We managed to get on the rides so fast especially after supper when I guess a lot of parents with small children left. We got on Behemoth 15 times and Leviathan 7 times. Can't wait to go back next year!!

The food and drinks are expensive. Three bottles of water cost almost $12.00!! It was a hot day so we had no choice to stay hydrated! They know you have no choice so this is why they charge so much! hank goodness I only had to pay for supper and drinks during the day since lunch was supplied by the company!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank achristinap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Levithan and Bohemoth are great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Levithan and Bohemoth are excellent rides. They are smooth and thrilling at the same time. However, I do wish people would avoid beer and funnel cakes prior to riding. It is inconvenient for the ride controllers and those that are getting on after the vomiters!

All of the restaurants are way over priced and the food is average.

The staff at the 50's diner restaurant are no all that competent. The manager (Adam) blew a gasket the one day we were there. Very inappropriate in front of other staff and customers.

On the whole, stick to the rides, avoid the restaurants!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canada's Wonderland also viewed

 

Been to Canada's Wonderland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing