We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food quality poor, Entertainment good”

Dub Linn Gate Irish Pub
Ranked #465 of 816 Restaurants in Vaughan
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Food quality poor, Entertainment good”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Recently spent some time at this pub with my significant other. We sat at the bar and had some appetizers, drinks and a show.

Pro:
Music is great and live entertainment always welcome
Drinks are plentiful
Ambience is good


Con:
They are quite cheep with the fresh ingredients for salads
Typical grease pit
Service not great: Waitress was not very attentive, and when I complained about the food and service, they did not attempt to rectify the situation.

I would not recommend this place if you are food conscious, but if you want to spend some time with others enjoying some drink and listening to live music, then I would recommend this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mozillatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DubLinnVaughan, General Manager at Dub Linn Gate Irish Pub, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. Happy to hear you enjoyed our live music, as it's one of our great features at The Dub Linn Gate Irish Pub.

We also work very close with our chef and kitchen team to ensure our food is at a level that everyone would be happy to enjoy. We are sorry that we didn't meet your needs.

I do hope that you can come back and try our venue again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    12
    3
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Canada
1 review
“Horrible Service”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Management is horrible and the waitresses are full of attitude. They burnt our food on top of everything. They judge you based on age and how you look. I reccomend Boston Pizza instead of this pub

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ariana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DubLinnVaughan, Manager at Dub Linn Gate Irish Pub, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to express your experience and concerns during your visit here at Dub Linn Gate. We take our business and customer issues very seriously. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your evening with us. In the future, simply ask your server to contact the manager on duty in order for us to assist right away. We hope you do come back soon !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Drum, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“YUM YUM!!!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed at a hotel in the area. After a bad experience with Dave and Buster's food, we cautiously ventured into Dub Linn's. There was live entertainment outside but we chose to sit inside. We enjoyed discounted martinis, perogies and chicken wings. We started off with a pound of wings and it turned into "keep them coming". I am not a fan of blue cheese but if all blue cheese taste like it does at Dub Linn's I would be hooked for life!! Martinis to try: Leprechaun Lips , Grand Cosmo and Orange Crush. DELISH!!

The service was very good as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMDubII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DubLinnVaughan, Manager at Dub Linn Gate Irish Pub, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Love that you enjoyed your visit !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but...”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

For atmosphere and beer selection, I will give it a 4 star. Sit outside and listen to some live music and drink cold beer and will be pleasant stay. Our error was to sit inside. Although service was quick with a forced smile, it was sadly inattentive and impatient as she would only say "yah ok good" and be off to the next table. When we asked about the posted beer special offered, she knew nothing about it and made no offer to find out. So we ordered our regular beers on tap. Just poor attention to detail. Next error, was to order wings in an Irish Pub. How could anyone fail deep fried wings, well sadly these did,freezer burnt flavor and/or fried in old oil. To top it off, when we advised that we would not be using the blue-cheese and would like a small dollop of ranch to hide the poor flavor, we were charged an additional $2 for two teaspoons worth! Again, our error was to sit inside. I think the live music and the atmosphere would have made the so-so food and impatient service more appealing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesGang2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DubLinnVaughan, General Manager at Dub Linn Gate Irish Pub, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We have since worked on our customer service skills and ensure that your next visit the food, and beer knowledge will be fantastic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
“Amazing Service”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Great place to stop in and have a bite and a few pints. The wait staff is fast, friendly and always smiling. Prices are fair, food is good and the beer is cold. Good place to catch a game or UFC event or just chilling with friends. Honestly, the best service I've ever had!!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DubLinnVaughan, Manager at Dub Linn Gate Irish Pub, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dub Linn Gate Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Dub Linn Gate Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing