We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Tillsonburg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tillsonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We were offered a special rate at this hotel for particapating in the CanAm Chevelle show and were assured that the car would be safe in their parking lot. We were completely happy with this place. It is clean, the beds are pretty comfortable and the staff - particularly Audrey - go out of their way to be helpful. There a quite a few restaurants close by and the coffee shop on premise is a good place for breakfast - reasonably priced with good food. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the back building on the right side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gowens56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojotillsonburg, Owner at Howard Johnson Tillsonburg, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Thank you for your comments and especially the comments about Audrey. It always makes the front desk happy when they are recognized. Regards, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    50
    28
    8
    7
See reviews for
48
33
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

The lady at the front desk was friendly. But we had to get a room on the second floor. No elevators to help the older or handicap. The room had a odd smell. I have stayed in better and they were even cheaper. I think I would by pass this motel again. Would drive on to another town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oneita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojotillsonburg, General Manager at Howard Johnson Tillsonburg, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you for your candid review. I'm sorry we were almost full when you arrived and we just had a few rooms on the second floor. A reservation requesting ground floor would have come in handy and solved this problem. If this was a problem our front desk people would have been more than happy to find you other accommadation elsewhere. We are 100 percent smoke free and I know that can sometimes smell different.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Generally on a road trip, I prefer the lower end of the motel spectrum. But of the 2 other places nearby, one looked awful and the other had no wi-fi. So I sucked it up and checked in here.

Everything was pretty much OK, except the bathroom light took about a half-hour to come on (when I called the front desk, the lady said 'Just wait a while,' and sure enough, 20 minutes later, there's the light) and getting on the internet was kind of a pain.

The room had a small fridge and a microwave, hair dryer, coffee maker . . . if that's stuff you appreciate, this will work for you. Since these are all 'amenities' I don't need, I'd personally rather find a cheaper, family-owned place. But overall, a decent motel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MethMouth88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojotillsonburg, General Manager at Howard Johnson Tillsonburg, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us a few kind words. We are a family owned business and been here for almost 50 years.Time does fly. My wife and I have worked together here for over 40 years and have a daughter and son in the business as well as a sister, my brother-in-law and my mother. Most of our staff have been here for over 20 years and also feel like family. Howard Johnson properties are all individually owned and operated and many are family owned and operated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simcoe
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

I have been staying in Tillsonburg for over 15 years in the months of DEC & JAN . I travel all over the World and I have to say The Howard Johnson is one of the best places for me to stay. QUIET COMFORTABLE & RELAXING . GOOD SERVICE and GREAT FOOD. THANKS FOR THE HOSPITALITY. GOD BLESS STEVE GAGNER CEO GAGNER & ASSOCIATES INC

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank assiniboine11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojotillsonburg, Owner at Howard Johnson Tillsonburg, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. It's wonderful to have people post their good experiences. It is us that has had the pleasure of serving you. For that I say a big thanks. God Bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

Due to an unexpected horrible snow storm we had to find a place to stay. Audrey at the front desk is one of the best I have ever encountered anywhere. She helped us with everything we needed and more. (paper plates, etc) Bravo Audrey !. The rooms were very clean, the fridge and microwave were a bonus so we could warm up our meal and keep the pop cold.

Thanks for all your help Audrey ! (you know who says hi)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynsey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojotillsonburg, Owner at Howard Johnson Tillsonburg, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful words. It meant a lot to Audrey to see

your comments and feel that she made you feel comfortable. It's nice when your staff

are praised for their job well done. It's nice too see in these ever changing times

that basics really still count.Regards, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2010

Stayed a Friday/Saturday in the Hotel for a hockey tournament with my son (teenager). The rooms were clean, the fridge in the room was great. The staff were nice.

However, both mornings we had to take cold showers because there was no hot water. i mentioned this to the front desk guy, and he just said that "I guess everyone was showering at the same time, the water heater is electric and can't always keep up"

other things were done well, but you have to have hot water when you want it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swjlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojotillsonburg, Owner at Howard Johnson Tillsonburg, responded to this review, January 2, 2011
Thank you for your candid review. I would have responded sooner

but I wanted to make sure all of the hot water tanks were in fact

working. They were. The guy at the desk when you checked out was

me, as I am there all weekends. Your response to mine was, " It's

not my problem." We had two hockey teams in and they had asked for

a late check-out as they both played at noon. There were 120

people in the main building who needed to shower between 10 and

11.30. I checked with the other guests and they told me the water

was warm but not hot. Ontario Hydro said I would have to have 4

times the number of heaters to keep up with the demand and supply

very hot water. We all have to be concerned with the energy we

use. We have now changed our policy and will just take 1 team at a

time and that should eliminate the hot water problem as well as a

whole host of other problems that come along with teams. Our

regular guests love the idea. Thank you for bringing this to my

attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was spotless and nice and warm with fridge and micro and free bottled water.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bumper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojotillsonburg, Owner at Howard Johnson Tillsonburg, responded to this review, February 2, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the Howard Johnson Inn - Tillsonburg and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tillsonburg
20.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Little River Inn
17.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Woodstock Inn & Suites
21.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Simcoe
Comfort Inn Simcoe
#2 of 3 in Simcoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Travelodge Simcoe
Travelodge Simcoe
#3 of 3 in Simcoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
13.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 3 in Ingersoll
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
22.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Saint Thomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Tillsonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Tillsonburg

Property: Howard Johnson Tillsonburg
Address: 92 Simcoe St, Tillsonburg, Ontario N4G 2J1, Canada (Formerly Super 8)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Tillsonburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tillsonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Tillsonburg 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We feature fifty nine well-appointed rooms and offer a complimentary continental breakfast. Scotty's, our on site restaurant, opens at 6:00 am and we are minutes from Annandale House, our national historic treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson Tillsonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Tillsonburg Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing