We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Inn, Great food!”
Review of The Mill Tales Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mill Tales Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Tillsonburg B&B and Inns
New Hamburg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Inn, Great food!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I can't review on the rooms, but I can on the restaurant. The service is really good. Not too long a wait for the meal to arrive. The fresh fish is so yummy!! Not heavily battered, just nicely done. I love the rustic feeling of the Inn. I have been twice and hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    34
    7
    10
    16
See reviews for
42
29
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

A huge thanks to the servers and Chef Danielle and of course the owners for the best wedding a couple could ask for! We had an amazing outdoor ceremony on the pond and finished with dinner and dancing inside. We got nothing compliments from our 65 guest about the food and service from the Inn. The dinner was amazing as well as cocktail hour and the mid night buffet. We loved everything about having our wedding at Mill Tales Inn. The entire wedding party stayed over at the INN and it was so comfy and convenient. I hope to be back to enjoy some more dinners at the Inn and share pictures! Thank you again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I went in for dinner tonight with my family and i must say everything was great! The server we had was extermly bubbly and friendly. She made sure that we our drinks were always full and that we were taken care of even though the place was paccked and there were only three servers which one was in her first night of training. It was great to see the owner helping out where she could with drinks and doing her best to keep things going smoothley. Over all the night was great and I am looking forward to going back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a charming little inn just off the 'beaten path' in Tillsonburg, Ontario. While we have not stayed at the inn, being residents of Tillsonburg, we have viewed the amenities of the inn and are suitably impressed. We would certainly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay overnight in our fair town. We never are able to come across an establishment like this when we travel. We do dine quite frequently at the inn, in fact it has become our favourite dining establishment. The meals are outstanding, being well priced and consistently meeting out expectations (not many restaurants can accomplish that). The serving staff are friendly and responsive to your needs. Try "Craig's Fish and Chips" once and you will become a regular. Take the time to find the Inn when passing through Tillsonburg - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bellman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Mill Tales Inn is a unique and different place to eat and stay. The restaurant with is open concept and windows overlooks Coronation Park and Creek. The staff is very friendly and the meals are good. I had something that I don’t always have… liver and onions and I must say that it was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AcapulcoFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern ontario
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Saturday morning breakfast - the place was about half full. We were seated, given coffee and ordered right away.

35 minutes later, after no communication from the waitress other than do you want more coffee, we inquired on the status of our food. The reply was " we had some orders before yours and we make each breakfast fresh".

Well, a place of that size that was half full can probably think about cooking more than one egg at a time. And fresh? No, we don't expect that an egg out of the shell is a very time-consuming endeavor. Nor to pop some toast down, nor to scoop some pre-cooked home fries onto a plate.

When the food came, about 40 mins after ordering, it was at best adequate. Downfalls - Hollandaise sauce was watery and bland, the amount of home fries was about 5 little slices of potato, and 2 scrambled eggs looked like one scrambled egg. When the waitress was asked if it was one egg or 2, her reply was that scrambled eggs shrink when they're cooked.
Really? Thanks for the newsflash! I'm no chef, but in my household, 2 scrambled eggs look like more than one tablespoon of egg.

The environment of the restaurant is lovely and the waitress was decent. She should've said something about why breakfast too so long. Maybe she's accustomed to long wait on the food.

The prices were ok - typical $6, 7, 8 dollar choices.

We won't be back, though. We will head to one of 3 or 4 other restaurants that serve breakfast in Tillsonburg, where portions are better, service is faster and prices are comparable or even less.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burooxtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2012

A big thank you to the staff of the mill tales inn and a special thank you to Chef Danielle who was simply more helpful then we could of imagined she took care of everything from finding the right colours for our wedding to suggesting a great cake place and recommending a dj. We had around 80 of our closest friends and family attend. Chef Danielle and the staff made everyone of our guest feel like family even when that ment making a special diet last minute for a few of our guests. we had the chicken craigs fish and prime rib which were all delicious my favorite being the mini red potatoes and cheesecake since i am not much of an meat eater. Since our wedding we have either seen or talked to most of our guests and they have all mentioned how amazing the food and service was and since then a few have returned and brought thier friends and family. There is not enough space to truly express my gratitude to Chef Danielle, Jen (our server) and Laura Lee ( for decorating ) everything was a dream come true thanks to all of you. Hope to see all of you on our one year!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misstakemeaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tillsonburg
13.7 mi away
Elm Hurst Inn & Spa
Elm Hurst Inn & Spa
#1 of 3 in Ingersoll
461 reviews
20.8 mi away
Best Western Little River Inn
21.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Simcoe
Comfort Inn Simcoe
#2 of 3 in Simcoe
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Ingersoll
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Tillsonburg
Howard Johnson Tillsonburg
#1 of 1 in Tillsonburg
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Farm
The Farm
#1 of 1 in Tillsonburg
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Tales Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Tales Inn

Property: The Mill Tales Inn
Address: 20 John Pound Rd, Tillsonburg, Ontario N4G 0B9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Tillsonburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tillsonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Tales Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill Tales Inn is over 138 years of Tillsonburg's history restored from an old Pea & Barley Mill. Renovations all done by the owner have transformed this historical landmark into a gorgeous restaurant & lodge. Enjoy casual dining along the Little Otter River. You can host an event or conference with 2 rooms one seats 35 the other 80.Customers can also choose to stay as a guest in one of the 10 cozy rooms each finished in a different theme of wood.6 regular rooms and 4 Jacuzzi rooms. Mill Tales Inn is convenient to reserve for weddings & business gatherings if you're looking for something attractive and efficient. Enjoy delicious dinners with " fish" as our specialty, and juicy Prime Rib or Broasted Chicken! Friendly staff to serve you & owners for YOU to enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Mill Tales Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill Tales Hotel Tillsonburg
The Mill Tales Inn Tillsonburg, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing