We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming & comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southbay Guesthouse
Reviewed August 23, 2008

My husband and I found Southbay Guest House on our last night on the island -- we only wish we had found it sooner !

Brenda and Jose were welcoming and have found just the right balance between being there if you need something and offering you lots of privacy. The room we stayed in was beautiful -- clean ++ and very homey feeling. The location is perfect - close to the waterfront and lots of nice places to walk. They even have their own gallery offering an amazing assortment of work from Canadian artisans. And there is a kiosk where you can purchase wonderful smoothies, salads, and excellent coffee (thank you Jose !!)

On our last night on Manitoulin Island we were treated to a campfire on the grounds of the Guest House. It was a great experience. I would definitely recommend staying at Southbay Guest House.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank acquamarine_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 67 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2008

Brenda and Jose are fantastic hosts, the rooms are comfortable and clean. The food is fresh, healthy and very tasty. Play equipment outside for kids, and hosts are very welcoming to kids staying at their B+B. Great location to use as a base for travels around Manitoulin Island. Or stop by when getting on or off the ferry to have a fantastic smoothie made by Jose! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sounders007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

Very nice B&B, especially rooms #1 and 2 as they have private baths. Other rooms are nice as well if you don't mind sharing a bathroom with one other room. The owners are most accomodating, with little extras such as hot tub, campfires in the back yard, and a beautiful craft store. They also offer infra-red spa and chair massages for an extra fee. As location is very important, this spot is perfect as it's located a stone's throw from the ferry terminal for the Chi-Cheeman going to Tobermory. The breakfasts are very well done and, although listed as continental, there's plenty of food with a beautiful fruit dish, hard boiled egg, toast, cereals, juice, yogurt, juice, nuts, cheese, muffins, scones, tea and coffee. The owner, Jose, is an extremely pleasant man and all staff are very helpful. We got some wonderful tips on what the important sites were on the island so we could make the most of our day. The rooms are equipped with small fridges, wonderful organic lotions and body washes and are kept very clean. I'd recommend this B&B for anyone wanting a nice quiet, comfortable place to stay on Manitoulin Island.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank foss4NorthBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

We booked a weekend there for our 18th anniversary and just adored the bedroom. It was hommy and so clean....Brenda is a great hostess and always there to make your stay more pleasurable...We would go back again every year....It's so peaceful and a very relaxing place.
The hot tub was always ready and hot and relaxing...breakfast was served every morning with fresh fruits. It was quite enjoyeable for us and relaxing and that is what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Dutchies90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2007

Our hosts Brenda & Jose made our stay even more enjoyable. Their guest houses and accomodations are above average and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would recommend the Southbay Guest House highly.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sudburywhatatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

We pulled off the ferry on our Harley and not 30 seconds later we were at our lodgings for the night - very convenient at 5:30pm after a full day of riding and looking forward to a shower.

Our hosts were very warm and friendly, making sure we (and our bike) were taken care of during our one night stay. The gift shop was packed full of amazing treasures - even my husband had a good look around!

Our room (Pottery room) was very clean and comfortable - beautiful quilts. We enjoyed the outdoor hot tub all to ourselves later in the evening and although we didn't go into the sauna or for a massage - those are really nice additional features included in a very reasonable rate.

Breakfast the next morning was a sunny start to our rainy day weather - nice fellow guests and smiles all around. Coffee, tea, juices, excellent fruit salad, yoghurt, homemade bread with wonderful preserves, eggs, cheese, nuts - a refreshing change from heavy, greasy sausage/bacon you usually have at other places.

Overall, we had a very peaceful, relaxing stay with some quality time together (no TV :-), a great night's sleep and very good value for our money. We also now have a perfectly crafted dream catcher to wake to each morning reminding us of our memorable trip to Manitoulin Island.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank Riding_Free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

Booked this place in advance and was really looking forward to it after a very long drive through northern ontario. Arrived around six only to be met by a less than helpful proprieter that claimed that she had mixed up the reservation date. Don't see how because she was very clear in the call ahead that the room was ours. We were only in South Baymouth to catch the morning ferry and there were not many choices for alternate accomodation. Luckily we found a decent room at the Wigwam motel. These ladies were awesome and even gave us the room at a discount. I can't comment on the condition of the rooms at the Southbay because I never got a chance to see them; but the outside was not at all as it seemed on the internet. They claim to be the closest to the ferry but the two other area motels are closer , nicer and cheaper with much more accomodating staff.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank yammimama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southbay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbay Guesthouse

Address: 15 Givens Road | South Baymouth/closest cottages to the ferry, South Baymouth, Ontario P0P 1C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > South Baymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Baymouth
Price Range: $127 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Southbay Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Southbay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southbay Guesthouse Ontario/South Baymouth, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing