We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Voyageur environment”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rossport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Shores Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 5 Rossport B&B and Inns
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Voyageur environment”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I came upon this B&B almost by accident and we are so thankful that we did! The hosts, Nannette and Jerry are friendly and welcoming and have created a perfect ambiance for relaxation and quite enjoyment. And let's not forget to mention the breakfast - it was SO good. We stayed in the Voyageur room, a room decorated in the theme that depicts the fur trade era of yesteryear and the voyageurs, men that transported furs by canoe during the fur trade era. The room's theme was further enhanced with authentic Hudson Bay blankets, and fascinating books to read about the fur trade era including the historic Hudson Bay Company. The large room and gorgeous bathroom was a wonderful home away from home - maybe better!

Room Tip: Voyageur Room is large with a sofa bed, chairs, and a desk - more like a suite than a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    3
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
25
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin Tx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My Wife & I road our Motorcycle from Austin Texas along with a friend to Canada. Along the way we picked up 3 more friends , 2 of them also had rooms at Island Shores B&B. When we arrived we were meet at the door of this lovely home by the owners, welcomed in like we were family. The 1 riders without a room was told not to worry he would have a place to sleep for the night. Great place with great a beakfast and even better Hosts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We come back to Island Shores though we've also stayed at several other properties in Rossport. In fact, we've stayed in all the rooms at the Island Shores over the past few summers. All are comfortable and clean. We'll be back next summer for 3 nights, instead of 2. What sets this B and B apart is the care and concern these hosts show for their guests. We had wonderful breakfasts and friendly conversations with fellow guests, all of which are typical reasons folks like us stay in B and B's. However, this latest trip caused us to realize the benefit of a local host. We left our gear at the inn while we kayaked nearby islands. We were late returning because winds had made our trip back a bit scary. When we finally arrived back at the shore, Gerry was standing there watching for us, ready to call in help within the hour. I knew he would be worried about us as we were stranded and how right I was. He gave us instructions on how to avoid this in the future, but never made me feel bad that we'd inconvenienced him with our problems. This is a comfortable and caring place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jschuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was an awesome place to stay! The hosts were very welcoming and friendly. This bed and breakfast has been renovated by the owners and is truly beautiful. Our room was large, lots of homey touches, and a really cool bathroom with whirlpool tub and heated floor. Breakfast was delicious and visiting with the other travelers was pleasant and interesting. If you are in the area and need a place to stay, we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at the Island Shores for 3 nights with our 3 kids (ages 12, 18, 22). We had 2 "rooms", one for the parents and a suite for the kids. Our room was on the main floor and was cozy but nicely decorated and very clean with an en suite bathroom with shower. The kids had a 2-bedroom suite on the 2nd floor by the kitchen/living area with a shared bath - plenty of room for them to spread out. Nannette and Gerry are incredibly nice were very helpful in suggesting places to go explore. The breakfasts were superb and more food than you could ever eat. We were walking distance to a restaurant and a gift shop, and it was an easy drive to several provincial parks and beaches as well. Gerry called up a local boat tour operator and arranged for us to go out onto the lake for a tour on our 2nd day - fun! We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a-traveling-I-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Island Shores in Rossport for one night in July however we could have easily stayed longer. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the view is lovely and the breakfast is the best I have ever had at a B & B.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lakeside545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have stayed in many B&B's over the years and Island Shores was by far the best! Nannette and Gerry are the most warm and welcoming hosts you'll ever meet and their house is just fabulous! We stayed in the Voyageur Room and you could not ask for anything more, it was homey, comfy and luxurious all in one. We have spent a whole lot more, but we both feel that this is the nicest place we have stayed. Gerry and Nannette take a bow, your love of where you are and your attention to detail make Island Shores a wonderful experience! We left as friends and will return. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank womo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Island Shores Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shores Bed & Breakfast

Property: Island Shores Bed & Breakfast
Address: 440 Main St., Rossport, Ontario P0T 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Rossport
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rossport
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Canadian Wilderness on the shores of beautiful Lake Superior, Island Shores is a 4 star accommodation inspected and approved by the Federation of Ontario Bed & Breakfasts, and is also listed in 'Best Places to B&B in Ontario" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Shores Bed & Breakfast Rossport, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing