We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Willow B+B Rossport”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rossport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Willows Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Rossport B&B and Inns
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Willow B+B Rossport”
Reviewed September 20, 2010

This could be a charming place except...
The owner claimed on the phone that it was pet friendly on the phone, but arriving after 9 hours on the road, were told that they only have 1 room that was pet friendly, and our's wasn't it. (We had made the reservation for that particular room 1 month prior to arriving). Our dog spent the night in the van, 5 metres from the railway track, in the parking lot. We didn't realize it was that close.
I thought it was quaint when I saw a basket of ear plugs on the check in desk, thinking they were trying to protect the spouses of snoring partners, but 15 minutes after 11 pm, just as I was drifting off, the first train came through,(I thought it was coming throught the bedroom). They continued every 1/2 to 45 minutes throughout the night. I paid $110 for a terrible night's sleep and a huge bowl of oatmeal with fruit. Sorry but a B+B should not be located next to a high traffic railway track. Location, location, location.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank vonnie3314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willowsinn, Owner at The Willows Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 9, 2011
It is unfortunate that this guest did not like Rossport. Being a rossport business owner, we all want our visitors' stay to be relaxing and enjoyable. Yes, Rossport & the whole north shore of Lake Superior does have a rail line, this is part of our heritage. There is a train probably every four to six hours, but, the duration time is only a couple of minutes. When this guest reserved a room, I told her that I only had one room that was pet friendly & unfortunately it was already reserved. The good news is as a result of this incident I now have "pet free accommodations".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I'd love to give this place a total thumbs up. Those trains did bother me a bit. I think they calmed down after about 11pm, or else I just slept through others. The place is charming, immaculate and I wish we had known to let them know 24 hrs in advance that we wanted to have dinner there also. Breakfast was wonderful! Nothing to do about those trains... I'd stay there again, anyway.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarNune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGehee, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Not realizing the speed limit, road construction, and that the car would be unloaded and searched at the border, we were much later reaching The Willows than we anticipated, but our gracious host, Dawn, had prepped the dinner we had ordered prior to our arrival, and she was ready to get us settled in our room, before dashing off to complete our evening meal. And what a meal it was! A wonderful fresh garden salad, split pea and butternut squash soup, followed by the highlight....spaghetti with garlic prawns and spaghetti with meatballs! The meal hit the spot after a long day in the car. Then, sitting out on the deck, looking over the water, was the perfect end to our first day in Canada! Peaceful, restful, almost as if we were going back in time! Wonderful!! The hearty breakfast was a great start to another long travel day.......and it was delicious! Thanks, Dawn, for making us feel so at home and welcome, and stuffing us with wonderful food for the short time we were there! Highly recommend eating dinner at The Willows if you plan to stay the night! Thanks again for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanC71654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We spent one night here on our motorcycle tour. Rossport is a lovely village with a nice shop and places to eat. This B&B is exceptionally clean, very comfortable and the hostess is very gracious. This is a beautiful B&B but not ideal for motorcyclists as we came in somewhat wet and we had to march over the white carpets with all our gear, etc, in our socks. Five trains went through during the night, blowing their whistles. If it wasn't for the trains I'd recommend this highly, but as rural dwellers who are used to peace and quiet at home we found this very disturbing.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dresda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2009

My husband and i had a wonderful stay in the Wilson room. The view was amazing and the room was spacious and spotless. My husband and i had a a fantastic dinner. He had the trout, and i had pasta with homemade Italian sausage. Both meals came with homemade fresh bread, homemade soup and salad. We were both totally stuffed as the servings were healthy. Breakfast was served on time at your request (during breakfast hours)and was again lots of food to eat. Dawn and her husband were both friendly and accommodating, and we would definitely recommend staying at this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaQThunderBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

The Willows B & B on Rossport Bay is an ideal stop along our Lake Superior circle tour route. Dawn, the proprietor, is a friendly, competent hostess and our spacious, comfortable room affords a picture-postcard view of Lake Superior. The B & B is tastefully decorated, is very clean, and the generous breakfasts (nutritious cold and hot cereals) come with plenty of fresh fruit and good coffee. Dawn has a good selection of videos and books to read and is situated near a kayaking/canoeing outfit as well as the Casques Isles hiking trail. The Willows B & B is an excellent find. The only drawback is the noisy CP train that roars and rumbles through occasionally (not a big deal).

Helpful?
1 Thank FreighttrainToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We stayed one night at the Willows Inn while we made the circle tour around lake Superior. Unfortunately it rained during our stay, so we didn't get to see much of the village. We had dinner at the inn, which is an option if you are a guest. The dinner was quite good, and we appreciated not having to find a restaurant after driving all day. We spent the evening relaxing in our room, and it couldn't have been more comfortable and relaxing. We enjoyed breakfast in the morning with the other guests and the friendly owners.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Willows Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Willows Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 116 Main Street | Box 21, Rossport, Ontario P0T 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Rossport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rossport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willows Inn is the former Rossport Schoolhouse which has been totally renovated and now offers separate guest accommodations from the owners living quarters. Large rooms with their own sitting areas and lake superior views. Wireless internet, TV/DVD/VHS in each room and all rooms have private baths. A dinner menu is available with advance notice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Willows Inn Bed & Breakfast Rossport, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing