We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst stay ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ridgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ridgetown Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ridgetown
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    30
    22
    30
See reviews for
48
14
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were there on a weeknight and the people we dealt with were fantastic. Gave lots of leeway for our kids to enjoy the pool (which needs work, but for teen kids was great), made sure our room was clean and ready for us and it was a big room as well (3 kids so needed a cot) which was perfect. One of the few cheap hotels I've seen with a mirror/sink combo outside the washroom. Lots of work needed there still, but the service was solid and they let the kids enjoy the pool a bit later than normal rather than kicking them out the minute it was supposed to close.

Great service = great rating. If they can fix up the rest of the hotel to be as nice as our room was (it was an early fix up for them) then it'll be worth more than we paid (and we paid very little).

Room Tip: Check the room first to ensure you get a good one, don't hesitate to mention any concerns as som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Johnson ... R, General Manager at Ridgetown Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for your support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is my second review because my first one was not detailed enough! The outside of this place was horrific! Rundown in every way. The front desk was told about an old air conditioning unit laying on the outside two doors down from my room and he said, "oh ya we pulled that out a couple days ago!" Parking lot uneven pavement and full of holes! NO pool available even though it is advertised and we were not told on the phone that it was out of order! Rooms dingy, dirty bathroom tub and tiles. Tv picture kept going out of focus and wait sometimes 30-40 mins. for it to come back! Hotel was booked solid for two wedding so no other rooms available. Continental breakfast NOT available at 9 a.m. because, "nobody went to get it yet!" Payed for a hot breakfast and wife found hair in her eggs! Told the waitress and she said, "I will let her know." Blood stained comforter, i took pictures! By this time did not tell anyone because nothing was at anyway up to the smallest standards! The management should be ashamed and the corporate management need to review this place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter A, Manager at Ridgetown Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We apologize for the experience you had at our Motel. We have been working continuously for more than a year to renovate and make improvements. There was a decision made last year to focus on the interior of the Motel and to renovate and complete all rooms, hallways, conference room, restaurant, gaming area, pool and racquetball courts. Although most interior work has been completed there is still lots of work ahead to provide flawless rooms to our valued guests. Our Comforters and Sheets are cleaned by a large linen company who dry cleans, washes and sterilizes all rolling inventory. Our housekeeping and QC make a great effort on ensuring quality is presented in every room, we have taken additional steps to ensure any visible stain, although sterile, goes back to the linen company immediate for a re-clean or replacement. Our efforts are continued on a daily basis.

All rooms have recently been painted and newly carpeted, the staff work very hard to keep the the washrooms clean and again, signed off by our Quality Control Supervisor. We do not declare ourselves to be a 5 star hotel, but we are very meticulous on our procedures to offer clean rooms in every aspect and are committed to bringing back the highlights of this very large motel (50+ Rooms) that has had a flourishing history for the past 30 years.

Although we don't claim to be perfect as no hotel is, it is important to note that we are small business owners and invest our time, funds and energy everyday to offer the best product possible. We are not a large corporate conglomerate and hence recognize our humility which is reflected in the discounted prices we offer. We have not quit like many small business owners have regardless of economic forecasts for the hotel industry. Our next step is to spend this year to tweak our interior space and next year to re-seal and re-line our parking area. Repaving would cost hundreds of thousands of dollars and hence expenditure currently stands beyond our reach.

In Summary, it is unfortunate that we are in an environment today in the industry where only negativity is promoted. Not being satisfied at one complaint gives right to complain many times over. In fact, our industry even rewards those that have great complaints by refunding their money and even the Brands are able to further punish the Property with added fee penalties to satisfy the or remediate the issue. The question is, we have over the year had hundreds of guests come through our hotel and a high percentage of returning customers, some coming back for weeks at a time. Our industry does nothing to promote or to offer incentive to those that might motivate "the greater number" of positive experiences expressed that as a result do not go online. We hope this helps to clarify and we do apologize for any inconvenience. Please feel free to call or email and we will provide you with a complete refund. We offer complete respect and appreciation for your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ridgetown hotels

Detroit
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Would never have been my choice but I was traveling with a group and I was told the hotel had undergone renovations. The laws most be different in ON because this inn should not have passed inspection. First impression was overall exterior look (empty, unkept, remote) and then sign on door 'Boil Water Advisory.' Long line wait for room keys. Rooms were too dark and dated and supposed renovation work was shoddy to say the least. Many complaintes from group from dirty to what looked like soiled sheets to bug-type impressions to non-working tvs, a/c, and water temperature. Nothing nearby but Exxon station. Bothersome tiny black flies that wouldn't go away! Still needs a complete overhaul and some interior decorating. Minimal and seemed inexperienced staff. My concern was getting bit by something or fire with all of the seemingly electrical workarounds. Oh, and the lighting didn't work in the pool area so it was dark and uninviting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MYOTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgetown
14.9 mi away
Retro Suites Hotel
Retro Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Chatham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
14.3 mi away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#8 of 10 in Chatham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
17.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 10 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
17.2 mi away
Travelodge Chatham
Travelodge Chatham
#3 of 10 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
14.3 mi away
Kent Motel
Kent Motel
#6 of 10 in Chatham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgetown Inn

Property: Ridgetown Inn
Address: 21198 Victoria Rd, Ridgetown, Chatham-Kent, Ontario N0P 2C0, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Ridgetown)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Chatham-Kent > Ridgetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ridgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ridgetown Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ridgetown Inn Features:- Located just off the 401 just outside of a small agricultural town (Ridgetown) Ridgetown Inn is a simple Country Inn. Complimentary Continental Breakfast is inclued, high speed internet, heated indoor pool, indoor racquetball court, and more is on site. Close to Rondeau Provincial Park, OLG Slots and Erieau Beach- Microwave and Fridge in all rooms- Free Local and Long Distance Calls- Conveniently located off Hwy 401, Exit 109. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ridgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Ridgetown Hotel Ridgetown
Econo Lodge Ridgetown
Ridgetown Econo Lodge
Ridgetown Inn Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing