We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth It! Keep Driving”
Review of Ridgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ridgetown Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ridgetown
Detroit
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not Worth It! Keep Driving”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Would never have been my choice but I was traveling with a group and I was told the hotel had undergone renovations. The laws most be different in ON because this inn should not have passed inspection. First impression was overall exterior look (empty, unkept, remote) and then sign on door 'Boil Water Advisory.' Long line wait for room keys. Rooms were too dark and dated and supposed renovation work was shoddy to say the least. Many complaintes from group from dirty to what looked like soiled sheets to bug-type impressions to non-working tvs, a/c, and water temperature. Nothing nearby but Exxon station. Bothersome tiny black flies that wouldn't go away! Still needs a complete overhaul and some interior decorating. Minimal and seemed inexperienced staff. My concern was getting bit by something or fire with all of the seemingly electrical workarounds. Oh, and the lighting didn't work in the pool area so it was dark and uninviting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MYOTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    32
    24
    30
See reviews for
48
15
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Decorah, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Advertised continental breakfast, but not prepared for it. Restaurant knew nothing about it.
Room was renovated, but had some problems. One light qas out with bad switch and bathroom could use aome sprucing up.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Smelt like they still allowed smoking in this hotel. The bed didn't even have a fitted sheet, just a regular sheet, so it would come off. The bathroom needs major updating and at least the mildew removed. Shower curtain too long so its all gross at the bottom. Couldn't wait to get out of hotel. Water was not safe for drinking and we had a little baby, they should have told me this when I called to confirm the reservation. Should have at least provided us with bottled water to make up for this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Nadia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ridgetown hotels

Brownstown
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this location several times out of necessity. Each time I have had a different issue. Once it was a problem with the room smelling rank like smoke and body odor. Another time there was an issue with the fridge and microwave, both of which were brand new but there was no place to plug them in. Housekeeping isn't doing a very good job restocking items such as toilet paper. I walked in the room and that was the first thing I noticed. This most recent visit, I was charged more than I have paid in the past and was told that HOJO or Whyndham set the rates.

The hotel does need a lot of work, I have yet to see a newly renotaved room. The plumbing REALLY needs an update, re-pipe the entire structure and add a water softener/ filtration system. Most of the decor is outdated, the carpet stained, and only a handful of channels on the television, Satellite TV and roughly 10/ 999 channels to choose from. The restaurant has decent breakfast food and fair service but it isn't Denny's. The only thing this hotel has going for it is the location. With training, noticable renovations and persistence towards detail this property has a lot of potential. Working exterior locks are more important than a couple frilly throw pillows.

With being given several chances and not seeing any noticeable changes, this will be my last time staying at this location. I would highly suggest other lodging arrangements to anyone considering staying here until Wyndham or HoJo steps in and renovates the hotel and trains the staff and brings both up to industry standards.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgetown
14.9 mi away
Retro Suites Hotel
Retro Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Chatham
412 reviews
17.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 10 in Chatham
29 reviews
16.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Travelodge Chatham
Travelodge Chatham
#4 of 10 in Chatham
242 reviews
14.3 mi away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#9 of 10 in Chatham
269 reviews
14.2 mi away
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgetown Inn

Property: Ridgetown Inn
Address: 21198 Victoria Rd, Ridgetown, Chatham-Kent, Ontario N0P 2C0, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Ridgetown)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Chatham-Kent > Ridgetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ridgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ridgetown Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ridgetown Inn Features:- Located just off the 401 just outside of a small agricultural town (Ridgetown) Ridgetown Inn is a simple Country Inn. Complimentary Continental Breakfast is inclued, high speed internet, heated indoor pool, indoor racquetball court, and more is on site. Close to Rondeau Provincial Park, OLG Slots and Erieau Beach- Microwave and Fridge in all rooms- Free Local and Long Distance Calls- Conveniently located off Hwy 401, Exit 109. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ridgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Ridgetown Hotel Ridgetown
Econo Lodge Ridgetown
Ridgetown Econo Lodge
Ridgetown Inn Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing