We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, nothung too special”
Review of Ridgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ridgetown Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ridgetown
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Advertised continental breakfast, but not prepared for it. Restaurant knew nothing about it.
Room was renovated, but had some problems. One light qas out with bad switch and bathroom could use aome sprucing up.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 120 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

Smelt like they still allowed smoking in this hotel. The bed didn't even have a fitted sheet, just a regular sheet, so it would come off. The bathroom needs major updating and at least the mildew removed. Shower curtain too long so its all gross at the bottom. Couldn't wait to get out of hotel. Water was not safe for drinking and we had a little baby, they should have told me this when I called to confirm the reservation. Should have at least provided us with bottled water to make up for this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Nadia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this location several times out of necessity. Each time I have had a different issue. Once it was a problem with the room smelling rank like smoke and body odor. Another time there was an issue with the fridge and microwave, both of which were brand new but there was no place to plug them in. Housekeeping isn't doing a very good job restocking items such as toilet paper. I walked in the room and that was the first thing I noticed. This most recent visit, I was charged more than I have paid in the past and was told that HOJO or Whyndham set the rates.

The hotel does need a lot of work, I have yet to see a newly renotaved room. The plumbing REALLY needs an update, re-pipe the entire structure and add a water softener/ filtration system. Most of the decor is outdated, the carpet stained, and only a handful of channels on the television, Satellite TV and roughly 10/ 999 channels to choose from. The restaurant has decent breakfast food and fair service but it isn't Denny's. The only thing this hotel has going for it is the location. With training, noticable renovations and persistence towards detail this property has a lot of potential. Working exterior locks are more important than a couple frilly throw pillows.

With being given several chances and not seeing any noticeable changes, this will be my last time staying at this location. I would highly suggest other lodging arrangements to anyone considering staying here until Wyndham or HoJo steps in and renovates the hotel and trains the staff and brings both up to industry standards.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
2  Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Wyndham traveler
Mississauga
11
Reviewed March 22, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgetown
17.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Chatham
Comfort Inn Chatham
#3 of 10 in Chatham
42 reviews
16.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
14.9 mi away
Retro Suites Hotel
Retro Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Chatham
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices

Been to Ridgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgetown Inn

Address: 21198 Victoria Rd, Ridgetown, Chatham-Kent, Ontario N0P 2C0, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Ridgetown)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Chatham-Kent > Ridgetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ridgetown
Price Range: $73 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ridgetown Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ridgetown Inn Features:- Located just off the 401 just outside of a small agricultural town (Ridgetown) Ridgetown Inn is a simple Country Inn. Complimentary Continental Breakfast is inclued, high speed internet, heated indoor pool, indoor racquetball court, and more is on site. Close to Rondeau Provincial Park, OLG Slots and Erieau Beach- Microwave and Fridge in all rooms- Free Local and Long Distance Calls- Conveniently located off Hwy 401, Exit 109. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ridgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Ridgetown Hotel Ridgetown
Econo Lodge Ridgetown
Ridgetown Econo Lodge
Ridgetown Inn Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing